Icer Neutral Newbie September 23, 2004 Share September 23, 2004 Hi all, Thinking of getting an Aveo but not sure whether its good or not. Have browse through most of the forum and the idea I get is high fuel consumption. Is this true? I like the design and make. Prefer the 1.5 Auto with sun roof if possible and blue colour will be good. Anyone selling? Might consider getting a ard 1 year old Aveo if the price is good. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tien Neutral Newbie September 23, 2004 Share September 23, 2004 i am getting 13-14km/l on my 1.4 auto, good or bad FC? manual should be able to do more if you drive "carefully" heard the agent will soon stop selling the 1.5 model cos it's an old model. sunroof not practical in sg plus you would have to pay higher insurance for it (so i heard). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arah Neutral Newbie September 23, 2004 Share September 23, 2004 You should be looking for a debadge Deawoo Kalos. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icer Neutral Newbie September 23, 2004 Author Share September 23, 2004 Why are you saying that? I saw this comment about Daewoo Kalos somewhere also but dun understand what is the connection. Can someone explain? Thanks :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tien Neutral Newbie September 23, 2004 Share September 23, 2004 long long time ago in a not so faraway land call korea, there is a not very big but neither small car manufacturer named daewoo. daewoo used to manufacture quite a few cars and one of them is kalos. then one day daewoo's financials gone upside down and he has no choice but to go for bankruptcy. one ang mo, big and macho, by the name of general motors saw some value in daewoo and decided to buy it over. after the bought over, GM owns whatever models daewoo used to produce. GM then decided that daewoo may not sounds as good in Asia given that everyone knows of daewoo's financial troubles back then. GM then took out the daewoo logo on kalos and slap on a chevrolet logo. it even changed the name of the car from kalos to aveo, throw in a newer engine, and get some italian fellow to do some minor comestic surgery on the car. hence the birth of our Chevrolet Aveo. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeoman Neutral Newbie September 23, 2004 Share September 23, 2004 bro, i damm like your explanation leh......... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tien Neutral Newbie September 23, 2004 Share September 23, 2004 too lo-so rite? sigh, after lunch, still dont feel like working yet that's why can spent time typing rubbish... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icer Neutral Newbie September 23, 2004 Author Share September 23, 2004 Thank you so much. You so funny. Sound like Moses Lim with the "Long before your time..." No wonder I heard people said its a korean car but US brand. So is Aveo good and worth buying? Fuel consumption better or worse than Getz? Any problems after a few years kind? I really like the look of it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heng_heng Neutral Newbie September 23, 2004 Share September 23, 2004 long long time ago in a not so faraway land call korea, there is a not very big but neither small car manufacturer named daewoo. daewoo used to manufacture quite a few cars and one of them is kalos. then one day daewoo's financials gone upside down and he has no choice but to go for bankruptcy. one ang mo, big and macho, by the name of general motors saw some value in daewoo and decided to buy it over. after the bought over, GM owns whatever models daewoo used to produce. GM then decided that daewoo may not sounds as good in Asia given that everyone knows of daewoo's financial troubles back then. GM then took out the daewoo logo on kalos and slap on a chevrolet logo. it even changed the name of the car from kalos to aveo, throw in a newer engine, and get some italian fellow to do some minor comestic surgery on the car. hence the birth of our Chevrolet Aveo. ________________________________________________________________________________ __________________ Solid explanation. Short and sharp, right to the point. Around of applause to TIEN. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tien Neutral Newbie September 23, 2004 Share September 23, 2004 daewoo's reputation in europe not too bad. quite a problem free car. now under GM, i think after sale support should be better lah. after all GM has a name to protect. so far i think FC at least comparable to the 1.3 getz lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeoman Neutral Newbie September 23, 2004 Share September 23, 2004 mi too... felt like zzzz also... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heng_heng Neutral Newbie September 23, 2004 Share September 23, 2004 Wah, you all jin jia ho leh, 3:30 liao and still say just after lunch. Your lunch from 12:30 to 3 izit? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeoman Neutral Newbie September 23, 2004 Share September 23, 2004 my lunch can be from 12 to 6 but sometimes 12-1215 depends lor... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icer Neutral Newbie September 23, 2004 Author Share September 23, 2004 Sounds like a big boss. Anyone have the link to any other link or chevy Aveo forum do let me know ok? Thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeoman Neutral Newbie September 23, 2004 Share September 23, 2004 no lah, no lah... my work depends one lah...bz wil be very bz, but free will be very free lor.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tien Neutral Newbie September 23, 2004 Share September 23, 2004 sama sama, but me no big boss. only wait for things to happen then will get busy lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icer Neutral Newbie September 23, 2004 Author Share September 23, 2004 Very sianz now. Thinking of changing cars and dunno which one to decide. Jazz, Fit, Mazda 2, i.s.t too expensive. Getz and Aveo price is good but not sure if the engine is good or not. The Colt seems to be a good car in between all these, not too ex and not too bad. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tien Neutral Newbie September 23, 2004 Share September 23, 2004 if you dont mind the few $k more, colt is a better choice. nice style and better engine. made in japan so resale value wise surely better than getz or aveo. want super value buy, then aveo or getz lor. of course, being korean cars, resale value not that fantastic lah. at the end, sure must give n take. only how much money you wanna part with ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...