SP Material

Jemjem

Hi broz

For Sp of wheel arc and thinking of putting sp under my 3m mat, which material would u all recommend since i dun intend to use bitumen as it is too heavy?

1) Rockwool

2) insuflex

3) superlon

Also are they all fire proof?? or fire resistant?

jemjem

not fire proof or fire resistant. all of these r not easily igitable if that's what you wish to know. I dunno what you meant by rockwool since this is mineral wood material which has a fair bit of glassfibre with fire retardent additive to stick them together. the fibres r very brittle and seriously you wun wanna hv skin contact with them. insuflex, superlon, simi flex also can are open cell neoprene. neoprene r rubber with fire retardent additives. it burn but is self extinguishing and does not propagate.

Hiz

Ic. Insuflex, superlon and Aeroflex are self distinguishable too. Jus worried that the material will catch fire with sun heat and engine heat with time when the foam degrades. Still cant make up my mind which to get though. As I am going to DIY, so hope not to redo the process all over again cos of bad insulation, sp, danger or material degration.

Thanks for the info though. :)

Jemjem

not distinguisbale but extinguishable. any organic material will burn. these will burn also but they will not be easy to burn. u need a lot of heat to get the pyrolysis stage. pyrolysis is the stage when solid's is transform towards a liquified stage, and volatiles r emitted. it's the surface volatiles (vapor) that catches fire. the best example is a matchstick. you can see the flame glow over the stick, and not the stick itself burns.

Bro, i have gotten CableHunter and Insuflex. Yes although the Cablehunter is alot more heavier but it gives my door and very good thud sound when i knock on them. I am sure the insuflex cannot do much leh.

Geez, wasted my $$ buy the insuflex at $8 each, now dunno where to put it. May end up using it to cushion the plastic door panels.

After DIYing my first 2 door, felt a sense of satisfaction. Bro jemjem, i am sure u will feel that way after u DIY.

Now gonna see where got sell cheaper Bitumen sheets coz $27 per piece for a cable hunter still abit ex to me.

yoyo,

insuflex is the foam like material like armaflex rite?

u can put over the cable hunter leh..acts to really filter out road noise. down side is that it'll be damm hard to put back ur door panel.. heheh..

Yes. The material is foamy type, like cheapo yoga mat material. My bitumen sheets i paste it at the outer most layer, the door skin. So still got space. Hmm maybe heed your advice stuff the insuflex in but very hard to fix back door panel leh.

But good thing about insuflex, very very light.

hahaha

u noe, if it cannot fit at the door, just put it under the floor carpet, at least it'll get rid of some of the floor noises.. haha

i wish i had this material a few years back. black colour, then i can bring outfield in army.. hahaha..

Hmm Idea. [thumbsup]

Like that for wheel arc i use the bitumen sheets and under the carpet use insuflex. Bro you got strip your car under the driver and passenger seat before? I wonder how effective if i use insuflex only.

[:)]

Any place that have a good selection of these SP materials .

I would rather see them all at one place rather than run all over .

Any shops to recommend .

Rgs

[drivingcar]

Since we are talking about SP material. Anyone knows the whereabout of the SP spray? Last heard it can be found at the DIY store in IMM, but checked and it isn't there anymore.

hi bro

can get at any hardware shop. Ask the assistant. I bought mine but still have no time to do it. Also have not bought insuflex. sigh...

jemjem

Bro, i have gotten CableHunter and Insuflex. Yes although the Cablehunter is alot more heavier but it gives my door and very good thud sound when i knock on them. I am sure the insuflex cannot do much leh.

Geez, wasted my $$ buy the insuflex at $8 each, now dunno where to put it. May end up using it to cushion the plastic door panels.

After DIYing my first 2 door, felt a sense of satisfaction. Bro jemjem, i am sure u will feel that way after u DIY.

Now gonna see where got sell cheaper Bitumen sheets coz $27 per piece for a cable hunter still abit ex to me.

Hi bro

Dun think i will use bitumen sheets as i am driving cerato. :p Will jus find time to buy the insuflex sheets, spray the outsideof the wheel arc with 3m spray and inside i will stick insuflex to the wheel arc with 3m adhesive. Have not touch on SP as I have been busy DIY spray my brake callipers to red. :p Next 2 DIY proj will be DIY SP and Wire Mesh Front grill :)

jemjem

Bro, sun think all much choices for you if you want to go a one place only.

Most shop who have SP material, usually carry one brand or one type.

I think most ICE shop should have.

Bro, which part of sg u staying? Maybe I can meet u up and take a look at the insuflex. i thought of getting but have not. If u got no use, I buy from you then u wont waste yr $ ma. When u got it?

jemjem

actually before applying cable hunter or bitumen sheet, do we need to prepare the surface free of dirt or greese??

3m Spray? pop @ central.. sibeh hou lian name hor.. actually is popular at BRA-s Basah complex. level 5 (not 4) stationary section, take escalator all the way up and walk up the steps to next level. find middle row where all the 3M products r. $10+ per canister.