Soh Rui Yong is not selected for SEA Games

Ender

Actually Soh's case, is SA nominate Soh for the coming  SEA game, but SNOC reject the nomination from SA. That means Soh had met the SA criteria.

The sticky point is likely to be the accusation of Liew's sportmenship which SNOC already nomiated for that sportmenship award. Despite independent witness supporting Soh's claim had step forward, my guess is SNOC doesn't want to reopen a 3 year old case they deemed as closed. in the sense, Soh's does seem like a trouble maker for them.

SA is already half dead, with the new management team and coaches on board, they are quite desperate for results. Any medal is good medal, and performance was clearly the one criteria they look at when recommending Soh to SNOC. Afterall Soh is almost sure to come back with Gold. 

I personally think that the decision to drop Soh has to do with the lawsuit and disciplinary action taken against Soh. Disciplinary is quite a issue among athletes lor.

I guess Soh, knowing how desperate SA is, knew that SA will recommend him, he probably didnt expect SNOC to drop him. [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

Well it's like getting rejected by a girl at which point right.

Does she outright reject you while u ask for coffee, or meet u for coffee and tell you u no chance....

Maybe SA knows SNOC will reject. So hence still nominate him lor even though they don't really want anything to do with him.

It's hard to say ... the outcome is there, but the process behind it is behind closed doors.

SNOC can always act as the bad guy mah. Since they aren't the ones dealing with the athletes during most of the time.

The problem with Soh is, he is also not on good term with SA. He even refuse to "donate" the 20% of his winnings to SA after his SEA games win, which was stated in the SNOC requirements of all athletes. But later did it with protest.

I guess the new management at SA just play along with him for now, while putting in plans to groom younger ones. They still need his Gold medal for results for now, while the few new guns will take another few yrs to bare fruits. 

Any way, now is SNOC, so SA can wash hand stand one side be the good guy.. 

The problem with Soh is, he is also not on good term with SA. He even refuse to "donate" the 20% of his winnings to SA after his SEA games win, which was stated in the SNOC requirements of all athletes. But later did it with protest.

I guess the new management at SA just play along with him for now, while putting in plans to groom younger ones. They still need his Gold medal for results for now, while the few new guns will take another few yrs to bare fruits. 

Any way, now is SNOC, so SA can wash hand stand one side be the good guy.. 

i wouldn't be surprised if SNOC and SA just play the same tune like what you said. Entirely consistent.

Will be more interesting if he contests on his own and win gold.

Would SNOC with thick skin celebrate/count the gold in its tally?

Feng Tian Wei already did that. 

Medal count is against nation total mah, SNOC celebrate total gold lor...

If he takes part and wins, he still represent SG mah...

But not economical for him to do it on his own, its almost like running for the medal only. The winnings may not even be enough to cover his expenses to fly himself and his coach there.  [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

So they prefer gwai gwai losers than naughty winners.

That's why no Steve Jobs, Jeff Bezos created here. 

Singapore is quite a socialist country if you haven't realised.

Individual winners are celebrated IF they advance the socialistic ideal.

Singapore is quite a socialist country if you haven't realised.

Individual winners are celebrated IF they advance the socialistic ideal.

Don't agree with your second sentence.  More like if they don't question the authorities.

I have the impression he had resolved his issue with SA diespite past comment, as he is still receiving some allowance from SA. So SA had invested (though not much) some money in him, don't think they would be part of the plan to take him out. But just me as an outsider saying. Don't know what going on inside.

I'm assuming that all these SNOC level and SA heads all know each other and have each other hp number or emails.

If there's no prior correspondence over this matter (given the fact that it will immediately be covered by the media), i would extremely surprised.

i wouldn't be surprised if SNOC and SA just play the same tune like what you said. Entirely consistent.

I think the new team of management and coaches are trying very hard to make things happen.  Already there are a few potential young guns looking promising, and a lot of work put into the relay team, new focus also being put into the hurdling team. 

Things looking bright, just dont know how much fuel they have to keep the fire burning. 

Very soon Soh will be history, when the new blood fire up the track.  [:p]  [laugh]  [laugh]

Feng Tian Wei already did that. 

Medal count is against nation total mah, SNOC celebrate total gold lor...

If he takes part and wins, he still represent SG mah...

But not economical for him to do it on his own, its almost like running for the medal only. The winnings may not even be enough to cover his expenses to fly himself and his coach there.  [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

I think the key question is whether any medal won while not under SNOC is eligible for the monetary incentive or not. Think a SEA gold medal is worth few hundred Ks right?

Don't agree with your second sentence.  More like if they don't question the authorities.

The authorities represent Singapore. 

Why are there sporting events like SEA games? It's to show close political ties within SEA. That was the express purpose of setting up the SEA games btw.

So why would you be chosen to represent Singapore? Yes cos of your individual skil,l but if u dig down deep into the original purpose of the SEA games, it's to promote the Singaporean ideal within Asean.

That's also one of the major reasons why sportsmen are held to a higher ethical standard. It's not because we choose to believe they are all great beings of paragon or virtue. It's because they represent the populace of a certain nation especially at such games.

So yes, questioning your own countryman's virtue (especially after your own country has given an award) is going to look very bad in the eyes of the people who make such decisions.

I think the key question is whether any medal won while not under SNOC is eligible for the monetary incentive or not. Think a SEA gold medal is worth few hundred Ks right?

10k only? More for team events but shared.

I'm pretty sure most Singaporeans with only a superficial understanding of the events (just like us), will mostly back the decision.

Why? Cos we are all indoctrinated team players  [laugh]

This happens in western liberal countries too actually. The sports organisations have great power over the individual athletes. And discipline, toeing the line is also important. Look at the Premier League, for example. A player that has no discipline in behaviour outside the game, publicly criticizes the coach, manager or owner, will also be dropped from the team, no matter how skilled.

Edited by Sosaria

I think the new team of management and coaches are trying very hard to make things happen.  Already there are a few potential young guns looking promising, and a lot of work put into the relay team, new focus also being put into the hurdling team. 

Things looking bright, just dont know how much fuel they have to keep the fire burning. 

Very soon Soh will be history, when the new blood fire up the track.  [:p]  [laugh]  [laugh]

Well. There's always a need for older people to show the way right. If your son becomes national athlete, then next time he can also moonlight as hurdling coach in sec or jc level  [laugh]

SEA game first individual gold medal for that year is worth S$10,000, under the SNOC major game award program.  2nd and 3rd are S$5000 each 

Private candidates are also included in the program, and they will also have to "donate" 20% of the winning to the respective associations, this is mandatory.

commonwealth games worth S$40,000

Asian games worth S$200,000. 

[laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

If TCJ is on SNOC, I think he's big on being a team player.

Being a team player here doesn't mean just between athletes, it also means between coaches, association and the athlete in question.

Coming from his background where strict obedience and compliance is a given ... he must be thinking, who this si ginna?? [laugh] I can just imagine!

Is Ashley Liew running these days? 

interestingly, this news article popped up in FB.

https://www.todayonline.com/sports/sea-games-indonesian-marathoner-praises-rival-soh-rui-yong-sportsmanship

Seems like he's the one with sportsmanship.

this was the Today's article on the saga previously:

https://www.todayonline.com/singapore/i-didnt-see-anybody-slow-down-says-filipino-marathoner-ashley-liews-act-sportsmanship-2015

a number of days ago, Straits Times reported again on the sage, but this is behind a paywall though

https://www.straitstimes.com/sport/i-didnt-say-fair-play-act-could-have-cost-me-a-medal-liew

Saga stinks up the sports pages. Anyway, this sort of saga so many years liao, why can't just let it go.