M1 Supersyn 5W30 vs Amsoil S2000 5W30

Genie47

http://neptune.spacebears.com/...tories/oil-life.html

Discussions still going on. M1 have pretty good TBN near the end while Amsoil is dropping like a brick. M1 got higher wear metals and insolubles. Amsoil thickened a bit towards the end. M1 saw more highway miles, Amsoil saw more intermittent use. M1 went 12k miles w/o filter change. Amsoil did not have a filter change.

BTW, M1 Supersyn 5W30 was the one selling at Carrefour for 69.90 for 6qts. Now you know what to do with the other 2qts if your car uses only 4. sly.gif At 12k miles, buy a filter, replace and top up a bit.

Edited by Genie47

This is good news for me!! smile.gif

Just changed to this Mobil1 2 days ago.

Was toying with the idea to keep it in there for 15K km. But if I keep it in there for too long, the stealer may play punk on the warranty later leh. mad.gif

Btw, I think the promotion at Carrefour is over, now back to the usual $16.90 per quart.

Edited by Flaser

impressed by how organised and 'charitable' yankees can be when doing such an independent study. not to mention the amount of effort and time... [sweatdrop]

phew, the M1 oil results look pretty good. glad that i bought quite a few when Carrefour had the promotion [sly]

wah bro....i know who to get from after i use up my last shell f/s liao... brotherly luvvvvv k? [laugh]

Edited by Robinchoo

No worries, 5W means freezing at 5 C (ambient temperature), and 10 W means 10 C. In Singapore we will be happy if the weather stays at 20s C.

Edited by Fortress

nid to get wt30 oil, FC sucks big time. Been using wt40 oil since day one. so i assume wt30 oil can tahan my once in awhile HRF syndrome hor? laugh.gif

no prob.... [sunny][sunny][sunny] juz let me know. i even forgo the transport/delivery charges to woodlands.

hmmm... maybe can hv a Mac vanilla ice cream cone... [laugh][laugh][laugh]

wah... okie. but i find not all Mac vanilla i/c taste the same...some mac outlets yucks, taste too creamy liao [laugh]

wah.. thanks for the info....

robin pal... hear or not ? plaza sing got stock leh... mai tooh liao. u tonite siw gang liao go down lah.... [laugh][laugh]