Rev_zone

Best Performance Coilover ???  

33 members have voted

1. 1.

• Tein
    • Ohlins
    • HotBits
    • D2

Currently I'm searching around for a good set of coilover within my budget $1400 but I do not know which are the more popular brand in terms of performance. So no choice had to start up a poll and receive the comments from the audience. Best idea coilover is those with height/damping adjustable shock so I can adjust the stiffness anytime I like and feel comfortable with.

Above is the possible brand that carry model for my Colt'03 and some of the prices that I had checked.

Tein -$1360 / $1380

Hotbits - $980

D2 - $1300 / $1600

Ohlins - Not sure .. .. $

if you are comparing these 4 brands suspension makers there other many other brands too...2 brands will definitely stand out..

1) Ohlins and Tein.

Ohlins is one of the best makers of coilovers in the world.They are famous in motorbikes suspension and racing applications in cars.

The price range is in about $2.5-$3K, They are famous for having external canister for better control of the damping force and being compact in the shock absorber.

Tein being a sole producer of only suspension is in recent years, the most affordable and economical coilovers that comes out from Japan.It products will equal the best known brands from Japan, ie: HKS, Apexi, Tanabe etc It has various range of suspension from the simple lowering spring and performance shock absorber type-non adjustable ($980-$1200) to their top of the range coilovers (fully adjustable height and damping) ($2.4-$3K)

The above brands pride itself with quality and reliability.

as for the other 2 you mentioned.

hotbits - it is made in Malaysia and quality is only reasonable, although the price is very competitive. Probably you can get a set from $1000 - $1600SGD

as for D2, I believe it is taiwan made. From the color and design, it is very closely resemble the HKS coilovers. I believe it is a copy of that. Not too sure the price.

If you are serious of suspension tuning, of course i advice you to get the first 2 brands. as for the other 2, it is probably usable but dont expect much from quality and reliability.

Edited by Wrxblue

Bro, thanks for your details explanation and advice. In fact the 2 brand which I looking into is Tein & Ohlins but I guess most likely I will go for Tein.

Looks like only got one model Tein type wagon for my colt .. .. wanted to get super wagon but not avail for mine ! [:/]

So which are the place you will recommend me if I going for Tein ?

Edited by Ckh_colt

Thanks bro. Actually I had called up both place last Sat but they seems to be unsure of the price. Somemore one of the shop can ask me to enquire from my frd who changed from them instead of telling me themselves when I ask them. [furious] Just find that it's not the way to do business .. .. ..

oh paiseh, me abit blur liao.....too many jazz here clouded me liao....still for colt i will have the same answer, in fact even higher chance of bilstein not having it

Haha .. .. no prob, if jazz don't have also will not come to colt's turn also.

I'm more or less settle on Tein liao unless got a 2nd hand Ohlins offer to me then might re-consider everything.

In fact Tein is not that hard compare to my current RSR spring. Just looking for those better than my stock and allows me for stable cornering will do. [sunny]

Bilstein is not slow lah...just that their main market is on OE shocks and for the aftermarket the European tends to think that everyone will change their shocks only after the 3rd or 4th year hence they dont hurry in producing the aftermarket shocks for the end-users.... [nod]

so they slow lor......they never understand I & U will change after 2 months???? laugh.giflaugh.gif

Edited by S2P2