Don_pica Neutral Newbie June 19, 2006 Share June 19, 2006 (edited) Hi all, First i would like to thanks andew,unclebob, Kwongwing,Sarong and fasthonda for all your kind assistance on my annoying smses... Especially to Kwongwing that explain alot of ICE terms to me and even call me up and tell me what exactly ICE is all about. Thank alot.. hope that any inconvinence caused by me will be forgiven. Next time meetup and kopi on me k.. Last but not least, I have decided to change my setup to active setup. and i would like to ask how much to do rewiring and how long it takes? Do i need a Electronic crossover for it? or a 2 ch amp? I got a quotation from a shop that quote me $250 for rewiring to active setup and add a SQL electronic crossover plus tuning. Worth it?? it takes him one full day to complete. Edited June 19, 2006 by Don_pica ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Don_pica Neutral Newbie June 19, 2006 Author Share June 19, 2006 will any kind soul help me out? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear June 19, 2006 Share June 19, 2006 ur 8650 got internal Xover, no need extra Xover liao.. u'll need extra speaker wire and RCAs. have fun Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mdvic Neutral Newbie June 19, 2006 Share June 19, 2006 Bro , call Darren at Sin Kit, I think he charge base on per item install,, I just had mine done 2 weeks ago... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Don_pica Neutral Newbie June 19, 2006 Author Share June 19, 2006 thks you headshok... when will you be back?? got to ask for you advise on SPL. so my current HU 8650 is sufficient to tune the Xcross over? as per advise from the shop at Bukit panjang. he advise to me include one to fine tune it. $250 leh... abit ex rite?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Don_pica Neutral Newbie June 19, 2006 Author Share June 19, 2006 hi Bro mdvic, did you add any electronic xrossover? recently have some unpleasant things with two shops... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear June 19, 2006 Share June 19, 2006 in my opinion, i know of someone who entered IASCA competition with an 8650 and still managed to get 5th place. don look down on the 8650 wor.. heheh.. in my opinion, its enough for u lah.. if u wanna go higher end, then go for HU and processor.. wat SPL advise u want? heheh.. if u want SPL, then u gotta prepare to ditch everything in ur boot for a massive box liao.. heheh cheers! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Don_pica Neutral Newbie June 19, 2006 Author Share June 19, 2006 you mean current passive setup is enough? maybe lor... i like... going to give up liao... very tiring about the setup... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear June 19, 2006 Share June 19, 2006 i mean, for u, the 8650 is enough liao.. then in future and u wanna go more hardcore, then go for HU and processor.. heheh.. aiyah, the fun is just starting.. heheh.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Don_pica Neutral Newbie June 19, 2006 Author Share June 19, 2006 i been to a few shop to listen to their advice... was like huh?? too chim... still struggling between passive and active Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear June 19, 2006 Share June 19, 2006 okok, here's my opinion lah. for the moment, stick with ur 8650 and ur current setup (i'm assuming ur spkr amp is 4 channel).. then when u are sure wat kinda setup u want and which kind of sound u like, then go change to a good HU and a processor(p90, D2 etc etc). if u still not sure abt HUs, stick with ur 8650, change ur amp and spkrs slowly lor.. heheh hang out more at the meetups and learn more abt tuning and stuff. if u wanna stick to SQ, then don cross over to the SPL side, heheh.. SPL is a whole other story. i've heard some crazy ass setups here. u imagine, i noe this guy with a pair of 12s in his car. when my i'm in the car in front of his, i can feel HIS bass on the floor in MY car, thats how loud, and i sat in his car, within a few mins, i almost died.. that was LOUD! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Don_pica Neutral Newbie June 19, 2006 Author Share June 19, 2006 thks alot... think i will stick to my current setup ba... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear June 19, 2006 Share June 19, 2006 haha.. just saved u $250 eh.. hahaha.. i come back u noe wat to do ah.. hahahaahaa.. just kiddin.. slowly lah.. go for the meetup everyweek lah, see u when i get back.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Don_pica Neutral Newbie June 19, 2006 Author Share June 19, 2006 thks.. kopi on me.. not a problem...think i give up on ICE liao... too chim for me to understand...will just stick on it and leave it... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sturtles 6th Gear June 19, 2006 Share June 19, 2006 hi bro, you're the maroon sunny? i see you're on an active setup. Its commonly heard that active setups are good, but its hard to tune such that it will sound much better than passive ones, which may explain why your system is not up to your standard. I belive sin kit did tune the setup for you, and they are already quite experienced with active setups, but probably they have expectations different from yours. You could ask the nasi padang gang for a reputable active ICE tuner and get them to tune it to your liking for a small fee. Other than that, the vehicle structure and cabin and built in acoustics(soundproofing) also play an important role. For our cars, even if we sound proof the panels and floors with many layers of good materials, at the end of the day, the shell is not built for good sound reproduction and also our glass is also much thinner than the higher end cars, which allows more 'zao sia' Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kwongwing Neutral Newbie June 19, 2006 Share June 19, 2006 Your 8650 allows you to run a 2-way active system with sub. You would then not be able to run a rear pair of spkrs or otherwise a 3-way system with sub, unless you add a separate pre-amp cum electronic cross-over. Cabling costs can vary a great deal - $250 was sufficient just for the cabling for my power requirements! See what is your budget and negotiate with your installer - for 2-way active w/ sub you would need 1. 5-channels of amplification 2. which means 3 pairs of RCAs from the HU to the amp, 3. plus 2 pairs of speaker runs each side to your left/right front speakers 4. 1 run of speaker cabling to you sub (should be quite short if both amp and sub in the boot!) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hyun Neutral Newbie June 19, 2006 Share June 19, 2006 hi don_pica, not sure if u have come to our meet-up before. too many nicknames can't remember. u could ask someone at the meet-up to see what can be done if u dun like ur system. that solution u proposed may not be the best solution .. so get some opinions from others first. ICE not too chim lah, just need to be willing to learn. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bobcatsysop Neutral Newbie June 19, 2006 Share June 19, 2006 (edited) Hi Bro Hyun, Don_pica is the one driving a White Picanto with a very nicely decorated motion express sticker all over his car for advertisement. Damn chio special LED eye lids.. Whew!!.. he is going for ICE competition and he came to our meetup about 2-3 occassions if I remember correctly... and for his 1st meetup, he met with Slonez-Andrew and Headshok before he left for USA. He is still waiting for his Alphine HU to be installed these few days and if is ready by this coming Wed he will come for the meetup. That's what I understand from him. Edited June 19, 2006 by Bobcatsysop ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...