Facebook Live Auction the latest retail trend in SG

BabyBlade

As title suggests, the way we do our retail shopping is changing. Brick and mortar stores are failing. New malls are sprouting out in neighborhoods and even high profile ones like Jewel or Funan. But go to the established malls and you see the truth behind the retail trend. Footfall in malls are falling and that's because of the shift in the way shoppers' shop.

First it was the physical retail store, then e-commerce in the form of websites (blogshops etc), after that Carousell took over and almost everyone I knew sold something online be it brand new or used. Now?

The latest trend is Facebook Live Auction. This isn't something which recently started though. Facebook Live Auction has been around for a few years now but only in very recent times did it catch on in Singapore. Prolific sellers like Misshopper Boutique (S Hook Jiejie) whom recently found fame in the unique way she pitched her items to her viewers and also for being 'entertaining'. Subjective.

Personally the very first few live auction house I started watching was maybe SG BlackMarket (presumably the first live auction house in SG). They stream every few nights a week for 3 to 4 hours at one time. They hawk electronics items, anime collectibles, action figures (Marvel, DC), Fortune Cat (Maneki Neko), Daruma etc. And the main point is, their items DO NOT COME CHEAP. I kid you not. A $15 item can close off at $50 or even more. They regularly close off their items in the $80 to $150 range, and that's per item. They're not cheap but people bid. Why? I would put it down to their auctioneer Lennon. He's funny and sarcastic and there are viewers who tune in just to watch him and subsequently get hooked on bidding too. After months of watching I never got down to bidding anything though I did try once for a Doraemon plushie. 

Their videos have since been deleted except for one of Lennon's. Maybe they're no longer in trend?

https://www.facebook.com/SGBlackMarketXXX/videos/395633114360593/

So what's trending now? Mainly electronic/household items selling at really "cheap" prices. New auction houses are popping out almost everyday. I bought a few aroma diffuser, humidifier for really bargain prices. 

$10 Elehot Aroma Diffuser

post-107101-0-12922300-1563759716.jpg

$10 Asakuki Essential Oil Diffuser

post-107101-0-88528500-1563760055.jpg

$15 Aennon Cool Mist Humidifer

post-107101-0-21888300-1563759824.jpg

$17 Riwbox Wireless Bluetooth Headphones

post-107101-0-05085500-1563761650.jpg

Other popular items people regularly bid for:

Sound bar especially brands like Taotronics

post-107101-0-76186300-1563760324.jpg

Smart Plugs

post-107101-0-78258600-1563760328.jpg

Mini Projectors

post-107101-0-97308200-1563760331_thumb.jpg

Smart Weighing Scale

post-107101-0-99373500-1563760389.jpg

Smart Watch

post-107101-0-39333700-1563760420.jpg

IP Camera

post-107101-0-93241600-1563761142.jpg

Wireless Earbuds

post-107101-0-84464700-1563761265.jpg

Gaming mouse

post-107101-0-64797600-1563761515.jpg

Gaming keyboard

post-107101-0-54825500-1563761556.jpg

Wireless Doorbell

post-107101-0-31150500-1563762047.jpg

Car Jump Starter

post-107101-0-41208400-1563761820.jpg

In Car Camera

post-107101-0-12326600-1563761825_thumb.jpg

Some other Auction Houses

https://www.facebook.com/Lelong.Auction.Sg/videos/2144115009049043/

https://www.facebook.com/TheLadyboyAuction/videos/324970791741109/

Fresh Seafood Bidding???

post-107101-0-11148000-1563762701.jpg

https://www.facebook.com/firstmarketonlinebidding/videos/474163999817071/

It's crazy how we do so much research at times to find out about a product we're getting from a retail shop yet willingly part with our money to purchase Auction Houses products from brands we haven't even heard of, no idea the full specs/features of the product, doesn't come with warranty etc. And what's the catch though? A lot of these items are actually returned goods. Some may not come in boxes, some boxes may be damaged, some may be missing a controller inside etc. Hence the cheaper price you may be getting it for.

Anyone of you here have bid for anything on Facebook before? What's worth it and what's not?

As title suggests, the way we do our retail shopping is changing. Brick and mortar stores are failing. New malls are sprouting out in neighborhoods and even high profile ones like Jewel or Funan. But go to the established malls and you see the truth behind the retail trend. Footfall in malls are falling and that's because of the shift in the way shoppers' shop.

First it was the physical retail store, then e-commerce in the form of websites (blogshops etc), after that Carousell took over and almost everyone I knew sold something online be it brand new or used. Now?

The latest trend is Facebook Live Auction. This isn't something which recently started though. Facebook Live Auction has been around for a few years now but only in very recent times did it catch on in Singapore. Prolific sellers like Misshopper Boutique (S Hook Jiejie) whom recently found fame in the unique way she pitched her items to her viewers and also for being 'entertaining'. Subjective.

Personally the very first few live auction house I started watching was maybe SG BlackMarket (presumably the first live auction house in SG). They stream every few nights a week for 3 to 4 hours at one time. They hawk electronics items, anime collectibles, action figures (Marvel, DC), Fortune Cat (Maneki Neko), Daruma etc. And the main point is, their items DO NOT COME CHEAP. I kid you not. A $15 item can close off at $50 or even more. They regularly close off their items in the $80 to $150 range, and that's per item. They're not cheap but people bid. Why? I would put it down to their auctioneer Lennon. He's funny and sarcastic and there are viewers who tune in just to watch him and subsequently get hooked on bidding too. After months of watching I never got down to bidding anything though I did try once for a Doraemon plushie. 

It's crazy how we do so much research at times to find out about a product we're getting from a retail shop yet willing part with our money to purchase Auction Houses products from brands we haven't even heard of, no idea the full specs/features of the product, doesn't come with warranty etc. And what's the catch though? A lot of these items are actually returned goods. Some may not come in boxes, some boxes may be damaged, some may be missing a controller inside etc. Hence the cheaper price you may be getting it for.

Anyone of you here have bid for anything on Facebook before? What's worth it and what's not?

it is quite common in neighbouring countries liao just that singapore not so into this yet.

last time yahoo have this auction thing too but died off, FB live auction maybe more exciting but dun think i will go there. Rather buy and pay from online shops.

it is quite common in neighbouring countries liao just that singapore not so into this yet.

last time yahoo have this auction thing too but died off, FB live auction maybe more exciting but dun think i will go there. Rather buy and pay from online shops.

It is very very popular in SG now. 

what is so interesting for this type of selling? trying out luck or the kick of bidding/gambling?

i know got people do it full time and can earn much, if auction high ticket items can make even more.

I think it's your generational gap also.

I'm in my late 30s and I'm pretty sure none of my friends participate in internet auctions except for really niche items or maybe things they collect like Magic cards or what not.

For such small items, we also won't bother to bid. We either want something now and just buy like right now or we go carousell or find on lazada/qoo10 etc.

Bidding makes it fun. Gamefication is big now, cos online sellers know how to make people buy things. It's part science, part art/flair for selling...

what is so interesting for this type of selling? trying out luck or the kick of bidding/gambling?

i know got people do it full time and can earn much, if auction high ticket items can make even more.

wah, haha you very hip. Such things i really no interest.

Looking through carousell, lazada, qoo10 already troublesome enough liao haha

I'm in my late 30s and I'm pretty sure none of my friends participate in internet auctions except for really niche items or maybe things they collect like Magic cards or what not.

For such small items, we also won't bother to bid. We either want something now and just buy like right now or we go carousell or find on lazada/qoo10 etc.

Bidding makes it fun. Gamefication is big now, cos online sellers know how to make people buy things. It's part science, part art/flair for selling...

there are all kind of characters in these FB auction, i believe the personality sell rather than products itself.

Yeah apparently they can earn quite a lot from doing live auction. They purchase their items in pallets for maybe $500 to $1,500 depending on the weight. Inside these pallets are random electronic items. If your pallet inside comes with a few good items like projector, drones, sound bar, then you're in luck.

Personally from my experience, I can get some items even cheaper than Taobao and within 3 days time. But I'm kinda like a cheapo so I only bid for cheap items and from auction houses with lower viewership. Haha. The same humidifier from a less known auction house can close at $15, and then $30 from a more known one.

Yeah apparently they can earn quite a lot from doing live auction. They purchase their items in pallets for maybe $500 to $1,500 depending on the weight. Inside these pallets are random electronic items. If your pallet inside comes with a few good items like projector, drones, sound bar, then you're in luck.

Personally from my experience, I can get some items even cheaper than Taobao and within 3 days time. But I'm kinda like a cheapo so I only bid for cheap items and from auction houses with lower viewership. Haha. The same humidifier from a less known auction house can close at $15, and then $30 from a more known one.

i hate guessing and surprises  [laugh]  [laugh]

my wife rather ask me what i want instead of surprise me   [laugh]  [laugh]

there are all kind of characters in these FB auction, i believe the personality sell rather than products itself.

It's like celebrity endorsed products but at a more personal level ...

Blogshop vs this evolution towards video and being "live"

Very likely is due to generation gap. But I'm not that far off from you! Haha. I have to say though @jman888 is very hipped!

Carousell may not be as cheap as Auction House though.

Something like a 4 level vertical socket tower can close off at $15 on auction houses but carousell maybe $25 and above.

post-107101-0-22076000-1563764467.jpg

• Dislike 1

Very likely is due to generation gap. But I'm not that far off from you! Haha. I have to say though @jman888 is very hipped!

Carousell may not be as cheap as Auction House though.

Something like a 4 level vertical socket tower can close off at $15 on auction houses but carousell maybe $25 and above.

attachicon.gifimages.jpg

haha this vertical socket thing is very interesting. Never see before.

Ok lah. learn what youngsters is doing is always good, even if it's not your cuppa of tea.

Or else become old dinosaur.

We are first generation internet users, so we are more geared towards websites. Our minds are likely wired slightly differently vs the youngsters who were born and exposed to internet from very young age. To them, the internet is a more fluid thing vs us where we were born with some partitioning of the online vs real world.

I had some trouble explaining to my P1 daughter, how a Fantasia video featuring mickey mouse (created in 1940) existed before the existence of youtube (cos i had explained earlier to her that youtube/netflix didn't exist when us parents were young). She cannot understand how a video of a movie can exist when the movie predates video files.

It's like celebrity endorsed products but at a more personal level ...

Blogshop vs this evolution towards video and being "live"

Very true. The latest in trend auction house is from this ladyboy auction house. Highest viewership 2.7k. On average per night he has 1.3k viewers from SG and JB. Kinda ridiculous to watch at times but you have to give it to him for the hardwork. 

https://www.facebook.com/TheLadyboyAuction/videos/476599773158578/

haha this vertical socket thing is very interesting. Never see before.

Ok lah. learn what youngsters is doing is always good, even if it's not your cuppa of tea.

Or else become old dinosaur.

We are first generation internet users, so we are more geared towards websites. Our minds are likely wired slightly differently vs the youngsters who were born and exposed to internet from very young age. To them, the internet is a more fluid thing vs us where we were born with some partitioning of the online vs real world.

I had some trouble explaining to my P1 daughter, how a Fantasia video featuring mickey mouse (created in 1940) existed before the existence of youtube (cos i had explained earlier to her that youtube/netflix didn't exist when us parents were young). She cannot understand how a video of a movie can exist when the movie predates video files.

Good for space saving. Haha. You'll find it being sold at Challenger too. Comes in different tiers. Another popular socket will be the multi socket with USB plug-in. Usually starting bid $5 to $10. If you're in luck you can get it for about $10. There's also a lot of interesting stuff that people bid for but they don't actually need it.

post-107101-0-84888400-1563766622.jpg

Yahoo Auctions was very very popular in SG back then, like an eBay equivalent. eBay was not popular I suppose because you need to pay online with PayPal, and with Yahoo you just pay offline. I bought and sold a lot of things on it when it was still around. Bid low price then wait to see the clock countdown only to know never meet reserved price. [laugh]

These auction thing are more interesting with used items, or buy new in box items. Those retail items, just buy online better.

These towers can just buy from Taobao, the sellers got from there anyway. They are typically not PSB approved, so use at own risks especially for high wattage appliances -- the wires are not graded for the typical SG socket.

You see. There are many items that can be purchased from Taobao. I always screenshot items that I see from live auction and then go to Taobao to search via image. Many times Taobao may be more expensive because these auction houses get their products at wholesale prices/electronics pallets. And waiting time is also lesser. Pros and cons. Bid from the less known auction houses and you'll get many items at a steal.

My wife is a big fan of this FB live auctions!!!!

Was in BKK, Market mall, a stall selling animal shaped and prints bags, purses, key chains, etc. Got a two SG gals doing FB live there. They selling the items at $12 but it only cost $6 at the stall. The owner let them do it and he earn too. My wife bought on the spot cheaper than the FB live auction.

the face of retail is moving so fast in recent years that i cannot catch up liao :D

like you said, from brick and mortar to online

at the start got eBay, Amazon

then those blogshops

also got Facebook group buy/sell

then the rise of e-Commence such as Carousell, Qoo10, Lazada, Taobao, Shopee

then entering the markets were Amazon Prime, Redmart, Honestbee, even NTUC got its online store

now selling via Facebook auctions, YouTube channels

nowadays no need step out of house can buy almost everything liao :D

Edited by Scion

I used to be one active user in Yahoo Auction, bidding and selling mobile phones, and sometime can make a few hundreds in a week.  [cool]

For now, there are much more online platform for price comparison, so live auction might just attract more low ballers than genuine buyers imo. In layman term, Pai Tan. [shakehead]

Yeah apparently they can earn quite a lot from doing live auction. They purchase their items in pallets for maybe $500 to $1,500 depending on the weight. Inside these pallets are random electronic items. If your pallet inside comes with a few good items like projector, drones, sound bar, then you're in luck.

Can sell in this way? Similar to Mystery / Black Box vending machine, which was banned in Singapore sometime last year?

the face of retail is moving so fast in recent years that i cannot catch up liao  :D

like you said, from brick and mortar to online

at the start got eBay, Amazon

then those blogshops

also got Facebook group buy/sell

then the rise of e-Commence such as Carousell, Qoo10, Lazada, Taobao, Shopee

then entering the markets were Amazon Prime, Redmart, Honestbee, even NTUC got its online store

now selling via Facebook auctions, YouTube channels

nowadays no need step out of house can buy almost everything liao  :D

Wait until you see for yourself in China. You can even get onion and chilli online, and have it delivered to the door steps all within an hour.

I was at a friend's place at Xiamen, she said there is a good quality Mee Suah seller in Fuzhou (about an hour plus by train) and a few click on the PC, the mee suah was delivered to her door step in about 2 hours plus! And the best part, the price is similar, if not cheaper than getting the exact thing from neighborhood groceries store!!

Good for space saving. Haha. You'll find it being sold at Challenger too. Comes in different tiers. Another popular socket will be the multi socket with USB plug-in. Usually starting bid $5 to $10. If you're in luck you can get it for about $10. There's also a lot of interesting stuff that people bid for but they don't actually need it.

51+S3h29dLL._SY355_.jpg

You see. There are many items that can be purchased from Taobao. I always screenshot items that I see from live auction and then go to Taobao to search via image. Many times Taobao may be more expensive because these auction houses get their products at wholesale prices/electronics pallets. And waiting time is also lesser. Pros and cons. Bid from the less known auction houses and you'll get many items at a steal.

just bought from Giant for $10, the multi plug extension.