JBL sets

Systemshock99

Hi Guys,

Need all your professional opinion, got a quotation from my audio guy. What do you guys think?

2 x Amp (JBL CS300.1 & CS60.4)

2 x Component Speaker (JBL GTO607C)

1 x Woofer (JBL GTO1000B)

Total damage $1730/-

Do you guys think that it's a good deal?

btw, i'm thinking of getting a Alpine 9855, roughly how much does it cost? If i'm not wrong, i heard that it can be connected with Mz3 steering wheel control, Please kindly advice. Thanks!

Edited by Systemshock99

In my opinion, forgo the rear speakers and get something really good for the front and a good two channel amp. Get a cheap amp to drive the sub. 9855 is good.

I'm looking around, but I don know any good audio shop. can you guys recommend me some of it so that I can go take a look?

btw, can the ALpine 9855 fits into the Mazda 3 steering wheel control?

"can the ALpine 9855 fits into the Mazda 3 steering wheel control?"

i tink ur question is how can the M3 audio control on the steering wheel control the 9855?

there are installer shops who'll be able to make the necessary modifications at a cost, but for this case, MM may void ur car warranty as you've tampered with the steering wheel.

just install the 9855 in the lower console deck, use the supplied remote control to control loh.

why sianz? kena stumped by this meh?

a lot of M3s i see are doing this workaround solutions, fitting the HU at the lower deck, disconnecting the factory audio.

The price is not say too ex or too cheap either....

the 2 amp and the woffer with box and a single component will set u back by abt 1300. With those so called free install by the installers. You can forego the rear components. Just get a set of coxials for the rear if u want or for now keep it stock.

But be aware of hidden costs like soundproffing, steering adaptors in the future.

I am running an almost similar system using stock HU...

CS200.1 and CS50.4

GTO606

Cervin Vega 12" HED

basically it is one model older than wat u are planing to get but based on specs/technology almost the same. Using some cheap HI-Lo convertor so some losses and stuff but overall i would say it is a good starter system but use a proper HU not the stock ones.

Selling it off soon to upgrade do PM me if u are interested [:)]

Edited by Darkness

Yeah I know. But the sound will not be good. =p

My audio man tells me, nothing beats going directly through the 2HU. So very big headache here... haha!

I believe that there is a deitz controller that can link up for alpine units to use stock control buttons. It might take some time for the installer to test out what goes where, but I do know that it can be done. I know of several cars who have done this successfully with Alpine HUs

I asked my audio man he said cannot... but i found out that actually there is such control unit for the steering wheel control to work... So that's why i donno whether to trust him a not... I have heard my friend's system done up by him. Not too bad... But i just I will read up and learn more before committing... =) Thanks man!

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Yeah I know. But the sound will not be good. =p

My audio man tells me, nothing beats going directly through the 2HU. So very big headache here... haha!

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Not as good is relative to the expectations and the budget you're willing to spend.

Shop around.

Ask yourself how far you want to take this ICE journey. If you want to do it one time and then enjoy it, do it good the first time. If you like to be hands on, or take it progressively, then you can start in stages based on your budget.

The expectations is very dependant of the people you hang out with. If its with the ICE crowd... haha, it'll never end, cause you'll always be hearing something better all the time!

Edited by Saabretooth

yo man,

just drop by the weekly meetup lah, easier for the guys to help you out and u can listen to other systems.

heheh, aniway, i like ur nick, u ever play the game "system shock"? heheh..

cheers!