Falc 3rd Gear April 6, 2006 Share April 6, 2006 They both have their good and bad, and depending on situations i guess. When will technology create a car that runs TC normally, but can switch off turbo, run high compression wild cams on demand. Kekeke .... Best of both worlds. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Clark75 Neutral Newbie April 6, 2006 Share April 6, 2006 I'm not a motorhead, so correct me if I'm wrong... Both SC and TC compress air into the cylinders. Therefore, both systems are affected by ambient air pressure (related also to air temperature). Only difference between the two is the power supply for each charger. One is a constant "ON" in the case for a SC and one is reliant by amount of exhaust gas existing. Anyway, Singapore's humidity is way above many other temperate countries, so we have one 'pluspoint' there. I'm on TC system. And I like it because I get can the power when I need it. Normal driving, I actually get very good FC. Big displacement NA cars which get the same 0-100kmph timings as lower displacement cars with FI burns more fuel generally with normal driving. So for a middle-income person like me, I'd still stick with my TC car. Just a personal preference. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chenqien Neutral Newbie April 6, 2006 Author Share April 6, 2006 since they have variable valve timing now... might as well have variable compression thingy although will be quite completed cos this means varying the stroke... haha then again... b4 the turbo kick the lag not so jia lat.. then when turbo kick in the compression ratio auto reduce... and low end functions like a NA car so if u dun wan turbo, fuel consumption and power all veh good Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Normal_aspirated Clutched April 6, 2006 Share April 6, 2006 (edited) NA or equivalently, Displacement-------->No replacement for Displacement!!!!- well if you can afford it, effortless pickup is a very very addictive experience ! go test drive a GS300 for straight line speed (only) and you'll know what I mean. .......not forgetting Stilo 2.4L which has near 2.5L 5-cylinders 20 valves engine, very addictive too & cheaper, and oso fuel efficient for its class. Edited April 6, 2006 by Normal_aspirated Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Davidklt Supercharged April 6, 2006 Share April 6, 2006 Forced inductions are crude! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chenqien Neutral Newbie April 7, 2006 Author Share April 7, 2006 explain? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voxy28 3rd Gear April 7, 2006 Share April 7, 2006 I don't think it is crude bec BMW is also turbo charging soon... BMW officially announces new N54 Turbo Engine Source: leftlanenews.com & BMW Group BMW today released new details on its much-rumored N54 Bi-Turbo Engine. The motor is expected to appear in the 2007 BMW 335i and 2007 BMW 335ci (coupe). The engine has an output of 306 horsepower and maximum torque of 295 lbs.-ft (400 Nm). BMW said it has already tested a 3-Series sedan with the engine, and achieved a 0-62mph time of 5.7 seconds. BMW said the engine is relatively lightweight Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Itguy28 Neutral Newbie April 8, 2006 Share April 8, 2006 F1 ? as in Formula one?..F1 car is not turbo what....V8 super NA power! The old F1 as in Renault and Tyrell n sum was TC but that was in mid 70s to early 80s... F1??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mirrorimage 1st Gear April 24, 2006 Share April 24, 2006 i prefer NA machines. Simpler. And to me, it feels like its pure RAW power. No offence to FI cars, but it feels like the car has a shot of steroids for it to up that extra power. But even though i say that, still kudos to the GTR 34. One of my dream cars. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chenqien Neutral Newbie April 25, 2006 Author Share April 25, 2006 gtr34 got NA and FI ones ... u talking abt the NA one???? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear April 25, 2006 Share April 25, 2006 for the r series, gtr only got turbo lah. its the non-gtr that have NA variants. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guitar77 Neutral Newbie April 25, 2006 Share April 25, 2006 COOL TOPIC... I personally like the EVO FI too. I still remember I test drive a WRX STI and EVO. STI still can handle. EVO my plam sweat when I get out of the car. Thats why I AIM BMW & EVO together then you get the best and FUN of both world! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BMW320i Neutral Newbie April 25, 2006 Share April 25, 2006 wah.. me not too knowledgable about turbos one but can the engine tahan ornot? low end loss.. actually if you want to, can add in another turbo, a smaller one to make up for the low end loss The above set up is already running on safe tune. Recently I just had my Greddy V-SPL FMIC installed which should allow a more aggressive tune. I'm looking at Autronic or Motec M800 with Anti-Lag System enabled. As you can see from the picture, the Reinforcement bar had to be cut and foglights taken out. Not exactly "Bolt On" as indicated on the FMIC box. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zeruel Neutral Newbie April 25, 2006 Share April 25, 2006 (edited) wah your inter cooler so big sia hehe, you wanna boost all the way to 1000hp? Edited April 25, 2006 by Zeruel Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BMW320i Neutral Newbie April 25, 2006 Share April 25, 2006 Quite small to be honest. I've seen others like APS or AVO. Now those are huge and thick... 1000hp ? no way ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guitar77 Neutral Newbie April 25, 2006 Share April 25, 2006 er...you got a WRX ah?? Can tell me more..or got pic to let us DROOL!!?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BMW320i Neutral Newbie April 25, 2006 Share April 25, 2006 (edited) Singapore's flooded with WRXs... Mine just looks the same as any others you would see on the road. Edited April 25, 2006 by BMW320i Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guitar77 Neutral Newbie April 25, 2006 Share April 25, 2006 bro STI or ? GOT Fuel injector in yours? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...