Question on PARF and COE rebates

Queoof

Yes, your understanding is correct.

For PARF, they use the ARF instead of OMV.

However if yours is a newer car with the CEVS, noted that CEVS only works one way.

If its is a Rebate - Then it drops your ARF

but

If its is a surcharge - It WILL NOT affect your ARF as that is only a surcharge.

So becareful of that when you are calculating the depreciating value of your car.

Hi guys,

Was wondering how to calculate the Parf value of car now...

Eg.
Car registered in Mar 2005, OMV $30,000.

All the while isn't it suppose to be I get back 55% of OMV upon I scrap the car on 9yr 11mth? Thus, value is $16,500.

But based on the changed rules, it seems like I am getting $17,000 instead? ($20k +[10k x 140%] / 2

Less than 5 yrs old 130% of ARF 75% of ARF
5 to 6 yrs old 120% of ARF 70% of ARF
6 to 7 yrs old 110% of ARF 65% of ARF
7 to 8 yrs old 100% of ARF 60% of ARF
8 to 9 yrs old 90% of ARF 55% of ARF
9 to 10 yrs old 80% of ARF 50% of ARF
More than 10 yrs old 0% of ARF 0% of AR

Vehicle OMV ($75,000) ARF Rate ARF Payable
First $20,000 100% 100% x $20,000 = $20,000
Next $30,000 140% 140% x $30,000 = $42,000
Above $50,000 180% 180% x $25,000 = $45,000

Hope to get some clarification here so tat I can calculate the depreciation of car.

However if yours is a newer car with the CEVS, noted that CEVS only works one way.

If its is a Rebate - Then it drops your ARF

but

If its is a surcharge - It WILL NOT affect your ARF as that is only a surcharge.

may i know where you got this info?

coz lta site doesn't state so explicitly, so was under the assumption that it is only fair

that it works both ways instead of just one way...

Hi guys,

Was wondering how to calculate the Parf value of car now...

Eg.

Car registered in Mar 2005, OMV $30,000.

All the while isn't it suppose to be I get back 55% of OMV upon I scrap the car on 9yr 11mth? Thus, value is $16,500.

But based on the changed rules, it seems like I am getting $17,000 instead? ($20k +[10k x 140%] / 2

Less than 5 yrs old 130% of ARF 75% of ARF

5 to 6 yrs old 120% of ARF 70% of ARF

6 to 7 yrs old 110% of ARF 65% of ARF

7 to 8 yrs old 100% of ARF 60% of ARF

8 to 9 yrs old 90% of ARF 55% of ARF

9 to 10 yrs old 80% of ARF 50% of ARF

More than 10 yrs old 0% of ARF 0% of AR

Vehicle OMV ($75,000) ARF Rate ARF Payable

First $20,000 100% 100% x $20,000 = $20,000

Next $30,000 140% 140% x $30,000 = $42,000

Above $50,000 180% 180% x $25,000 = $45,000

Hope to get some clarification here so tat I can calculate the depreciation of car.

i did up a simple spreadsheet. may be of help.

i tried to up load but not allowed.

what's your email? i send you bro?

your calculation more of less correct. parf value = 0.55 x OMV = 16.5k

actually for your own car can just log in to onemotoring to check parf value

https://vrl.lta.gov.sg/lta/vrl/action/pubfunc?ID=EnquireRebateBeforeDeReg

Edited by Little_prince

i did up a simple spreadsheet. may be of help.

i tried to up load but not allowed.

what's your email? i send you bro?

your calculation more of less correct. parf value = 0.55 x OMV = 16.5k

actually for your own car can just log in to onemotoring to check parf value

Due to the high COE, now gonna start hunting for used car... Juz realize tat 2nd hand car prices

are even more insane than new car!

Bloody dealers!!!

just use my spreadsheet lor...

Tks for the spreadsheet! U did it yourself???

think you can just go in onemotoring website , login and see your parf

Not my own car, now looking for another car...

My car gonna "hand in IC soon"....

yup...will update if i got the CEVS surcharge affecting PARF wrong...

Edited by Eyke

I do not have the information off hands but remembered reading about it and finding the CEVS super unfair when it was first launched.

But if we infer what we read here.

The CEVS does not "Add" or "Reduce" ARF, its just that the rebates can be used to offset against the ARF payable.

"Cars with low carbon emissions will qualify for rebates, which are offset against the car's ARF payable. Cars with high carbon emissions will incur a corresponding registration surcharge. Cars are also subject to a minimum ARF payable of S$5,000 as models that have relatively low ARF payable and are in themselves fuel-efficient, do not need to be further incentivised.

The CEVS rebates will apply to all new cars and imported cars registered from 1 January 2013. The CEVS surcharges will be implemented from 1 July 2013."

Does anyone verify this claim?

may i know where you got this info?

coz lta site doesn't state so explicitly, so was under the assumption that it is only fair

that it works both ways instead of just one way...

Due to the high COE, now gonna start hunting for used car... Juz realize tat 2nd hand car prices

are even more insane than new car!

Bloody dealers!!!

Not my own car, now looking for another car...

My car gonna "hand in IC soon"....

just simple spreadsheet for quick comparison between used cars lah. just key in price, age and omv, then will calculate depreciation, loan and cash up front. not exactly 100% but more or less 90% accurate i guess. good enough for a quick comparison.

knn. the farking dealers sibei a**holes. old car depreciation almost same as new cars.

even 2nd hand b&B jap car now almost 10k depreciation.

Edited by Little_prince

Does anyone verify this claim?

k, verified with LTA, it is as you assumed:

the CEVS surcharge does not affect PARF.

will have to go update my spreadsheet now...

hi, I hv a Kia Cerato Forte Jan 2010, I bought at price $52000 with Including COE $18502

I would like to know how much I can get back for COE rebate and PARF if I sell my car now.

my monthly installment is $544 for 10 yrs.

COE expired at 2020 Jan.

I would like to know how much I can get back for COE rebate and PARF if I sell my car now.

strange qn leh...

when u sell ur car, what u can "get back" is what the buyer pays u for the car [laugh]

Hi All

Can't say I understand fully how this works. But can I confirm that the amount of PARF rebate I'm getting back on the last day of my COE (or 10 years) will be in the last line of the report (dereg as of last day of 10 years) from the following link?

"Total Rebate Amount", correct, if the intended dereg date is entered accordingly.