My "new" Altis

Ah_bon

no problem bro,eerrr can't give much comment on the product u use..cos i have yet to try them beforesmile.gifnot too sure what is the result given

but my practice is clay-AIO-sealant-wax..the wax i use have a feeler effect which helps to hide some of the swirls..or maybe u can try meguire scratch x to remove the line scratches..

Think best is to meetup with u guys when i'm free.. words here can't describe much.. :)

I think the only step i miss out is the use of claybar. Perhaps, if got chance to meetup, can try on my boot using some of your product and method. Will then see how the effect be.. No pain no gain.

Thanks to all detailing gurus here..

Hi !

Claybar is the most important step to achieve ultimate smoothness.....:)

Must not skip this step !

Next, I noticed your car is Silver ==> The most difficult to achieve shine :(

Same as my car ! Ha Ha.

Yo bro..

THink u're right.. Claybar is very important.

Must learn from u all on how to maintain a silver car..

Just met up with a fren at Yishun dam and discovered that his car swirl marks is more than me..

Any difference in surface if viewed from daylight and night light (street lamps light)?

Night time seems to see things clearer.. :)

Bro,

the street lamp is a very good light source to expose paint defects... so good that sometimes i try not to park near one! [:(][:(][:(]

another good light source is the angle reflection from the evening Sun ray and bright lighting from petrol kiosk... very good too [;)]

One. I FINALLY STRIPPED OFF MY TOUGHSEAL!!!!!

Two. Seeing so many raving reviews on FK1, I got my hands on some FK1 products to work on my Altis.

Using a PC, OHC and OP. My buddy and I stripped off my Toughseal of one year and remove most of the defects on my Altis.

We put on a layer of FK 2180 and Pink Wax thereafter. Both are easy on, easy off [thumbsup][thumbsup]

Here's some pics to share with the bros here.... [inlove][inlove][inlove][inlove]

Nice job!

I think you (a DIY) actually did a better job than Gen2 (a pro)!

Consider doing it part time?

Edited by Gamax

Me? Part time??? [sweatdrop][sweatdrop][sweatdrop][sweatdrop][sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

Do my own car once and i join the Broke Back (Mountain) group for 2 weeks... [sweatdrop][sweatdrop] there's still alot i have to learn... so no lor, i think i'll keep it as a hobbie... [:p][:p]

It can get rather sweaty... but the satisfaction of the end result... worth it! [thumbsup]

Its all about passion (= patience and time) and having the right tools/products to do the job...

Generally fluorescent light will show all the defects very clearly. So whenever you stop at petrol kiosk with bright white lighting.. its very obvious! [sweatdrop]

Teck

Hmm.. quite inconsistent leh.. SOmetimes, when under fluorescent light i can't really see those scratches. I find that under orange streetlamp light is the most obvious one.

Can those who polished and shine theirs check under night orange streetlamp? hehe just want to see if their after wax still able to see scratches.:)

Really go into detail now. hahha.. very detail in finding scratch marks.. :)

Hi !

Claybar is the most important step to achieve ultimate smoothness.....:)

Must not skip this step !

Next, I noticed your car is Silver ==> The most difficult to achieve shine :(

Same as my car ! Ha Ha.

Can i say claybar can remove my Toughseal as well?

Ah bon seems to have used other materials to remove. Will try and go buy claybar soon.. prep my material armoury and prepare for wash, claybar, higlaze and wax. :)

Sorry to bring up a old thread.

was "chattin" with Bro Relak and wanted to show him some pics. so have to post back with my old thread.

was trying out FK425 on my car last week... took some photos using my mobile phone..

really like the reflecton! [nod][nod]

Bro Relak, these are the photos... not very clear. but you get what i mean... [sunny]

Bro, are you driving a mobile mirror? [cool] Freakin kilat siah! Have you tried FX100 and 425 combined yet? The slickness no horse run man... [dizzy]

Got it bro..but tis sunday can't make it. :(

Quick check.

Mine is metallic silver altis.

Under daylight, if i look at my boot cover, I can't really see any scratches and water marks. However, when night time, i park under "orange" colored streetlamp or bright light, i can see fine line scratches (might be due to my washing or ..) and water marks. I suspect the water might have eltched onto the toughseal i have.

Proposed solution:

1. Use claybar to clean away contaminants and TS

2. Use Hi-Glaze as sealant to seal and gloss the surface.

3. Use WAX (KIT WAX or any other carnauba wax) to smooth it.

Can the proposed solution helps?

Will find an opportunity to take some photos to show here....

I have used those products you mentioned. I think you should have something like AIO or Prime for surface prep after claying before jumping to sealant. Hi Glaze88 is quite good except it takes out too much elbow grease. Hard to buff off when hardened.

KIT WAX don't use lar. Leaves residue and the best part is, its not lasting. Kena few heavy rain and its gone. Anyway your car shines. [cool][thumbsup]

hmmm.... that's a tot... ya hor.. why never tot of it... [nod]

i plan to try out another combo... but i dun even have time to wash my car over the weekend... [:(][smallcry]

wait till i got time, i try already let you know the result! [;)]

i try liao..no no horses run..like wat bro relac says..thumbsup.gifthumbsup.gifi just dunno how to describe..

one word..Goodthumbsup.gif i apply FX100 yesterday.. wash my car just now..when i splashes onto the car,the wash just doen't seem to stay..y har???

then i top up FX100 and 425 again..FAINT

Yo bro..

THink u're right.. Claybar is very important.

Must learn from u all on how to maintain a silver car..

Just met up with a fren at Yishun dam and discovered that his car swirl marks is more than me..

Any difference in surface if viewed from daylight and night light (street lamps light)?

Night time seems to see things clearer.. :)

i still have some claybar left from the group buy..Brand is Erazer and is only $10

u want??

[laugh][laugh][laugh] So slick until wash dun stay wor..... [:)][:)]

me now still in office struggling with my report... brain dead liao... [dead][knife]

still hoping tonite can wash car.... i think can forget it liao.. [smallcry]