Newbie Questions

Hungee

1) up the gain the baby grow too fat lor, u carry also chiu sng ...

your HU has a "volume output", which works by adding a variable resistance to its circuit to make the music SOFTER as u turn the dial (so playing it soft means using the signal and reducing it a lot with resistor). u want to use the HU usually at about 66% of its "max volume". and when u wanna blast u can try turning up to 80%. many pple think that when u hit above 90% there might be some distortion. so sticking to 66-80% range keeps u relatively distortion-free.

so u have to adjust the amp's "volume control" so that when your HU is at 66% u're at a comfortable level, and when u blast 80% it's pretty loud. the amp gains by getting the HU signal and multiplying (amplifying) it, gaining more amplitude. u set the gain too high, and u cant use high HU volumes because it's damn loud. u set the gain too soft, u're forced to use max HU volume, and get some HU distortion.

some joker companies like to confuse you by using bigger word like "input sensitivity". a bit hardder to sppel but sama sama lah.

2) speaker got lots of stats but the sad thing is, these companies dowan to reveal them leh. important stuff like damping factor etc, not published often. instead, u get stupid numbers like Frequency Response 20 to 20,000 Hz from component speakers. i think my foot vibrate 20hz better than component speakers. in actual fact, those 6.5inch midbass responds only down to about 40, 50, 63 Hz, and even then, the response is tapering softer compared to its primary frequencies above 80 Hz.

RMS of the speakers gives u an idea of what kind of amp u might need. good idea to have similar RMS for speakers and amp. but if your amp RMS is too high, u can simply turn down the GAIN (oooh, that magic word again) of the amp and it's output RMS drops. if ur amp RMS too low, some good speakers still perform well, but no guarantees from poorer speakers or speakers with small-number sensitivities (e.g. below 90 dB/1W).

3) sound waves are like things like sine wave. it goes up, then down. if u invert the + - u get the wave going down first, then up. if your left speaker is inverted, your right is normal, then the left goes down first, the right goes up first. they clash and u hear it as a REDUCED volume. if both are correct (both + -, or both - + also can, just not the opposite) then they won't clash. so it's not suka suka wire.

if u want to trace your wire, the + wire usually is chosen to be the one with some markings, like dots or wordings, and the - is usually the one without decorations. that's just a convention used to help people remember. if u suspect ur wiring is upside down, u gotta check one end (the amp end) and the other end (open up the doors to see the connection) etc .. troublesome. the other way to experiment is to just switch the + - of one side, and see if the sound gets louder or softer. the louder one is correct.

installers Tan Chiah one lah, once u key in your NETS pin number, + - x / who cares.

Bro .. .gum xia leh ... me beri kum tong of the detail explaination ...