Spoilers

Lomaikai

Siow liao!

Just collected my car today after installing and spray painting the rear boot spoiler & the front grille. Look damn chio! BUT! BUT BUT.... due to the weight of the boot spoiler, my back hatch which was originally quite heavy already is now much much heavier and worse still, the 2 levers holding on to the hatch in its open position when I open the hatch to take things are now no longer able to sustain the weight of the hatch and the spoiler! Now, I have to hold on to the hatch while taking things (and its not light!)

Its nice but no longer user friendly. I didnt thought this will happen to a back hatch when a boot spoiler is installed!

Yo Fabiaman! I got this problem as well and I went to SM Motors (Volvo agent) to get a pair of heavy duty boot struts to support the extra weight of the spoiler.

If the car comes with a spoiler then the heavy duty struts are installed from factory as well. Check with JTA for a pair of stronger struts, most Euro brands have provisions for extra weight.

U'd be surprised euro cars have really good boots with gas struts to support the weight of the boot. Not like Jap cars that has boots that either go up or drop down, cannot hold in middle position, I kena bang head on my boot many times liao. My friend's BMW boot damn solid! Will remain in any position U put it [;)]

where u guys got ur spoiler sprayed ? and how much (wanna know the est cost) ?

I got a spoiler and need to do some modification to get it fit to my car. Any workshop to recommend ?

Walau,

I did up my spoiler at Soek Seng at Blk 20 Sin Ming Ind Park.

They screwed up a bit for my job and I will send it back for touch up this Saturday. What happened is that they rushed through the job for me and fitted the spolier on to the car whilst the spoiler is NOT entirely dry yet. Hence, you see a few fingerprint marks on my spoiler now.

The grille was fitted also a bit out of alignment. BUT the owner told me they will rectify on a later date which we agree on this Saturday that they make sure the grille & the spoilers are chio chio no error...

Hence, I am still okay abt telling friends abt them since the owner is very sincere and does not BS customers. If you are there, just look for aq Mr Poon and tell him Alan, Skoda owner recommended you.

As for price, just see this as a rough guideline.

Spray a panel - spoiler size panel , including grilles etc = $60-$80 per panel

Installation of spoiler or any kit = $50-$60 per panel.

Hence, if you have an after market spoiler unfixed and unpainted, roughly the cost of doing it up is about $70 (spray) + $60 (mounting).

A lot of spray painters DO NOT know how to mount the body kits or spoilers. Even if they claim to know and will mount and paint for you, I suspect they need to ask a 3rd party (ie. sub it out) do the mounting. This is a bit of a hasty generalization but this is what I observe. So if they take your car and do everything for you, a good chance is that they will spray paint the items first and then send it somewhere else to mount. Since this process take a full day (morning to before they close), unless you sit there monitoring the progress, there is no way of you knowing it.

I chose Soek Seng partly becoz they are the installer cum spray painter themselves. Better to keep the job under one roof so that if anything you want to complain, they can do it inhouse for rectification rather than getting their sub-contractor to rectify it (too many channels that way).

Hope this helps.

Fabiaman,

Thanks, do u mean spray spoiler + grille = 60-80 or spray spoiler = 60-80, spray grille = 60-80 ?

Also wonder if they do modification of bodykit ? Bcos i need some modification on the spoiler (spoiler not design for my car but i like it more than my car original spoiler).

Edited by WaLau

WaLau, if you are looking to mod the bodykit, i guess you need to try those bodykit shops like Z3 or Z4. One of the 2 (I am always confused between the 2) is now at Eunos Ave 7.

They are the only ones that can help you re-do the body kit since this spoliers etc are fibre materials and not any workshop can help you with the mod. Alternatively, go to JB Cosplus or any other bodykit shop to get an idea of what can be done and how much it will cost you.

Hence, on such instances, spray painting and re-mod the body kit has to be done separately.

JB does custom spoilers much cheaper but do get them sprayed and installed in Singapore so U don't have to leave Ur car in JB.

Costplus has many spoilers but there's another shop before and opposite of costplus that is suppose to be the main supplier of raw bodykits in JB.

Usually they take a existing part and modify it by chopping and pasting to suit your car shape, then they'll smoothen it out and it's ready to be painted. Most are fibreglass which can be cut and shaped easily.

Cheers!

Edited by turbobrick

WaLau, if you are looking to mod the bodykit, i guess you need to try those bodykit shops like Z3 or Z4. One of the 2 (I am always confused between the 2) is now at Eunos Ave 7.

They are the only ones that can help you re-do the body kit since this spoliers etc are fibre materials and not any workshop can help you with the mod. Alternatively, go to JB Cosplus or any other bodykit shop to get an idea of what can be done and how much it will cost you.

Hence, on such instances, spray painting and re-mod the body kit has to be done separately.

yo bro, where is this JB cosplus and Z3 exact location.do you have the latter contact number ?

thanks. [thumbsup]

Must see your car.. How much you spent and where did you do it ? In sillypore or Msia. ?

[thumbsup]