Ah_bon Neutral Newbie July 21, 2006 Share July 21, 2006 Hard to comment as i've not seen your car... Vinegar mix can only clear up those not etched in (similar to cleaner like Dawn). So that's your 1st option. If that doesn't work then have to use polish / compound. I read that menzerna IP can be Use by hand. so that's one option. Optimum polish is another option. (less aggressive than IP) i remember seeing 3M polish/Compound at homefix. but not sure if can be use by hand But regardless of which product you choose, you'll probably require multiple applications. Machine polish will still be the way to go for etched in water mark. It'll help breakdown the product better and work it into the paint work. Just be careful not to take out too much of your clear coat. A few passes with a DA using IP is still very very safe. My car got pretty bad water mark. i did a pass using Optimum Hyper Compund and Polish on a 7424. Managed to remove Most of it. Those that can't be remove, i just leave it. don't want to cut off too much of clear coat... especially since Altis paint very soft... I'll leave it till the next time when i'm trying out some other products.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_bon Neutral Newbie July 21, 2006 Share July 21, 2006 Sorry ah.... me no Gen2 bro lah.... Bro Gen2 full time detailer... Me only amateur... still learning from my buddy too... done a few cars only... how can be like him??? I dun even dare to use Rotary yet! I'm still far off from the likes of Gen2 and of course Our Mad Driver detailer! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weixiang_06 Clutched July 21, 2006 Share July 21, 2006 yo.. ask you.... since you are cutting off the clear coat... say you polish twice a year... by 4th year.. no more clear coat liaoz? or worse.. paint becomes super thin liaoz.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weixiang_06 Clutched July 21, 2006 Share July 21, 2006 hahaa.. maddriver like becomes abit lazy lately.. he thinking of asking people to detail his car liaoz... and pay $$ for them think he mentioned own detailing really too much effort... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_bon Neutral Newbie July 21, 2006 Share July 21, 2006 How much major defect removal you need to do? Unless you're telling me everytime you polish, you'll be using compound like SSR 3 or Power Gloss with a wool pad on rotary, then maybe you should be worried... Normal polish will probably have an insignificant effect on car clear coat. Even more so if you do it by hand. If you're doing polish, a light defect removal using a DA, you're still very very safe. If you're really worried, I've seen on a US website, there's a paint thickness gauge reader that can tell you exactly how much paint/clearcoat is left on your car. But that's gonna set you back but abt US$500... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maddriver 4th Gear July 21, 2006 Share July 21, 2006 someone charging me $150 with DA machine Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maddriver 4th Gear July 21, 2006 Share July 21, 2006 Bondie........... paiseh paiseh,been very busy lately... no time for d.i.y also Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weixiang_06 Clutched July 22, 2006 Share July 22, 2006 i use hand polish.. but the compound i using is super ligh polish.. can't really be considered as a polish.... hehe.... not abrasive enough.. Klasse AIO.. I use all by hand one... damn shacked... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weixiang_06 Clutched July 22, 2006 Share July 22, 2006 wor... that is think you can save $150 and might as well do it yourself... or as you mentioned previously, give ah-pek polish a try... hehe $40 luggi cheap siah! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackangel Neutral Newbie July 22, 2006 Share July 22, 2006 (edited) hey bro...i charge you 15 for DA polish. all u neeed is to use eye power and guide me along. good deal? you give me a time and place...i give you my sweat and muscles ;) Edited July 22, 2006 by Blackangel Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackangel Neutral Newbie July 22, 2006 Share July 22, 2006 (edited) Hard to comment as i've not seen your car... Vinegar mix can only clear up those not etched in (similar to cleaner like Dawn). So that's your 1st option. If that doesn't work then have to use polish / compound. I read that menzerna IP can be Use by hand. so that's one option. Optimum polish is another option. (less aggressive than IP) i remember seeing 3M polish/Compound at homefix. but not sure if can be use by hand But regardless of which product you choose, you'll probably require multiple applications. Machine polish will still be the way to go for etched in water mark. It'll help breakdown the product better and work it into the paint work. Just be careful not to take out too much of your clear coat. A few passes with a DA using IP is still very very safe. My car got pretty bad water mark. i did a pass using Optimum Hyper Compund and Polish on a 7424. Managed to remove Most of it. Those that can't be remove, i just leave it. don't want to cut off too much of clear coat... especially since Altis paint very soft... I'll leave it till the next time when i'm trying out some other products.... thanks for your advice. i will be getting a DA today. but may i know which pads do you use for optimum compound and polish? also how many passes did you do and wat speed did you use? read that you just finished your big job on removing your toughseal...good job Edited July 22, 2006 by Blackangel Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_bon Neutral Newbie July 22, 2006 Share July 22, 2006 Ya lah you... Go all over the places lately... wait till you free lah.. we come out la kopi.. i'm also rather busy lately... planned to meet one of the bros here go shenton way La starbucks also no time... sigh... going to work later... I just tried FX-100 today... Slurp! just like what bro Marcostan says... Sh%t!! looks like its gonna rain.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_bon Neutral Newbie July 22, 2006 Share July 22, 2006 You dun use AIO that often.. so not that bad lah... shld take it as exercise... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_bon Neutral Newbie July 22, 2006 Share July 22, 2006 I used a Orange pad (Light to medium cut) with Optimum hyper compound. one pass with speed 5/6 (6000 opm). After OHC, there's hazing. so i use a green pad (light cut)with Optimum Polish to remove the hazing. also speed 5/6. I was a bit impatient, so some portions my pass is too fast. the polish didn't breakdown well to remove the hazing, so i end up having to do another pass. so for OP, 1 - 2 passes the DA i use is PC 7424. For sealant (2180) and wax (pink wax) I use hand. usually I'd use a MF bonnet to remove, but since the 2180 and PW is so easy to remove, i didn't bother using the PC. i just use a MF towel to wipe and buff off Ya, my "big job" really took me and my buddy half a day! At least the effort is worth it! But need to rest for a while... cos i got slipped disc, so can't do this too often... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Valencia Neutral Newbie July 22, 2006 Share July 22, 2006 Bondie........... paiseh paiseh,been very busy lately... no time for d.i.y also bathing time can what, it takes you only a few minute nia , i think ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...