Roadblock Neutral Newbie January 9, 2002 Share January 9, 2002 In a CAI set up, the air intake is taking in air from the outside. Qn: how abt rain, if you travel say at highway against the downpour, wouldnt a lot of rainwater get caught in the air intake while traveling? And how abt tree wigs & leaves... dont they get caught in the air filter more often than not? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madarmour Neutral Newbie January 10, 2002 Share January 10, 2002 Yup, the aim is to suck outside air only. The art is not to suck in rain. Debris is blocked at the filter level, so no issue there. I placed an aluminium wire mesh over the intake nozzle to prevent bigger things from being sucked in. (Actually no need, as the air scoop are grilled too.) To minimize water being sucked in, the nozzle is not attached to the air scoop and is not pointing directly to it. So no ram-air effect. I've driven at 100kmh in heavy rain without any problems.........so far. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyleng Neutral Newbie January 10, 2002 Share January 10, 2002 If rain gets in, you get water in the piston and upon combustion, water vapourises and you get extra power from the steam! whoah!.... Petrol + Steam power! way to go man! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie January 10, 2002 Share January 10, 2002 Water injection ah? Then can run higher boost!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madarmour Neutral Newbie January 10, 2002 Share January 10, 2002 Too much water go in => bent conrods! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie January 10, 2002 Share January 10, 2002 Yah, later pistons fly out of engine block too! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yongwd 1st Gear January 10, 2002 Author Share January 10, 2002 Wont be that furious lah. By the time water droplets reach near intake manifold already vaporised. I dun recommend pulling out the resonator, it is partially meant to contain water at fast speed should your vehicle cut thru a huge pool of water. Yah, later pistons fly out of engine block too! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie January 10, 2002 Share January 10, 2002 Issit a possiblity to spray water before the airbox to cool the intake air? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Barakian Neutral Newbie January 11, 2002 Share January 11, 2002 Yesh it is, and its called Aquamist. The spray is very fine, and can be directed at your air box to provide a cooling effect. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madarmour Neutral Newbie January 11, 2002 Share January 11, 2002 You're back! How's the trip? Do you know where to get this Aquamist? OK, are you still on for kopi next week? Pls arrange with 'brick. He knows when I'm free. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Barakian Neutral Newbie January 11, 2002 Share January 11, 2002 Hello doc! Yep, juz got in this morning after a bone-shaking 7-hour train-ride back from Seremban! Not too sure where you can buy the aquamist, but I will ask around for you...one of my friends should know! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Barakian Neutral Newbie January 11, 2002 Share January 11, 2002 Well.......I may have been wrong judging from what I read on Aquamist's website...anywayz, here's the URL to Aquamist: http://www.aquamist.co.uk Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie January 11, 2002 Share January 11, 2002 Yo Vek! The Man is back! If I'm going to sink $$ into Aquamist then I'll prefer throttle water injection rather than airbox as aquamist can spray super fine water mist which vaporizes in an instant. Can check where to get? Thanks dude My thought of spraying into airbox is with a less fine spray nozzle so cannot use at intake after airbox, will flood the turbo or intercooler. Some reccommend using a 50/50 methonol/water for aquamist to improve cooling as well Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Barakian Neutral Newbie January 11, 2002 Share January 11, 2002 Think you need to ship it in from UK. Email [email protected] for more details! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie January 11, 2002 Share January 11, 2002 I did ask the UK company before and they pointed to a Malaysian dealer. A set is about 1k for the semi-computer controlled one. I think the Malaysian dealer is no more liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Barakian Neutral Newbie January 13, 2002 Share January 13, 2002 Tried emailing the guy whose email I gave you? Cuz he was the one my friend dealt wif when bringing in his aquamist..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie January 13, 2002 Share January 13, 2002 Still surveying the product, will email the fellow U recommended. Thanks dude! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Do_you_bj Neutral Newbie January 14, 2002 Share January 14, 2002 Yah, most SG cars don't go up to 120 or more on a daily drive, all high end mods are pretty redundent (hint: Vtec! Ha!) Eh, what is this!!!! Insulting VTECs ah!!!!!!!!!! CAI's are useful but please know what CAI you're buying!!!!! CAI type 1: Most commonly used, duct all the way down to bumper!!!!! Danger!!!!! Very thirsty, always drink water on wet days thus causing breakdown plus power increase only at +/- 4K RPM. power cannot make it!!!! CAI type 2: Conventional piping to engine compartment with open pod filter!!!!!! Heatshield to isolate the filter plus an additional pipe to channel air from below the car. No thirsty & low end power can be felt immediately. Also, power is more linear, regardless of powerband in play!!!!! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...