Gabriel06 Clutched January 27, 2006 Share January 27, 2006 well i was travelling along still road up to ECP.. i was going straight when the light turned amber.. so i picked up speed a little.. and there was this black toyota corolla wanting to turn right on the oop lane.. so he turned.. and i swerved from lane 1 to 3 just to avoid his car.. but it was too late.. i hit his front bumper.. sigh its a bad night for me :( it was not his car, but his sister's so perhaps he mis-judged my speed and his acceleration.. yeah.. and his gf was like screaming.. saying she saw the right turn green arrow.. and for this case.. how do i go about claiming insurance?? any bro can help? and how do i prove that i did not beat the red light?? which i did not ofcos... and wat to do if i were to scrap the car if the insurance company claims its my fault and i would have to pay for the repairs but i do not wish to repair the vehicle? thanks and happy CNY to u guys.. drive safe. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoon125 3rd Gear January 27, 2006 Share January 27, 2006 For traffic junction accident like in your case, it's always a 50/50 chance of winning, just write actually what happened in your claim report. Must be detailed, from checking the traffic light to swerving from lane 1 to 3. Let the insurance company do their job, but you have to claim against your own insurance first. Same for him. Dont worry, all will be fine..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yc86 Clutched January 28, 2006 Share January 28, 2006 so long as u passed when your side was still amber.. u hav a high chance of winning. the one who turns must always give way to the one going straight... is he too kan cheong then turn liao, nv check clear... dun let him win!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vit4wd 1st Gear January 28, 2006 Share January 28, 2006 Sorry to hear about your accident. Now it is your words against his. Anyway, AMBEER lights is an indication for you to slow down and prepare to stop, NOT accelerate and speed up to beat the amber light. An expensive lesson to learn. Drive safely. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beavc Clutched January 28, 2006 Share January 28, 2006 depends on Point of Impact mostly 50/50 'cos u can claim what you want about lights but POI will back your point... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gabriel06 Clutched January 28, 2006 Author Share January 28, 2006 (edited) but i am on third party insurance.. so doesnt that means.. i still have to pay for my own damages?? even if i claim against him and win.. Edited January 28, 2006 by Gabriel06 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vit4wd 1st Gear January 28, 2006 Share January 28, 2006 If you claim him and wins, then the othrr party's insurance pays for your damages. But tough case. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Paulcs Neutral Newbie January 28, 2006 Share January 28, 2006 my car got into a accident too last dec but i wasnt the driver. this how it went... it was late at night, and the driver stopped at the cross junction waiting to make a right turn on green arrow. my driver made the turn and wah lah..a taxi came into sight and got hit at its back door. both claimed to be in right of way, the taxi driver was travelling str when it's at green light while my driver turned right at green arrow signal according to my ins coy advice, this's a 50/50 chance of winning the case. most likely i'll lose since my driver made the right turn. the taxi had a passenger who can be the independent witness to prove he was in right of way. anyway back to damage claims..you have to make a OD claim first to get ur car repaired asap unless u r prepared to pay the damages upfront i did that cos the repair cost $4k.. dun hv that much $$$ on hand. after that i got my workshop to claim against the taxi driver thru my ins coy judging from your situation.. er i think you may win the case cos that driver made the turn lor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear January 28, 2006 Share January 28, 2006 sorry to hear abt ur case bro.. from ur description, u were on amber as u travelled along the junction, i believe this chap turned too fast...hence in theory, i believe u r in the rite..tho when it comes to case, need to fight the case hard and maintain ur point. This chap sure will say he turned on green arrow...when in sch, we r taught to see also, not blindly turn on green. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear January 29, 2006 Share January 29, 2006 well i was travelling along still road up to ECP.. i was going straight when the light turned amber.. so i picked up speed a little.. and there was this black toyota corolla wanting to turn right on the oop lane.. so he turned.. and i swerved from lane 1 to 3 just to avoid his car.. but it was too late.. i hit his front bumper.. sigh its a bad night for me :( it was not his car, but his sister's so perhaps he mis-judged my speed and his acceleration.. yeah.. and his gf was like screaming.. saying she saw the right turn green arrow.. and for this case.. how do i go about claiming insurance?? any bro can help? and how do i prove that i did not beat the red light?? which i did not ofcos... and wat to do if i were to scrap the car if the insurance company claims its my fault and i would have to pay for the repairs but i do not wish to repair the vehicle? thanks and happy CNY to u guys.. drive safe. Chances for this kind is usually 50/50. May I know which part of your car hit the other car? and which part of the other car is damaged? I personally kana similar situation before.... but the junction that I went through has a "redlight" camera .... so no pictures taken.... so my case is much stronger. Banged into a car that is trying to make a U-turn... I lane change from Lane 1 to Lane 4... but still banged into the car. After a while... TP called me up for investigation because the other car hit a traffic light. I told them truthfully everything and after awhile.. they send me a letter saying that they have found the other party at fault and will take action against him. I called the workshop... they ask me to fax the letter over.... and after few months later ... I got a discharge letter... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gabriel06 Clutched January 30, 2006 Author Share January 30, 2006 my driver side and his passenger side.. both front.. so for ur case? u pay the workshop first? den get compensated? or how? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chiqinhan 1st Gear February 14, 2006 Share February 14, 2006 well i was travelling along still road up to ECP.. i was going straight when the light turned amber.. so i picked up speed a little.. and there was this black toyota corolla wanting to turn right on the oop lane.. so he turned.. and i swerved from lane 1 to 3 just to avoid his car.. but it was too late.. i hit his front bumper.. sigh its a bad night for me :( it was not his car, but his sister's so perhaps he mis-judged my speed and his acceleration.. yeah.. and his gf was like screaming.. saying she saw the right turn green arrow.. and for this case.. how do i go about claiming insurance?? any bro can help? and how do i prove that i did not beat the red light?? which i did not ofcos... and wat to do if i were to scrap the car if the insurance company claims its my fault and i would have to pay for the repairs but i do not wish to repair the vehicle? thanks and happy CNY to u guys.. drive safe. very easy, jus insist tat when u go straight, the light turns amber when u just pass the stop line, tats y u had to go straight. n then u realise tat the oncomin car made a rite turn too without checkin u stop or not, n u tried to siam him from 1 - 3lane, but still kena hit. n if the other party also insist tat the green arrow is out when he turns rite, he also no proof. any his gf words also cannot be counted as proof as they r related ma. n when the tp investigates, both party also say they are rite, then the oni way to concludes is to go to basic, meanin who has the rite of way, who wins, as simple as tat. therefore u goin straight definitely has the rite of way. the rite turn car has to give way to u though he claim he saw the green arrow. dun tell mi when he see green arrow n there is a pedestrian crossing the rd, he still bang into him claimin he got the rite to go. no wat. so end of the day just insist tat u are rite all the way n tp also cant do anything. cos many yrs ago i also kena one like u, i turn rite n hit the oncoming car. i also said i saw the green arrow though i nv see one, haha..., the other party said he goin straight oni n saw mi n too late to stop. end of the day i kena fined demerit pts, the straight goin car wins. n claim my insurance. so dun need to scare, just like whoever bangs into pple backside needs to pay. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...