CAI

Yongwd

Cannot go then show lor!

Saw the Hella projector lamps for the Focus? Damn solid man!

Never considered importing the tuning stuff from the US? It all boils down to your urge to differ from the others. Like myself I import most of my tuning and comestic parts from US and Sweden, find them in Singapore? Fat hope [mad]

post-6-1010547632_thumb.jpg

Sigh, it's all about the bureaucracy extracting $$$ from motorists. Many moons and rains ago, my driving light cover cracked and wouldn't stay on. Failed inspection. Went around used insulating tape to tape it up, and went right back in for a retest. $30 or something like that.

Now LTA want to have everything with approval, I got no time to get this paper and that paper and run around in circles. No money to pay fine also (times are bad). Bah! (pre-lunch crankiness, it'll go away soon).

Anyway, I'm such a low-key boring person, I like my car to look stock, dun attract the wrong kind of attention :-) But to be different, I prefer to drive a "different"/niche" car, but keep it looking stock.

Cannot go then show lor!

Saw the Hella projector lamps for the Focus? Damn solid man!

Never considered importing the tuning stuff from the US? It all boils down to your urge to differ from the others. Like myself I import most of my tuning and comestic parts from US and Sweden, find them in Singapore? Fat hope [mad]

Well motorist especially in Singapore have to succumb to such $$$ sucking bureaucracies, just another part of life type crap. [mad]

My inspection due Jun 2002, wondering how to smoke out with my mods [angelic]

Hey, must meetup and take pics of your Focus! Put on showroom man!

Just as I expected! Aftermarket stuff is difficult to come by here for my Italian mistress too. [:(] If there are available, it'll be on indent basis and the shipping charges is expensive.

Have you look at European sites, especially UK? I'm sure they have a lot of Focus stuffs there.

Cheers!

Any mistress cost $$$$ :-)

Times are bad, so I console myself with my preference for stock looks. Hopefully when the economy recovers.......

Just as I expected! Aftermarket stuff is difficult to come by here for my Italian mistress too. [:(] If there are available, it'll be on indent basis and the shipping charges is expensive.

Have you look at European sites, especially UK? I'm sure they have a lot of Focus stuffs there.

Cheers!

I'm driving the 156. [cool]

If you're using a drop-in filter, water getting in your induction is not an issue. The protective box is still there. It's the cone filter setup that's riskier. Must find a place where there's lots of cold air but no water!

Cheers!

Focus handles very well. Now, if they bring in the 2.0L version...................... [angelic]

Drive a car which you enjoy driving and not conform to others' expectations.

Drive a car which you enjoy driving and not conform to others' "expectations" Exactly my thots - that's why I prefer to drive a niche/different car despite all the associated problems.

For handling, the 2.0 would need much better suspension. This one is geared (ok, has a slant) towards comfort. Springs are slightly soft (but still stiffer than most stock Japanese sedans), compression travel is ok (absorbs leading edge of bump), but it kinda goes "klonk" on the rebound (need to increase rebound stiffness). Cornering is ok, but still leans (but doesn't dive and squat like a well-known sedan I once tested -- ooh that was fun!).

It would be interesting to do a comprision between the focus and 156. Maybe I'll do a testdrive someday.

Focus handles very well. Now, if they bring in the 2.0L version...................... [angelic]

Drive a car which you enjoy driving and not conform to others' expectations.

I have no words to describe my mistress! [cool] You've gotta test drive one! If you're interested I can show you mine. My office's at Bedok North. I always visit my 'kaki' at Thomson Hills too. If you're nearby, we can go for a ride at the 'old road'.

Cheers!

laugh! That descirption is what most describe their "mistresses", automotive or otherwise :-)

I'm at Jurong, so maybe I'll drop by the agent. I assume its the one down the road from Daihatsu agent?

Thanks for the offer! I'll take a raincheck for the moment.

I have no words to describe my mistress! [cool] You've gotta test drive one! If you're interested I can show you mine. My office's at Bedok North. I always visit my 'kaki' at Thomson Hills too. If you're nearby, we can go for a ride at the 'old road'.

Cheers!

Dude, can lemme know when you are going to meet the doc please? I'd like to tag along and take a ride in the back seat of both cars, juz to feel things from a passenger's perspective. I've only test driven the 156, and like the doc, I feel that words are not enough to describe the feeling! [cool]

You are most welcome. We can test the R1R at the same time. Not this week, though. Just replaced my brake pads and still bedding in. Don't want to end up in a longkang, do we? [;)]

Edited by Mikeckchong

Woohoo!! Will be good to meet up with you and Gavin for kopi and tyre-burning! Hokay, I gotta log off liaoz....leaving for the railway station in a few mins. time.....should be back from M'sia on Friday, so I'll check in here when I get back! [:)]

It's Massa Motors at Teban Gardens. Be forwarned! The car is addictive! Don't blame me if anything happens! [;)]

Cheers!

Edited by Mikeckchong