ICE MEETUP TONITE, 15 FEB 06

Headshok

Hi guys,

tonite's ICE meetup still on, at the Nasi Padang shop beside Jackson's kopitiam at macPherson road.

starts from 9pm onwards.. everyone is invited!

cheers!!

I may see u there. will like to find out whats the main diff with an audio system with and without a good headunit.

Hopefully there not much of a great diff, or else will have to burn a big hole in my pockets again.

Any bro there can help me tune my Alpine HU & Amp for better sound quality ?

Sound quality has degraded ever since ICE transferred to my new ride. Sounds very hollow and boxy now. A $4000 setup now sounds like a $300 portable player.

HU also misbehaving lately. Error message keeps appearing now and then when playing MP3 CDs.... [:/]

Edited by Darth_mel

i'm in the position to comment on your question since i just took the leap to do the HU. unfortunately i dont have the benefit of a true before-and-after comparison because i did the HU together with the rest of the stuff. but i can imagine what is the deficiency ...

1) equaliser. not sure if your original one has an EQ but it's useful. mainly i find it's to cater to a less-than-perfect set of front speakers. i dun suppose u're spending tonnes of $ to get speakers that are so good u can play them with flat EQ. my EQ is a little jagged, a bit up here, a bit down there, to balance the sound.

2) EQ continued. not just for front speakers, but to blend the fronts into the subwoofer. the basal notes from the front need to merge into the rear without a volume difference. and it doesn't seem as easy as just tuning the relative gains between the front and sub ... cos if u just match the gains, the rest of the frequencies may not be matching to your taste. so again, the EQ. for e.g. my sub transition is set such that my 80hz freq is at -2, and my 50 hz is at -5, and my sub output level is somewhere like -15 or -19. without such fine tuning from the HU, it wont be as easy to tune.

3) fun modes.

i play MP3s. and even if i play cds, the fun modes can help. i have the option of turning on loudness (most HU has this) plus some other pioneer fun modes that come together with 8650 / 9650 series, like BBE, BMX, Compression, all of these help to tune the music quickly to your flavour without the need to redo the EQ. u can't depend on the EQ presets of - Powerful, SuperBass, Natural etc. they dun work. u have 2 custom modes on my EQ and if u run out of choices, u have to use other "one-button" modes to achieve your aim. hence these fun modes. many of our friends are purists and would hate to alter the music with such modes. but i've got no audiophile sound system so if i can make it sound nice with these fun modes, i'll do it.

4) time alignment (TA)

some dun see the need for it. after i got my HU, i cant live without it. turn it off and i find the sound coming from the place where car manufacturers nowadays place the dashboard indicators - the centre of the dashboard. with TA on, i get the sound in front of me and it feels more natural. i'm very glad i took a unit with TA.

that's all i can type for now, i'm at work. will talk to u later.

um... i'm not into ICE...can go there 2 c c look look??? admire all ur works??? my system is stock... piesei...

Edited by Ice34_y2k

So long as you are interested just go! Not interested also go and become interested.

So sad cannot join you all tonite [:(]

Sounds like its going to be an interesting nite! [thumbsup]

oh no kwong wing cant come ah ... so cant borrow ur tuning CD tonight.

anyone got any tuning CD that can play single frequencies one at a time?

headshok: can borrow ur tools to dismantle my sub? donno where the buzzing vibration is coming from ...

Edited by Hyun

bro whether u into ice, girls, music, cars, animals, grasshoppers, headshok's turban, Kwong Wing's underwear etc etc ... jus come ... jus come... welcome ~~~ kekek

HEY [mad]

What's my underwear got to do with anything [mad]

I go India and [kiss] you then you know [rifle]

Have not seen any indians so far, but there were a few muslims selling the equivalent of satay! [thumbsup]

Wah lau, for a while I thought it is "due to circumcision, our meetup will end earlier tonite". [sweatdrop]

If I got circumcision, I die-die also won't end meeting. [laugh]

Edited by Darth_mel

Why from meet up talk until circumcision? Hyun glad to noe that ur system is finally up. I'm still waiting for that day when i can get my amp. Now counting down. Maybe u'll be able to see my amp on the 28 Feb. Hope i get it by then. Before i fly off to india for reservist...keke [rifle]