Roguehog 1st Gear August 30, 2005 Share August 30, 2005 quick query folks. connected the jump start cables incorrectly yesterday while helping a friend jump start his car. instead of grounding the cable at the target, we grounded it at the source. his car (the target) started successfully. but wondering if there'll be any problems with my ride cos of the connection error. pls advise. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Poortraveller 1st Gear August 30, 2005 Share August 30, 2005 dun understand ... ur bat +ve go to his +ve, -ve go to -ve ... where got ground? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roguehog 1st Gear August 30, 2005 Author Share August 30, 2005 ok, this is what happened. his +ve connects to my +ve but his -Ve connects to my grounding cable! and I'm the source! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Poortraveller 1st Gear August 30, 2005 Share August 30, 2005 ground cable will go to ur -ve on ur bat ... so no problem Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roguehog 1st Gear August 30, 2005 Author Share August 30, 2005 ok thx. but i thought supposed to connect my -ve to his ground cable? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear August 30, 2005 Share August 30, 2005 it still shouldnt matter as long as the neg cables are grounded from your battery. All our neg terminals are grounded to the cars chassis anyway. Take the R33 and R34 skylines (batt is in the boot but with connection points in the engine bay)for example, if you want to jump start to or from them, the positive goes to the positive in both cars, and the negative can either go to the chassis in the other car or the neg batt terminal while the "neg" terminal in the skyline is just a bracket thats bolted to the chassis. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fortress Clutched August 30, 2005 Share August 30, 2005 Hi, said this previously on the below mentioned post. http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/gforum.cgi...battery;#990492 Ivan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fortress Clutched August 30, 2005 Share August 30, 2005 You are right for vehicle jump starting similar size battery. Did this write up a while ago... http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/gforum.cgi...battery;#990492 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Poortraveller 1st Gear August 31, 2005 Share August 31, 2005 bro, the cable size oso play a part in jump start the car rite? heard from my mechanics that usually those small cheapo cable will have problem jump start the car, will be better if use those thick cable. better flow of electron?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fortress Clutched August 31, 2005 Share August 31, 2005 I guess it is a yes and no. Good cables will be made up of numerous smaller cable which will have better current and efficiency flow, hence preventing it from melting easily. Like you rightly said so, it is the make up of the cable. However, the size or diameter is also important as it allows the higher current flow, in most continental cars, which uses 55AH and above (instead of 45AH and above for Japanese). Thus, never get a similar size Japanese car to help jump start. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Poortraveller 1st Gear August 31, 2005 Share August 31, 2005 but i did jump start my company van b4 leh ... both oso 45AH battery Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fortress Clutched August 31, 2005 Share August 31, 2005 Good for you. It is probably the same AH. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged August 31, 2005 Share August 31, 2005 ok thx. but i thought supposed to connect my -ve to his ground cable? doesn't matter la......his ground cable is also his -ve. His -ve to your -ve. Your -ve is also your ground. So doesn't matter whose ground la. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...