Dirty Throttle Body

Fluffy

does this Dirty Throttle Body problem only occur frequently for VW based cars? i've had mine cleaned more than 5X already.

I suspect that it may be related to the oil from the K&N replacement filter that i use..........

anybody needed throttle body cleaning and was still using the OEM paper filter?

Edited by Fluffy

Hi matt,

Last time I cleaned mine was around 2 years ago. Have not had any problems with it as of yet. I use a K&N also.

Been driving and maintaining mine, myself, for the 38 months now, have yet to do that. Used to use K&N filters, in my old cars, it seems a common problem not just for VW ones only.

Ivan

i maintain the K&N myself too, got the kit, washed it every 6mths or so because of the dusty work areas the car travels.

anybody can recommend any aerosol can of Throttle Body cleaner?

got it cleaned 3 mths ago and now, after 10K km, needed cleaning again, wonder if this is a common problem.........

anyways, i'm back to good ole OEM paper for now........will monitor lah, for the next year and see.......

Edited by Fluffy

Hi Fluffy,

Mine also need to clean the throttle body every 9mths after I started using the K&N filter. The throttle body gets choked and your accelearation will be affected. You can feel the lose of power and the stiffness of the accelearator.

How to tell whether the throttle body is dirty, what are the symptoms?

Will the MAF sensor be affected, will it require cleaning?

Used to have a can of carb-cleaner for my COE toyota, just sprayed excessively into the carb and floored the accelerator afew times, the toyota engine continue to run.....

Cars are seriously alot more sensitive nowadays.....

hiya [wave]

only clean the K&N myself, the throttle body haven't done it before, but going to do learn to do so, so less reliant on workshop and also more uptime for car! [nod]

symptoms?

at idle, rpm below normal, car vibrates alot

vehicle stalls at low rpm, eg. reversing

car stalls when starting engine

most obvious tell tale sign --> cruise control stops functioning

[smallcry]

Duckie, got so serious meh?? [gossip]

Usually the symtoms are:

- unstable rpm when idle

- a bit sluggish when move off

- FC increases a bit

to be frank, that's the trade-off for using high-flow cotton air filter...

i do not recommend to wash and re-oil the K&N filter. I used to clean it and re-oil and end up "cooked" my MAF sensor [mad] . So now, still use K&N but will replace them at 60K interval....which is goof enough liao....

my dirty TB gave me unstable rpm, vibration when stationary, stalling when reverse and sluggish all around even when cruising.....and cruise control stops functioning.

think it also has to do with the K&N oil mist that gets accumulated in the TB .......... or the particles that are smaller bring along with it some oil particles too and they get trapped at the TB...... just a theory......

eh? i thot K&N is washable to last 1 million miles? they have the filtercharger kit to wash it.......... you replace every 60K? waaahh......ex man! [shocked]

My MAF also konked out by the K&N ...that thing just drips oil onto your maf sensor and in the end TB and Maf all koyak ....this things dont work ..try at your own risk ...by the time it happens ---too late gotta change MAF- a couple of hundres bucks!

What's worse ...my mechanic told me ..those youngsters install K&N and Feel like their car got power ,,,, and anyhow REV REV untill all the MAF got coated with a thick coat of oil ..he has to clean on average 18 cars a month with busted MAF due to Oil filters ...

Think you probably over oilled it. Have been using it for close to 3 years already no problem at all. Just coat it till the filter turns red.