I don't understand Mandarin

Windwaver

Leon Lai is from Beijing, Carina Lau is from Suzhou, Wong Kar Wai is from Shanghai, Liza Wang is from Shanghai, Tung Chee Hwa and several other prominent tycoons in Hong Kong were from Shanghai. The bulk of original film makers and capital were also from Shanghai. In 1949, the entire heart of economy in China shifted from Shanghai to Hong Kong, and the bulk of politicians and scholars from the North mostly moved to Taiwan. Keep in mind, at this time the concept of "mainlander" probably isn't as strong as today due to prolong years of political separation and cold war. By the time Faye Wong went to Hong Kong (from Beijing) and performed as a recording singer, she was discriminated.

Most Hongkongers have roots in neighbouring Guangdong province, the homeland of the Cantonese and Teochew people. As such, many Hongkongers are Cantonese and Teochew people, a smaller number of Hokkien (for example the actor Raymond Lam a Hokkien rich man's son who was born in Fujian, Andy Lau and Sammi Cheng who are Teochew, Anita Mui whose roots hailed from Guangxi). There are many Hakka as well, those who put their roots down in the southern provinces few hundred years ago and their descendants migrated to HK.

It is the non-Southern PRC in HK that irk the Hongkongers, for example the northerners who throw their weight around.

Leon Lai is from Beijing, Carina Lau is from Suzhou, Wong Kar Wai is from Shanghai, Liza Wang is from Shanghai, Tung Chee Hwa and several other prominent tycoons in Hong Kong were from Shanghai. The bulk of original film makers and capital were also from Shanghai. In 1949, the entire heart of economy in China shifted from Shanghai to Hong Kong, and the bulk of politicians and scholars from the North mostly moved to Taiwan. Keep in mind, at this time the concept of "mainlander" probably isn't as strong as today due to prolong years of political separation and cold war. By the time Faye Wong went to Hong Kong (from Beijing) and performed as a recording singer, she was discriminated.

Shanghainese are known to be good/shrew business persons, was told way back by my old uncles/aunties. I looked around and found some truth in this here in the 60s, 70s, 80s amongst business persons.

This is true probably before the Ah Tiongs started to tour HKG.

I was with 3 Shaghainese and 1 Hkger shopping in Tsim Sha Tsui and frankly the Sales people know who are the real buyers and who are the window shoppers.

Speak Putonghua with HKG and SG accent - you are not attended.

My sgp frens used English (spoke it quite well with little singlish accent) and the HK shopkeepers couldnt figure out where they were from and therefore served them quite well. Wonder if this always work? (use an established language HK salespersons are weak at)

Why did TS post this?

This is an english post and obviously he also speaks mandarin.

This is another idiot who is saying everyone else would be better person if he is just like me. The world should be just like me.

The taliban thinks so too.

Idiot TS. You are just an accident of birth and circumstance.

The world would be better off if the taliban kills you.

Hey bro, why so serious hahh?

Regardless, you are welcome to disagree with TS or any views posted here. [:)]

I think Singapore's entertainment reporters are way better than Taiwanese or HK paparazzi, in terms of integrity and method of working.

Agree, they are better in terms of following some rules on privacy / accuracy etc. On the other hand, the reverse of this could bring 'excitements' to readers with gossips (true or false) therefore provides high entertainment values as long as the readers are discerning and know what they are reading [:)]

Too expreme either way maybe should be avoided, i think only [:)]

good post, Singapore is the result of accumulated efforts of many people from many countries.

The British started it all (with the physical help of India workers, and a heap of opium) the Chinese came to do business.

Western educated LKY and his team when they were forced to 'build a nation' turned to British law as their guide to structure our constitution, laws, business trading investment and banking.

If one of the elements above hadnt existed - we wouldn't be here now.

It could well remain as a small fishing village with beaches, coconut trees, where the residents live a stress-less life. The few lucky ones who can endure such a life style may be wondering why the rest of the world is fighting each other. Watch out for the legendary lions though. :o

With the island's strategic location, of course this could hardly happen.

Edited by KARternew

When TT spoke in Mandarin peo

forgive him lah, no matter how lousy his mandrin is, no choice but have to use it... he PRESIDENt leh, must live up to expectation in being 'connected' to all races.... :D[:p]

some westerners who dont really speak chinese are still deeply interested in chinese culture / history. quite a contrast with some sgp chinese who delibrately choose to ignore anything chinese, though they may have their reasons.

That's the reason I started this interesting thread ^_^

Yes as the majority of Chinese Hongkongers have Cantonese roots (roots from all over Guangdong province) so in the past, Cantonese was the main language of street and mid-end commerce/trading and English was the "high class" commercial and legal language, for although most learnt a basic form of it in school, only the privileged could speak it well, being educated overseas and all.

In those days if you were a Chinese immigrant from a non-Cantonese background, you'd better learn to speak Cantonese to survive. Li Ka Shing, being Teochew, did. Even during the early colonial days, many UK expats learnt to speak Cantonese instead of forcing the natives to learn English in order to communicate with them. They didn't have PAP, LKY and the Speak English / English as First Language movement there. :D

In the '70s and '80s when the Japanese were newly rich and had lots of business dealings in HK, many Hongkongers learnt Japanese, imbibed Japanese culture and set up hostess bars in order to entertain and suck up to the Japanese.

After that, the Taiwanese began to become rich, had lots of manufacturing, trading and factories in HK, the Hongkongers began to learn Taiwanese (Min Nan, Hoklo, Hokkien) and Putonghua (Mandarin).

Today, it is the PRCs turn to have lots of business in HK and throw their money around in boutiques and restaurants, so Hongkongers are speaking Mandarin now. Lots of entertainment industry people also recognise the massive potential of the China market and are trying to break into it, for example Charmaine Sheh who rejected TVB's multi-million offer to extend her contract after a PRC artiste company doubled their offer.

Actually Hongkongers are a pretty smart bunch. Way smarter than Singaporeans. Very practical too, they adapt to new economic conditions very well.

Agree, they are adaptable and self-relianct: if govt cant perform or look after the pple well, besides staging street protests they will find a way to change things by taking actions.... and on day to day matters, they always have a shortcut or creative ways of improving things or solving problems, and they do it chop chop. [:)]

This is true probably before the Ah Tiongs started to tour HKG.

I was with 3 Shaghainese and 1 Hkger shopping in Tsim Sha Tsui and frankly the Sales people know who are the real buyers and who are the window shoppers.

Speak Putonghua with HKG and SG accent - you are not attended.

Putonghua in HKG refer to mandarin, right? [:/]

what exactly is the meaning of this?

thew leh low mo hai

thew - Kan

leh - your

low - old

mo - mother

(low mo - mother)

hai - where you came from :D in the delivery ward

Since you have trouble interpreting and understanding English,

少年,别再坑自己了。读不懂而乱由设想来发帖真是悲剧啊。哦,看不懂我第一句的话就表示自己没上过中国论坛,请多参考百度吧。好了。MCF是英文论坛,我之所以从来没在此用华文来沟通。不解释了。

[rolleyes]

I admit that I am not as conversant as you in English language, but it is not my choice. But if someone had the chance to learn Chinese but he didn't then it is a big regret. At least I know I am doing better than you in life, I dont have to call other people BOSS, ppl dont give me funny looks at my cantonese (which I believe you speak very much colloquiall cantonese that's why ppl give you that funny look), dont have to even sideline as an interpreter (what a big joke! by use goodle translate). You be a gentleman to admit that you are the one who uses google translate to interpret your chinese post, so obvious! Try to kid who? This is just a casual forum. Didn't know you are so serious. Do you know Macritchie is not cover? The bridge at Yishun is not fenced? Or you can try to do trafficking then you dont need to sideline so hard anymore. You must be apetty and miserable person in life.

This is still 文言文 where Cao-Cao, Liu Bei, Sun Quan used [laugh] Learn it when reading 三国演义. What we learn now is 白话文.

i got a feeling this is the simpler form 文言文. I came across more chim form of it last time. I really sweated trying to understand its meaning :o

Like what u said, there is hokkien, cantonese, hakka, teochew BUT as a country u need a common language to communicate/work together.

Thats why Mandarin/Pu tong hua was selected when the dynasty era ended. Can u imagine how messy is it if each of the MP/officer speak their

own language in meeting/decision making?

Your/our ancestors may not have the chance to learn as they have to find living in "Nanyang". Now your family's current generation do not feel any "shame"

probaly because like most of the chinese in SG --- English 1st, dont know or known little mandarin--wont die what? rite? So u will pass your kids the same thought?

学习不怕迟, 只怕不学.

Learn an extra language (and somemore its one's mother tongue) helps us expand our circle of friends and more importantly: with the language, comes the ability to appreciate the culture in greater depth.

No lah, this gangsta rap HK-style is something I've been listening to for a long time already. I think LMF are wicked, and went to see their show at St James when they were performing in Singapore. Lots of canto profanities and funny stuff which I had to have my KL friend translate for me! This song in particular...ROCKS!!

But after so long, I understand only about 20% of the whole song! And I cannot read the lyrics in the video [blush] Still, I love the chorus bit 'cos everytime I see one of those yaya-papaya idiots (and there are quite alot of them in Singapore!), I think of this song and LMFAO!! [laugh]

Thank you for the song!! ........... i will explain word by word the remaining 80% until it becomes part of you... if you buy me kopi gao gao, on?? :D