• Outside Workshop
    • DIY

so far so good leh.....no comprain.

mabbe bcoz milege still low.

wear & tear havent come in yet....

keep finger crossed.

so much on 'ILTO'.....let me go start a new chapter, entitled 'SFSG'(So Far So Good)

mabbe after another 10k milege, my 'SFSG' becomes "ILTO"..... [:p][:p]

Hi there. I am oso hitting my 40K svc-ing pretty soon. 40K if u do in SA wuld b v.ex. I haf calculated that if I do outide, its abt half the price compared to SA. If I'm nt wrong, 40K svc-ing @ SA is abt $400 rite?

Cheers [flowerface]

ard 450 at SA. better to go out do. should be ard half price..

1. if i regularly service the car, then it doesnt matter where i do it.... so long i do it and that should keep the car well maintained.

2. if the car is faulty, no matter where you service your car, the car will still breakdown. and when you send the car back... they will say "is like that one" whether or not you service at their workshop.

3. frankly... i think everything that comes with a warranty these days are designed to last at least for as long as the warranty lasts. after warranty, the thing will breakdown for sure. eg. walkman, tv, fridge, aircon... and yes, car! so chances are i have no use for the warranty during the warranty period! so it doesnt matter if warranty is void or not.

4. if i service my car according to that stated in the manual, using specs as indicated, as far as possible original GM spare parts from song yi, i dont see how they can fault me for doing the servicing myself. unless they can prove that SA mechanic can screw the bolt better than outside mechanic, i dont think they have a case to void the warranty.

5. nature of fault. if the fault is inherent, there is no way SA can get themselves off the warranty just becos the car isnt serviced there. is like, casio wont void your watch's warranty just becos you are using a sony battery that you put in yourself... unless your use a wrong volt battery than that's a different case.

6. for all other faults that do not fall into the group as mentioned above, the cause is usually wear and tear and so not cover under warranty.

so what's the point of keeping warranty? scholar.gif

then again, if you notice, i advocate letting SA do the major servicings... 40K servicing is expensive, but still, i probably will let SA service the car becos 40k is a MAJOR servicing wink.gif

Edited by Tien

perhaps other ppl wanna start the episode 3 laugh.giflaugh.giflipsrsealed.gif

oh! btw, i did the foot lock liao!!! not at SA but at amk auto centre (something like that) bluewind mentioned. $10 only and no problem at all! of course, i did remind the guy (gray his name) to tighten those wires properly lah wink.gif

and yes, also faster service! SA told me needs about 1hr, that guy done in 15mins!

most imptly.... no "is like that one"... unimpressed.gif

Edited by Tien

ya...and it's only tapping a wire right?? the wheels alarm has that function but it was not given unsure.gif yeap....i probably go back SA to service once in a while to keep that warranty for just in case

For my last Nissan, after the free service, I did it outside. When the car broke down with alternator problem, the workshop claimed because the car is not service with the agent, warranty void.

Of course they have to prove how by not servicing with them can cause the alternator to fail Stupid reason given to me is that they check the charging during servicing. If you understand about alternator, this is rubbish. Finally have to agree to 50% just not to waste time and money.

Not sure if other agent would do the same. We don't have CASE to protect us. [sweatdrop]