Goodbye Rafa. . .

Xtravagant

Liverpool FC today confirmed that Rafael Benitez is to leave the club by mutual consent.

Mr Benitez relinquishes his position as team manager after six years and the Board of Directors would like to place on record their grateful thanks for his services and wish him all the best in his future career.

The Board has now asked Managing Director Christian Purslow, with the assistance of Club Ambassador Kenny Dalglish, to begin a formal search to identify and assess potential candidates for the managerial position.

No timescale has been placed on the process and Liverpool FC will make no further statement until a new manager is appointed.

LFC Chairman Martin Broughton said: "Rafa will forever be part of Liverpool folklore after bringing home the Champions League following the epic final in Istanbul but after a disappointing season both parties felt a fresh start would be best for all concerned.''

Rafael Benitez said: "It is very sad for me to announce that I will no longer be manager of Liverpool FC. I would like to thank all of the staff and players for their efforts.

"I'll always keep in my heart the good times I've had here, the strong and loyal support of the fans in the tough times and the love from Liverpool. I have no words to thank you enough for all these years and I am very proud to say that I was your manager.

"Thank you so much once more and always remember: You'll never walk alone."

Source: Liverpoolfc.tv

6 years at Anfield, from the miracle at Istanbul 04/05 to a low 7th place in 09/10.

Inter Milan could be his next destination replacing the Special One who was unveiled at Real Madrid earlier this week.

Whatever it is, wishing him the best. YNWA [wave] [wave]

ok Lai!!!!!!!!!!!! any bets on who will be the next manager. . . .??

seems like Roy Hodgson is fav after leading Fulham to the Europa League finals . . . . :blink:

Roy Hodgson and Martin O Neil are mentioned as possible candidates. I think the former would be the most ideal man to lead liverpool. As for other rumoured overseas candidates such as Louis Van Gaal, I think they would be pretty comfortable enough in their existing jobs to be contemplating a switch. It should not be too difficult to persuade Hodgson to leave Fulham. It is the dream of many british-based managers to coach a team like liverpool.

i was hoping for King Kenny. . . [laugh][rolleyes]

I dun think he will take it..as can be seen from the offical statement, he and Purslow would be in charge of looking for a successor and team affairs for time being. if he is keen, they would probably have discussed on the possibility of him taking over immediately...unless they couldn't really find anyone suitable who would accept the job, otherwise I think the chance of Kenny taking over is rather slim.. :huh:

Rumours that Mark Hughes as possible candidates............. [dizzy]

Sparky will be good for Pool. He is one of Old Fark's men. [sly]

I dun think he will take it..as can be seen from the offical statement, he and Purslow would be in charge of looking for a successor and team affairs for time being. if he is keen, they would probably have discussed on the possibility of him taking over immediately...unless they couldn't really find anyone suitable who would accept the job, otherwise I think the chance of Kenny taking over is rather slim.. :huh:

I agree. Not likely to be Kenny.

How about Kevin Keegan?

I agree. Not likely to be Kenny.

How about Kevin Keegan?

No offence but I think Keegan's managerial capabilities is suspect. I think liverpool should go for Hodgson.

Wah lao, 6 points down the drain liao if he takes over [bigcry]

hahaha,good 1.I would luv king kenny but he is not in the game for a long time liao.and not very sure he can take the stress or not?

No offence but I think Keegan's managerial capabilities is suspect. I think liverpool should go for Hodgson.

No need to take offence cos I share the same sentiments as you. [:p]

Wah lao, 6 points down the drain liao if he takes over [bigcry]

[laugh] Then see if they can match MU's record timing of waiting for 26 years to win their next league title.

Just joking hor....

I think Roy Hodgson would be a good replacement.

Sparky will be good for Pool. He is one of Old Fark's men. [sly]

Good for Pool? for manure u mean ..... as you said he was 1 of Old Fark's men, he'll be presenting manure 6 points every season, just like another team in the BPL

[laugh] Then see if they can match MU's record timing of waiting for 26 years to win their next league title.

Just joking hor....

I think Roy Hodgson would be a good replacement.

its ok to match that record as long as manure dun win the title for another 50 years [laugh]

Good for Pool? for manure u mean ..... as you said he was 1 of Old Fark's men, he'll be presenting manure 6 points every season, just like another team in the BPL

I am a MU fan. [lipsrsealed][laugh]