Don't run till empty!

Turbobrick

Hmmmm...seems like very good & valid reasons to go JB pump petrol man !![;)][;)][;)]

Didn't know about the pump getting hot thingy but my mechanic has always advise me not to drive until empty....always pump while 1/2 tank. No harm done & while begin able to maintain the pressure & hence better fuel economy.

It is true....if I drive till empty then pump petrol, I tend to "lose" a few kms.....but if half tank....the mileage seems better......[;)] Or is it just me ???[crazy][crazy][crazy]

A definitely minus for running till dry is indeed the risk of having fuel pump failure due to running hot as fuel is the cooling medium. Similar to the coolant water pump where the coolant/water is the cooling medium for the pump as well. [:)]

My car gets shitty economy unless crusing on highway consistently so cannot verify the half tank/empty tank symptom. I usually run till 1/3-1/4 before filling. [;)]

Tks. I am too lazy to pump everytime it hits half tank, too troublesome leh. But after hearing what you guys say here...scary man. [:(]

I used to always run near empty to measure my fuel consumption.

I guess I'll have to kick this bad habit from now on!

If u really want to run low on fuel b4 fill-up. U can fill up at 1/4 tanks or the minute the low level light comes on. When the low light comes on, for me, I will pump on the next available pump I come across. Always got at least more than 5 litres of fuel in the tanks as the bare minimum.

Yeah, usually the low fuel warning lamp comes on with about 5-10litres remaining, check your owner's manual to be sure. My brick's fuel warning comes on at 8 litres, weird [crazy]

That is bcos your brick sucks petrol from those bubble tea straw !!! 8L may not be enuff to get you to the next petrol station....either that or the swedes are getting more and more kiasu liao !! [laugh]

I think my brick drinks with TWO of those bubble tea straws.....as long not sucking up pearls into the fuel lines ok lah [;)]

When we go for Bubble Tea supper har? [:p]

Suck pearl is okay....dun suck up those broquet pellets can liao !! Bwahahahahahahaha

Supper....did someone say supper ??? Onzzzz....give me a call to arrange lor....not a problem....but maybe next week better then can jio Skodaman out also...he busy this week.

The problem is my car has not low fule indicator!!! Yes, none!! My tanks is supposed to be 45l but I have travelled on "empty" for > 50km before and no light! When I finally pumped, it's 40l.

[:|]

If u really want to run low on fuel b4 fill-up. U can fill up at 1/4 tanks or the minute the low level light comes on. When the low light comes on, for me, I will pump on the next available pump I come across. Always got at least more than 5 litres of fuel in the tanks as the bare minimum.

So U mean that other than the "E" mark on the fuel gauge, there's no little LED light to indicated low fuel? Better not risk running so low, no good for fuel pump.

This might sounds a bit silly, but I've seen it for myself. Me and my friend pumped fuel at the station near malaysia custom. When he filled it to the brim, and I really Mean to the brim, he applied his hands on the rooftop and started to bounce the car up and down. Then the fuel level seems to went down, and he continued this process until he squeezed in an additional dollar. I was incredulous(it looked really stupid, like some cheapskate). He said this was to allow the bubbles to float up so he could sqeeze in more. Can anyone attest to this? Or am I being swakoo?

Yep another flw of humble stead....so after reading this thread, I have always made it a habit to pump when it's 1/4 to empty.

[:)]

So U mean that other than the "E" mark on the fuel gauge, there's no little LED light to indicated low fuel? Better not risk running so low, no good for fuel pump.

LOL! That's really farnee! Cos Msian petrol cheap so must squeeze more is it? But wouldn't that maybe spoil the sensors? You migth waste more money reparing in the end...

This might sounds a bit silly, but I've seen it for myself. Me and my friend pumped fuel at the station near malaysia custom. When he filled it to the brim, and I really Mean to the brim, he applied his hands on the rooftop and started to bounce the car up and down. Then the fuel level seems to went down, and he continued this process until he squeezed in an additional dollar. I was incredulous(it looked really stupid, like some cheapskate). He said this was to allow the bubbles to float up so he could sqeeze in more. Can anyone attest to this? Or am I being swakoo?

This method is only apply on Diesel, not for petrol fuel. And also for the old model Diesel car like taxi, since the fuel tank got no small air pipe and always chok back the diesel. [:p]