Subwoofer

Seven11

Have anyone tried installing any subwoofers which can be installed under the car seats to save space? It has an in built amp as well. Autobacs selling for $350.

Not sure if its any value for the money since with a little more, I can get an amp with a seperate sub-unit. But this Clarion is a space saver esp when my boot is loaded with stuffs like my skating gears and golf sticks.

This the one I am refering to:

PSW160

AMPLIFIED SUBWOOFER WITH ENCLOSURE

- Polypropylene Cone

- Dual Voice Coil

- Built-In 100-Watt Amplifier

- Adjustable Electronic Crossover

- Speaker and Line-Level Input

- Adjustable Gain Control

- 100-Watt Maximum Music Power

post-4-1009292387_thumb.jpg

My flend installed sony subwoof under his car front seat, do at swiftmotion in deskar rd. check yellow pages for contact and look for samuel.

This sub as Skodaman sayz, will only serve to give you that bassy "feel"....does not do well as a proper subwoofer as you are only putting 100W(think max power, not RMS) thru it. Think you are better off spending on something that goes into the boot like Kicker Freeair, etc. [:)]

Yo Barakian! Welcome to MCF!

Remember my question about Dynaudio, I checked with fellow Volvo freaks and they said that Volvos are equipped with high end Dynaudio speakers but driven with low power.

Also one of them added crossover models X260, X360 for the front speakers, wat are crossovers for?

U must help me listen to my stock system and recommend my route to ICE modding! I'm looking for crispier sound rather than boom boom boom [:p]

Cheers!

Yo Barakian, good to see you here! [sly]

Do you want to start a new thread on discussions abt IMAGING and STEREO effects of ICE just like where we left off the last time [crazy] - I think it was a year ago we had that discussion, wanna go through some sparring again?

I am rolling up my sleeve now... [:p]

Barakian & Skodaman, tks for your input.

I felt it could be a better bet to get a under-the-seat woofer because of the following reasons.... The woofer is very close to you, hence the effects of the low resonance should be felt rather easily instead of a woofer at the boot which has to overcome a lot of obstacles to reach the driver seat.

Furthermore, I always have the impression that the sub at the back will make the rear seats passengers headache since the miniscule vibration reaches them easily. Having the woofer so tucked away in the boot is a total waste of energy and degrades the actual performance.

I am a goon in car stereo so any pointers why I am wrong here is appreciated. Kam sia in advance.

I already got a great bass tube at the back of my car aka my sports exhaust [:p]

Passenger comfort is really a touche subject, do U ferry friends or family? Friends never mind one, but family will complain on and on and on......[:(]

Ha ha...you wanna bored everyone here again is it !! Please lah....dun need to roll your seelves up....just go cut & paste can liao !!! Answer is still the same as 1 yr ago !![cool][cool]

How time flys......[:)]

Hi Gav....

So those Dynaudio are the good stuffs eh.....just ponk in a good & powerful amp to drive those babies man....do them justices !!

Kopi kopi someday ya....we will listen to the beat of 200bhp !! [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Ha Ghostrider, not trying to bore everyone lah, just thought that it was more than 1 year ago we had that topic discussed, maybe can try to re-visit that discussion again... hee... maybe I repost them here so if you have any to add, feel free to do so.

Yeah, how time flies... I am still the nobody I was last year. Life never improve leh. Except for my new born sorn that was just introduced to this world on Dec 17th.

Well, if the massage chair effect is all that you want then this little 'box' will suit your needs.

Bass is not just the massage effect, but the feel of it as well. Aiyah, dun know how to tell you.

anyway the chase for the Perfect Bass is endless....... as some of the bros here what they have done with a lot of different config but then there is still something they will still bitch about... haha

If its the bass "feel" that you wish to get, then the bass under your seat thingy fits your bill perfectly! Otherwise, if you want proper musical reproduction of bass notes and such, the aforementioned will not work.

A subwoofer works as such: The cone of the subwoofer oscillates at a certain frequency as determined by the music you are playing, and this oscillation causes the air around it to move. The waves caused by the moving of air propagate to your ears and the result is bass sound. When boxing up subwoofers in the boot or when using a bass tube, you are giving the subwoofers an "ideal calculated" volume of air to move. Free-aired subs use the boot as one big "box" and move the air inside the boot.

Giving the subwoofers a fixed amount of air to move, as in the boxed or free-aired application is what determines how well the subwoofer works. As an example, if a subwoofer is placed in open air, it will generally not work as well as a subwoofer placed in an enclosed boot, which in turn will generally not work as well as a boxed sub (with sufficient box size given; reducing the box size to less than that recommended generally will not allow the sub to do its job). The idea is to limit the amount of air that the subwoofer is moving in order to optimise its performance, and is determined by some arithmetic formulae which I am not familiar with.

Next comes power. A subwoofer should only deliver bass frequencies (it is designed to do so due to the relative massiveness of its cone as compared to midrange speakers and tweeters). A larger speaker generally needs a bigger amount of power to drive it optimally, due to the force necessary to oscillate the cone. Bass frequencies lie in the lower range of the audible spectrum and need a larger amount of power to recreate them.

After all the bxxxxxxtting above, [:p], what it boils down to is the fact that bass should not only be felt but more importantly, also heard. It gives body to your music, which would feel rather incomplete with only a barrage of mids and highs but no lows. Proper tuning of the subwoofers in the boot, boxed or otherwise, can yield the kind of bass throw that will have you convinced that YOUR subwoofers are actually installed in the car in front of you (serious, no jokes here)!

How the bass penetrates the seats and comes into the cabin is another long story altogether, but in short, there are 2 ways (maybe more, can't think of anymore now) of mounting subs: (1)to fire thru the rear speaker shelf into the cabin or (2)fire thru the rear seatback into the cabin. Which one would be more suitable for you, your ICE installer will be able to better advise you.

You are right to say that the rear-seat passengers will be complaining about being given a complimentary back massage when they travel in your car, but there's no running away from this as far as subs in the boot are concerned. Up to you to decide whether you wanna "torture" your passengers or not! [:p]

End of the day, it boils down to what you would like to achieve in your ICE. There is no hard and fast rule that says that one thing is right and another wrong. I may like good hard punchy and audible bass but you may prefer the bass to be felt rather than heard. Nothing wrong with that. Hope my posting helps to shed some light on subs in the boot. Cheers! [:)]

Edited by Barakian

Hey man....no body is a nobody okay....if you are a nobody then you dun exsit !!

Well, you are feel free to "put horse over"[:p]

Congrats on your new born.....happy ?? 1st timer ????

Welcome to restless nites & trips to the kitchen making milk man !!! Ha ha ha ha ha[;)][;)]

Hey Gav! The crossovers are filters that remove undesirable frequencies from a certain set of speakers, for eg, you would not wanna be pumping low bass frequencies thru your tweeter as your tweeter is not designed for bass. The crossover comes in to remove these frequencies.

I can help lar, but me not veddy the pro ler...hee!! We can always take a ride to the Ghostly one's place to tok more about ICE...and Zaino car....heh heh heh!! Juz gimme a buzz dude! 96860199. [:)]