Extractor - how effective

Mel4fun

Gurus,

Please advice.

If I replace the extractor (header), will I get better low-end grunt?

Assuming that I'm keeping my rear box and my pipe is already 'breathing better' now sly.gif

Advice please.

Luke,

Cannot change on my existing car leh...unless it's a new ride right?

Not prepare to let go yet....unsure.gif

you mai worry, i minimum 2 trips.....going to do films too. that cannot wait liao......veli veli burning when driving.

Cool...heard you picnic want to film also?

i had extractors in at least two of my present/previous cars..... mid range torque (3000rpm+- to 4500rpm) definitely improved alot..... low-end also not bad.... thumbsup.gifthumbsup.gifthumbsup.gif

my experience is limited to 4-2-1 extractors, dun know about 4-1-1 one, heard the latter is meant for improvement in high end torque.........

Edited by Super7

it's the bundle of pipes which take exhaust gas from the engine and discharge it into the exhaust pipe...... the bundle is connected directly to the engine........ looks like a palm with only 4 fingers poking into the engine block (for 4-cyclender engine)..... smile.gifsmile.gif (the 'fingers' has diameter of about 2 inches) .... in stock design, it's called the exhaust manifold, in tuned design for performance, it's called extractor coz it helps 'extract' the exhaust gas more efficiently and therefore improves the "breathing:- exhaling/breath-out", thus performance of the engine.....

Edited by Super7

i suggest you dun do first.....wait for us to go and come back and let you look at the skills in JB. otherwise spend the money and get the stupid bubbles.....pek chek man

S7,

I'll be looking for 4-2-1 extractor, you know my ride is heavy like a elephant.....so need more low-end torque for city driving sly.gif

I was hoping that the extractor (aka header aka exhaust manifold tongue.gif ) would help to improve the low end drivability.

So is it advisable to consider the extractor to free up more low-end grunt??? confused.gif

What is the characteristic before and after replacing the extractor on your previous two rides ?

say if i am doing 90kmh in fourth or fifth gear at about 2700rpm, before the mod, i had to down shift before accelerating to overtake another car, now:- i can stay in the same gear and simply 3 quarter floor the gas pedal to overtake coz at mid rpm of 2700, the available torque (previously not there, and was only avilable at higer rev say 3300rpm) is good enough for the overtaking move.......

Edited by Super7