Kieran1975 1st Gear May 25, 2007 Share May 25, 2007 Hi, I intend to upgrade my front CDT CL62 to Focal 165KF. Is it advisable to move my CDT CL62 to rear or just concentrate on the front setup? Current Setup. HU:Clarion WXZ466MP Front : CDT CL62 componet speaker. Rear: Lanzar 2way coxial AMP: Genesis Profile 2 for CDT CL62. Sub: Pioneer TS-WX22A Active Subwoofer 150 watt Soundproof: 2 layers front & rear doors Upgrade Setup. HU:Clarion WXZ466MP Front : Focal 165KF Rear: CDT CL62. AMP: Genesis Profile 2 for Front Focal 165KF. AMP: Firefox 2 channel 180Watt for Rear CDT CL62 . Sub: Pioneer TS-WX22A Active Subwoofer 150 watt Soundproof: 2 layers front & rear doors Thanks..... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zambik 2nd Gear May 25, 2007 Share May 25, 2007 What car you driving? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kieran1975 1st Gear May 25, 2007 Author Share May 25, 2007 Toyota Wish..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zambik 2nd Gear May 25, 2007 Share May 25, 2007 I think a few bros here driving similar type of car, maybe they can advise you if you need rear fill. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kieran1975 1st Gear May 25, 2007 Author Share May 25, 2007 If moved the CDT to the rear, any idea where should i mount my tweeter? Any bro driving mini MPV, kindly give me some advice.... Thanks.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear May 25, 2007 Share May 25, 2007 sell of ur CDTs for extra cash can laio.. for rear spkrs, keep stock ones can liao. cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kieran1975 1st Gear May 27, 2007 Author Share May 27, 2007 Dun think can get back much $$$ from my 1.5 yrs old CDT.... Since I still have a spare 2 channel AMP, must well make full use of it for the REAR.... Any idea where to mount the tweeters for the Rear? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sarong1 1st Gear May 27, 2007 Share May 27, 2007 I am suggesting that you concentrate on your front. The CDT may be of different characteristic afterall as a rear fill. Some may say it doesn't matter, but I have gone thru this stage, and I must tell you it does make hell lots of difference. Using genesis to push your focal is ok. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hyun Neutral Newbie May 28, 2007 Share May 28, 2007 > Need Advice: Passive Setup i second Comrade Sarong's insight. you have 2 spare channels. wire it up "active" and use the independent time alignment of the head unit. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kieran1975 1st Gear May 28, 2007 Author Share May 28, 2007 Thanks for the advice and I'll just concentrate the front. Now need to find buyer for my CDT and 2 Channel Amp ..... Can't go active as my HU dun have TA function leh..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hyun Neutral Newbie May 28, 2007 Share May 28, 2007 the price of getting a 1st or 2nd hand HU with TA is not very high. it may involve a small top-up from your current HU. the returns on this investment is significant, so maybe you shouldn't sell your amp away yet ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kieran1975 1st Gear May 28, 2007 Author Share May 28, 2007 Bro, just bought my Clarion WXZ466MP and less than 2 week...so have to keep it at least for another 6 - 12 months. Right now want to hunt for a component speaker to pair with my genesis as it seems like it did not perform as what i have expected.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sarong1 1st Gear May 28, 2007 Share May 28, 2007 You may want to know that I am using the same Genesis to drive my tweeters currently...my initial sensing on Genesis wasn't that good as well (two years back) but all being electronics, they need time to run in. Give your Genesis and Focal a chance. They have that European style you can't resist if you are into Jazz or Vocals...its gentleman. If you are worried about TA, you can always get external processor to aid you. Investing in a HU that has all functions on it has its merits and downfalls. A 2nd processor like Alpine 701 won't cost you a bomb and should last you for some time to come. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kieran1975 1st Gear May 28, 2007 Author Share May 28, 2007 Hi Sarong, At the moment no intention to go "active", just want to play around with "passive" for the time being... I found that i still not able to get "clear" sound i want, not now sure is it due to my CDT speaker or AMP?.... Will audit the Focal 165KF at AE this weekend before deciding whether to go ahead with the change... Not sure whether is it a right move or should i put my old amp for few days to see the different.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sarong1 1st Gear May 29, 2007 Share May 29, 2007 OK, wish you all the best in your ICE journey. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eddy216 Neutral Newbie May 29, 2007 Share May 29, 2007 Hi Kieran, I'm using the 165KF. Mid-bass wise it punches well, highs can get kinda sharp so if you are into vocals, jazz you may have to adjust the EQ a bit. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Uncle_catz Neutral Newbie May 29, 2007 Share May 29, 2007 Hi I'm running passive with Focal 165KF at the front, and 165CV for rear fill. I find the CV v good and punchy enuf for mid tones. This saves me $ for a sub. I listen to jazz and vocals mostly. If you intent to keep yr CDT, why not consider the CV for rear-fill? Just another option... cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kieran1975 1st Gear May 29, 2007 Author Share May 29, 2007 I feel that my CDT is quite punchy set of speakers and my genesis seems like not enough "power" to punch the beat out as compared with my "No brand" US made 2 channel AMP (180Watts). Option 1: Sell my CDT together with my "US" made Amp. Get a pair of focal to match my genesis. Option 2: Move my CDT and "US" made Amp to rear. Get a pair of Focal with genesis for the front OR. Option 3: SELL away my genesis and live with my old set up. Any advice? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...