Urbanthlon

LinOrLim

U got no issue running up fort canning? That to me is the killer. Actually the running is ok. But when fatigue sets in, even a simple task like the monkey bar and parallel bar becomes insurmountable...Well based on my experience. Maybe its me because I don't train ;)

I got issue doing the whole thing, I completed it at over 2hr which is extremely slow...

This is the first run of the year so I'm quite slack, maybe I will be more competitive next year and try to achieve under 1hr 30mins which my friend did.

For the obstacle I got no issue just that the waiting time is long. By the way, jumping thru the obstacle is damn dumb, the ladies take one step and the guys direct jump, I admit I'm lousy, thats a real far jump without any momentum.... Worst than jumping SBJ during IPPT

I got issue doing the whole thing, I completed it at over 2hr which is extremely slow...

This is the first run of the year so I'm quite slack, maybe I will be more competitive next year and try to achieve under 1hr 30mins which my friend did.

For the obstacle I got no issue just that the waiting time is long. By the way, jumping thru the obstacle is damn dumb, the ladies take one step and the guys direct jump, I admit I'm lousy, thats a real far jump without any momentum.... Worst than jumping SBJ during IPPT

I think we are in the same boat. I think the floating platform steps really sap our energy as it was the first or 2nd obstacle. I walked all the way up and down fort canning. And towards the end, having cramps and to make it worse have to soak into the icy milo container. Actually quite ashamed that a lot of ladies were ahead of me...

I think it's the 2nd which is the floating platform, that's a real killer, manage to recover from that fast though. I think I need to train up next year prior to doing it, what u mention is true, so ashamed that a lot of ladies are ahead of me -_-

I think if we can complete the whole course its already an achievement. Doesn't really matter how long we all take.

Fellow participant here too by the way. Competed in last year's edition and this year's too. Only obstacle I didn't like was the one jumping and balancing through a series of obstacles. Wasted approx 15mins in the queue. But the event overall was a whole lot of fun! Definitely my favourite and a must join event of the year! [thumbsup]

I think if we can complete the whole course its already an achievement. Doesn't really matter how long we all take.

Fellow participant here too by the way. Competed in last year's edition and this year's too. Only obstacle I didn't like was the one jumping and balancing through a series of obstacles. Wasted approx 15mins in the queue. But the event overall was a whole lot of fun! Definitely my favourite and a must join event of the year! [thumbsup]

Maybe I'm short (172) did you manage to jump 1 shot onto the tyre or block (can't remember) or you took a step? I think a lot missed it and fall with jump 1 shot.

The best part of this race is I actually bump into 2 girls butt to nut, first is the monkey bar, the lady don't dare to get down of the bar and I couldn't stop in time and bang into her. The other is the jump which the girl wanna jump to next obstacle but stop again....

You lucky bugger haha!!

Yeah I managed to jump onto the block in one try. The key is to map out a route to take through the obstacles. Most simply follow the one before them. As I was stuck in the queue for quite a bit I managed to plan a route through the obstacles that avoids all tyres. I felt tyres should be avoided as I saw a lot losing their balance or finding it difficult to balance on the tyre and then jump to the next obstacle. I am about the same height as you by the way. I'm 1.74m.

But there's one obstacle I liked though. The mud pit. This year was icy cold and somehow, after you go through it, the last few hundred metres I could sprint haha! Its like the ice numbed my legs and I could actually sprint to the finish without feeling anything LOL

You lucky bugger haha!!

Yeah I managed to jump onto the block in one try. The key is to map out a route to take through the obstacles. Most simply follow the one before them. As I was stuck in the queue for quite a bit I managed to plan a route through the obstacles that avoids all tyres. I felt tyres should be avoided as I saw a lot losing their balance or finding it difficult to balance on the tyre and then jump to the next obstacle. I am about the same height as you by the way. I'm 1.74m.

But there's one obstacle I liked though. The mud pit. This year was icy cold and somehow, after you go through it, the last few hundred metres I could sprint haha! Its like the ice numbed my legs and I could actually sprint to the finish without feeling anything LOL

You special breed, I hate that the most, so dirty.... but was lucky that I didn't kena my shorts, I tip toe over it. Did you drive there?

Yeah I did LOL. Parked at the Concourse. But I had some newspapers and some plastic bags to contain my dirty shoes and socks. And while having a beer after the run the mud dried on my legs so not too bad lah.

Only bad thing is I forgot I had the Nike sensor in my shoes and after going through the mud pit I think it died, my ipod can't connect to it [sweatdrop]

Yeah I did LOL. Parked at the Concourse. But I had some newspapers and some plastic bags to contain my dirty shoes and socks. And while having a beer after the run the mud dried on my legs so not too bad lah.

Only bad thing is I forgot I had the Nike sensor in my shoes and after going through the mud pit I think it died, my ipod can't connect to it [sweatdrop]

You best, I ride there since I know it's gonna be dirty.

Get a GPS watch, will solve your problem =)

Hey forumers, one more question, what time does this event urbanlthon starts? ABle to get there via public transport?

I now use the GPS in my iphone so works just as well. Using the MapMyRide app. Quite cool. I prefer to use iphone or ipod cos I listen to music while I run. So you participating again next year?

Hey forumers, one more question, what time does this event urbanlthon starts? ABle to get there via public transport?

Event usually starts at 7am. You can get there via public transport no problem cause the start finish line is right outside Nicoll Highway CCL MRT. Alternatively you can always park at Concourse but the lots there are limited and the carpark will be full 30mins before the event starts.

Just take a cab, jio more friends and can split the cab fare. Not sure they got provide paid chartered bus or not. Starts at 7 IIRC, but due to all the wave, you can reach late but the human jam at he obstacle will be bad...

Anyway it's another 10 mths from now, you super excited already [laugh]

Event usually starts at 7am. You can get there via public transport no problem cause the start finish line is right outside Nicoll Highway CCL MRT. Alternatively you can always park at Concourse but the lots there are limited and the carpark will be full 30mins before the event starts.

Can park at the road side mah, it's free leh, have to reach super early though, but I sure won't drive... too dirty...

I now use the GPS in my iphone so works just as well. Using the MapMyRide app. Quite cool. I prefer to use iphone or ipod cos I listen to music while I run. So you participating again next year?

I think I will even though I say out loud to all my friends that will be the last, but next year I'm gonna be competitive, I wanna beat my friend under 1hr 30m..... Shouldn't be a problem since I will be taking up events all the way till last day of 2013. MR25!!!

Hey Deckbuild that is my resolutions to try new things, just like this year I joinin sundown marathon, always wanted to join urbanthalon but too scared...BTW also must find out information and paln ahead mah...right

Good [thumbsup]

I tell you, all you have to do is to train on your sprinting at 1km distance, then go to any of the fitness corner around your neighbourhood to do monkey bar, chin up, parallel bar, sit up, if got ropes, just climb the ropes.

Where you stay? I know the park near jurong point have obstacle very similar to the one at Urbanthalon but I usually train those I mention above.

Good [thumbsup]

I tell you, all you have to do is to train on your sprinting at 1km distance, then go to any of the fitness corner around your neighbourhood to do monkey bar, chin up, parallel bar, sit up, if got ropes, just climb the ropes.

Where you stay? I know the park near jurong point have obstacle very similar to the one at Urbanthalon but I usually train those I mention above.

Jurong Point? I stay east.....Have any reccomendations in east, anyone as to what Deckbuild reccomend?

@Deckbuild But the park near Jurong Point is located exactly at where?