3 way setup

Muths66

My current setup is front 165 K2P using genesis dual mono to drive the mid.And rear using cdt cl61.I have 1 4 chn performa amp using 2 chn to drive the cdt another other 2 chn driving my focal tweeter.

My sub is using kicker L5 using a lighting audio (1000wx1)monoblock .

So i looking to buy another midrange to play 3 way.What u bro can renconmend me and i have to get another 2 chn amp to drive this midrange right?

! more thing i runing active now.

Sorry i quite newbie.You mean unless i not using my hu to drive my sub?

Or what?

Anyway do u know any good tuner to tune my system?

then u can only run 'semi active' leh(mid range and tweet go thru passive crossover). if not got to change HU.

midrange to rec is the 4" k2p slim.

u mean my setup now is semi active?

I saw the 4" k2 slim too going to find 1 normal 2chn amp to drive it.

Edited by Muths66

>>Sorry i quite newbie.You mean unless i not using my hu to drive my sub?

Or what?

Anyway do u know any good tuner to tune my system?>>

If I am not wrong, your Pioneer 8650 hu can only support 2 way speaker and a Sub control in Active. Or you can choose to go 3 way for Active without your sub. Or if die die want to go 3 way, can play Passive, using Crossover.

now active..

future 3 way front, depends. ur HU just dont have enough output to run 3 way front active. u need 4 pair of outputs to run 3 way front active plus 1 sub.

1 pair for Mid bass

1 pair for mid range

1 pair for tweet

1 pair for sub

8650 only have 3 pair output, mid bass, tweet, sub.

play semi active, dont need extra amp, but quite diff to do time alignment liao.

clear now? [idea]

oic.Thank for ur help.So is there anyway to add in 1 more output?

So 3 output cant add in 1 more amp right?

Have to change the hu or play semi active or just play passive?

Active and passive how is the sound different?

Stepper u got good tuner to tune my sound system?

Edited by Muths66

> then u can only run 'semi active' leh(mid range and tweet go thru passive crossover). if not got to change HU.

since mid and tweet are mounted very close to each other, running this "semi active" is as good as running active. it's just a matter of either using passive xover or getting another xover that has better settings to suit u.

all depends on ones needs, and ones own ability to listen to any diff lor. [sweatdrop]

I running full active 3 way front. vocal confirm improve over 2 way. never try 3 way semi active/ passive before, so cant comment the sound diff.

i not so 'electronically brilliant' to do up own passive crossover yet. HU got this function might as well..... [laugh]

So is there anyway to add in 1 more output?

only know can add aux in for 8650, aux out i dont know.

So 3 output cant add in 1 more amp right?

correct. dont know can add spiltter or not, maybe other guru can help. but add spiltter, controlling cut off freq will be a problem.

Have to change the hu or play semi active or just play passive?

Yup.

Active and passive how is the sound different?

Other guru can answer this. Active more way to tune to get the music to ur own taste, can get centre staging, blah, blah,......

Stepper u got good tuner to tune my sound system?

My tuner is the place people love to hate in this forum. [shocked]

My setup is almost the same with you. K2Power 6.5" midbass, tweet and the 4" mid range(which u are considering) running active with 2 PHD amp with HU as a Clarion D2. Free can audit lor. See you like 2 or 3 way.

ICE is poisonous and expensive. [thumbsup][thumbsdown]

you can add an electronic xover to run 3 way full active, active and passive generally doesnt sound different, but in active you can do more tuning.

so, if you want easy life go passive, if you like to tune the system until 99% suit your taste, go active.

but no use lah, if you are in passive you also might want to try active too, because ICE is simply too addictive. poison.