Installers Feedback

Rafiano

cheap....hmm...thats what he told me...Wilson's van is relatively pack with speakers la....hahaha

bro...my set up so cheap la...$400 on used amp and speakers and $200 on installation...HU still blaupunkt stock....doubt u will be impressed by my set up...hahhaa...hell..it cannot even be compared to a basic set up..

Agreed... I started with own stock until burst with smoke...then upgrade to level 1 Low end Sound system.....Pom!!! again speaker blow....changed...To Mid End....Pssss.....Amp spoilt....chnaged damn..to Hi End..until now..use high end...

Well as long your stock serve you still ...advisable dun get over with the bunch of guys with high end sound system...

If your stock can play a sound...it's good enough..! Take it easy...cheers.. [;)]

hi there bro don. saw ur unique white pica and ur fren's black pica on friday at EM. must say u have put in a lot of effort in2 it. good luck for the coming competition.

btw, i was that guy waiting for the installation of the ICE in the gray altis.

hmm...grey altis?? i saw the car but not the owner... hehehehe... should call me mah.. then we can chat it up...thks for your compliment..hope to win...machiam now everyday there to touch up bits here and there... hows your ICE?? full set soundsteam is it?

This is an interesting topic.

I would like to table my opinions in this manner.

What do I look out for in any installers? To do that, I have to make assumptions, that installers alike, its about business, and its about making profit and for survival. So, basing on this assumptions, what I expect from installers are:

1. Honesty

2. Ability to work within customers' budget, advise customers of correct matching of equipments

3. Innovative (being able to work within budget and yet produce results surpassing customers' expectations)

4. Splendid workmanship and attitude

5. True aftersales service

6. Update customers on new products and convince professionally why a change is necessary or beneficial

7. Treating all customers equally and fairly, regardless of the ride and how deep the pocket may be.

Fellow forummers can perhaps benchmark their experience along these line.

I have personally engaged three different installers. They are Yihing (now in Eunos), Mova (Paya Ubi) and Hong Guan (Bukit Batok). Each of them have displayed their strengths and weaknesses but they remained to be knowlegeable and professional in their fields.

hmm...we have received feedback on:

1. ES Audio (Marsiling Industrial Estate)

2. Express Motion (Upper Thomson)

3. Yihing (Eunos)

4. Mova (Paya Ubi)

5. Hong Guan (Bukit Batok)

please keep it coming for the benefit of the brothers here..

wah u too much leh, forgot my contribution.

3. Yihing (Eunos)

4. Mova (Paya Ubi)

6. Koncept Audio (Mackenzie Rd)

All this about after sales is well and good. That's expected when you're prepared to spend, to give the installer that level of profit enough to remember you by.

My review was more applicable for those who choose the dark side, got no money, just want to get the job done, buy components or 2nd hand. You can hardly expect any after sales service if you request for a "basic job". I didn't even get any clips to terminate my speaker wires. But it works, that's what's important. The amp screws onto the rear seat got loose after a while cos it didn't "bite" into secure spots on the seat - so as part of "aftersales service" Mok screwed it back again somewhere more secure. Simple stuff like that, you get. And he volunteered to screw in my sub grill.

hehehee...next time ask mary where am i .. if my car is there then mostly i am there.. unless i left my car there for doing things...

I think I will contribute a little about my favourite installer New Generation Audio Enterprise in Paya Ubi Industrial Park. This installer done ICE on my previous car and current car straight away after I collect the car from dealer. I will follow Sarong's template:

1. Honesty

In my experience the installer is very frank on his pricing and he explained everything before he started the job. So, I do not have problem with his pricing or quality of goods he installed on my car. He also told me when I met him for the first time that his labour and fabrication charges are above average, but I find it's justified.

2. Ability to work within customers' budget, advise customers of correct matching of equipments

I think this is subjective. The one who cause over-budget on my ICE installation usually is by my own decision.

3. Innovative (being able to work within budget and yet produce results surpassing customers' expectations)

No comment on this.

4. Splendid workmanship and attitude

The quality of his installation is excellent and his team take a good care of the car. Even my friend who saw the process of installation last time commenting that the installation charge is justified by they way they take care the car during installation process. I don't find any attitude problem with him or his worker, their is service is thumbs up.

5. True aftersales service

This is the point that effect me the most and why I still trust him to dismantle and re-install on my current car. I got minor aeroplane sound on my previous car, I brought my car back to him and he trouble shoot the installation without question asked. He re-route the cable and but the aeroplane sound still persist, at the end he changed my head unit to Pioneer P-9450 and the problems never come back.

6. Update customers on new products and convince professionally why a change is necessary or beneficial

He recommended me Alpine 701 processor to me when I told him that my replacement car is coming with factory fitted HU and I don't have intention to install 2nd head unit on my car. Unfortunately, I can't leave my car long enough for him to properly tune the Alpine 701. I think now he is carrying JL Audio Cleansweep hi-lo signal processor.

7. Treating all customers equally and fairly, regardless of the ride and how deep the pocket may be.

This another subjective. So far I don't feel discriminated even there is porsche boxster installing ICE when he did my car at the same time with much lower budget.

3. Yihing (Eunos)

4. Mova (Paya Ubi)

6. Koncept Audio (Mackenzie Rd)

7. New Generation Audio Enterprise (Paya Ubi)

keep it coming guys...u are doing a favour to the forumers here who are clueless about where to start their ICE setup...cos it seems every auto shop claims to be able to do it. The reason why I tried ES Audio was due to its long opening hours and the close proximity to my place. As Im driving an OPC, I do need to consider these factors as well..

My vote goes to Nam Huat (Toh Guan East). Have visited 2 other ICE installers. First one in Eunos did a fair job installing a 4-ch amp plus 4 speakers - a yr ago, the 2nd one (B) in B Batok botched the replacement of my front speakers recently, but on 2nd visit they managed to correct this (crossover / tuning?) but only somewhat as low and high freqs had distortion.

I then took my car to Nam Huat, (also because I decided to upgrade amp). He re-adjusted (?) the crossovers, immediately recognised handiwork of B in the slightly haphazard wiring of the speakers, corrected that and installed new amp.........and it sounds beautiful now, with nicely-controlled and tuned highs and low freqs on the speakers. Chap there was also friendly.