Guyver 1st Gear November 20, 2002 Share November 20, 2002 Andrew, guess it depends how much is the cost of that oil filter. If its cheap like $10 each, I'd rather change it often like every 10k. If its exp like $30, I'd be more inclined to believe them.... also bo pian because being expensive, you can't change the filter as often as you like (unless you have fat wallets) But frankly... why would they spend more $$ to research on something which let u save $$ and in the end they can't recover the cost?? Easy equation right?? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pauly75ts Neutral Newbie November 20, 2002 Share November 20, 2002 "research on something which let u save $$ and in the end they can't recover the cost??" Hi! there, Guyver, Now then you know the suckers who buys the other brands of lub in SG. Over here, we don't use millions of litres to change oil. Rgds Paul Yong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alfpoon Clutched November 20, 2002 Share November 20, 2002 Are you still planning to change car? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unknown_G7 Neutral Newbie November 21, 2002 Share November 21, 2002 Is it recommend to change oil filter for every 5k servicing cos mine are using mineral!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie November 21, 2002 Share November 21, 2002 Yes! Even when I was using Syn I changed the oil filter every 5k as well, cheap insurance lah..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unknown_G7 Neutral Newbie November 21, 2002 Share November 21, 2002 (edited) Any tools needed to DIY the oil filter?? Any brand of oil filter will do right?? Edited November 21, 2002 by Unknown Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie November 21, 2002 Share November 21, 2002 I do my own oil change so whenever I screw in the oil filter I only handtight (yes that's enough) so I didn't use a filter wrench. But if I'd know better mechs like to tighten the oil filter with a wrench so U may need one to loosen it or if your oil filter is hard to reach. Another way is to jam a screw driver into the side of the oil filter and use it as a leverage to remove the filter, will be messy and if U still can't get the filter out then your car may be stranded..... I suggest getting MANN filters or OEM filters (what car U drive?) Here's a pic of a oil filter wrench Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chase Neutral Newbie November 21, 2002 Share November 21, 2002 Hi Gavin! Understand that you change oil at every 5000km interval to keep the engine in tip top condition. Since I'm using Amsoil now, do you think it's wasteful to change at such a short interval too? I've just passed the 5000km mark. Signed up for an advance driving course (to the track, hooray!) so I dunno whether to change the oil BEFORE or AFTER the course. Can you give me some advice please? Amsoil really rocks! Still giving me good mileage and colour looks pretty clear still! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie November 21, 2002 Share November 21, 2002 I suggest U change the filter and push the oil to at least 10k, don't waste $$ lah. AMSOIL is excellent and even I pushed AMSOIL to 10k on my brick and when draining it out was quite sa-yang as the oil still looks viscos and in good condition with yellow tint compared to other Syns I've used. I have people telling me that the oil must look black to show that it works, but my reasoning is AMSOIL have excellent lub and cleaning properties and the filter must work well too to catch all the crap that the oil carries out. I used a OEM Volvo filter btw Cheers, Gav Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chase Neutral Newbie November 21, 2002 Share November 21, 2002 ok bro, shall take your advice and save some moolah! The oil really looks and feels good to change so early. I'm just afraid that my 5000km oil would be bad for the engine under track conditions. I'm using OEM filters too! Cheap and good! Since even Type Rs also use the same filter, I don't see the point in using others... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie November 21, 2002 Share November 21, 2002 AMSOIL will hold up and tahan track conditions, don't worry I suggest U get your filter changed before heading to the track and change again after the track since there may be plenty of carbon and sludge that may be purged from your engine Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unknown_G7 Neutral Newbie November 22, 2002 Share November 22, 2002 But won't the excess oil drip out from the oil filter if it's taken out?? I'm driving a corolla Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie November 22, 2002 Share November 22, 2002 Some oil wil drip out, mostly from the oil filter. If Ur corolla is the G7 then the oil filter is mounted horizontally and under the exhaust manifold. I suggest get rags ready and withdraw the filter and point the opening up as soon as possible after unscrewing it. Prepare about 0.5L of engine oil to top up. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear November 22, 2002 Share November 22, 2002 Think for you.... should change more frequently.... as u know why lah.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chase Neutral Newbie November 22, 2002 Share November 22, 2002 Thanks bro! Didn't know that the filter is so important. Sent the car to the mechanic today to change oil. He suggested using thicker oil since I'm going to track and changing the filter. Makes sense, so I used my last bottle of the Mobil 1 bought from MCF! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chase Neutral Newbie November 22, 2002 Share November 22, 2002 Why is it so that I should change more frequently? How frequently do you suggest bro? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie November 22, 2002 Share November 22, 2002 Since U're changing to Mobil 1 that'll last you at least 5000km more, enjoy your track day! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chase Neutral Newbie November 22, 2002 Share November 22, 2002 Thanks bro! I just hope my car won't crack up! Looking forward to learning new skills from Brian Whillock himself! Yeah, I should have bought more the last time! But Amsoil seems to give me better mileage. Maybe cos it's thinner? DO you think there's any problem if I alternate between 10w-40 (Amsoil) and 10w-50(Mobil 1) oils? I guess I shouldn't do it too often eh? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...