Matching the ICE components to our Music Preferences

Saabretooth

Even before tuning, we also have to pick the appropriate equipment to suit the genre of music we like and listen to. I would like to find out what pairing is good and decent for the genre of music you listen to.

For example, I am running on MBQuarts PCE216. I find that its more towards SQ. Its tuned towards instrumental and vocals with decent punch if required, as some of the friends here have audited it can testify. Its not the best out there, but it suited towards my musical taste. Running on Diamond D3 open air subs that give me a warm mellow and musical effect. Its still running in so I will be retuning it once its all set and done.

So all said and done....

What would be decent for genres like...

1) R&B

2) Trance, House, Dance

3) Rock

4) Pop

5) Vocals

6) Orchestra/Musicals

... and the list goes on.

With that, I think a lot of the newbies here would know what to look out for when purchasing brand new or 2nd hand equipment to suit their taste in music.

Thanks for your sharing guys and gals!

Hi Bro,

<>

Yes, I had audited your setup earlier.. I can also agree with you on that. As mine is also for the same taste and my setup includes 2-way passive setup Focal Utopia 165W powered by Steg Amps and one sealed box 10" Shallow Sub Woofer System.

my 2 cents worth:

for trance, house, dance, this kind of music can use any spkr. but there must be a woofer for the bang. but if u want to blast damm loud and still be clear, then look for spkrs which are capable of this, ie, DLS UR6s will get LOUD and still keep its clarity.

for RnB and hip hop, this one u must see which spkr will tahan the bass. but most of it is from the woofer. so for this genre of music, woofer plays a MAJOR part.

i

for me, i like my music LOUD..

on my mind now, cheap and good= cadence, sure can wack like siao, if u got $$, go with DLS, if in the middle, get rockfords.

also on a cheaper budget, u can go for the Orion C series components or the P series components.

as for the sub woofers,

RnB and hip hop, chao chao get RF T1, put it in a 2cub ft box tuned at 38 hz, u sure steam one...

pple seem to like kicker, so for kicker, get the L7 or CVX, that should do the job.

OR, if u want a woofer that can be used for both gettin LOUD and good SQ at lower vols, go with the OZ matrix woofer.

this is for a LOUD setup, not SQ ah.. heheh

BUT if u like to listen to both, i'll say go with the DLS UR6s, u wont go wrong. i got a friend overseas who say they will get HELL OF LOUD without caving in.if i had the $$, i'll get it, but no $$$..

Thats great! at least it gives some guys here who want loud tight and clean bass for their type of music.

One of the reasons I started this thread is also because of my current set up. I can play it really loud and still have a good time with R&B...etc, but the component mix is definitely not for that type of music.

Glad your contributed.

haha. no prob man.

for me, i blew my front spkrs a few times.. hahaha.. so when it gets loud i cross out my mid bass just to be safe, but the woofer compensates for everything else.. hahaha..

i see u at the meetup lah.. hahaha..

if u need recommendation on loud stuff, drop me a PM lah.

haha.. trust me. this is nothing..

nothin i've head in SG can compare to wat i've heard in the US.

u don know the feelin of havin to yell at the driver to turn it down from behind cos its really KILLIN YOU at the back seat..

one of my ang mo friend blew his tail lights cos bass too much, another one crack his boot lid.

and that was LOUD!! i almost died in the car..

pop, rock, vocal, those SQ system can play liao.

my cents is, loud systems can play everything, just whether how they sound,

but SQ systems cannot play LOUD music.

IE, i tried some of my hip hop on my friend's focal sub, then he almost want to kill me, plus the sub didnt give the bump that the song wanted. haha..

of all, Hip hop is the most woofer shiong one.. all the freq all ard 33 hz like that

hip hop siao one. donno what kind of instrument those music uses, where got instrument go around banging at 33 hertz one ... siao ...

haha..

if u go and research, 33 hz is a very 'special' freq, in the medical field. go do a research.. heeh..

when i come back i tell u..

Edited by Headshok

sorry guys, just wanna ask if infinity speakers are good? seems more expensive than JBL leh....

I listen to common music like chinese and english pop....

sometime blast heavy rock music.

Infinity or JBL better?

> 33 hz is a very 'special' freq

i'm guessing it's some resonance frequency of the body. so u "feel" the bass hitting u more, like in a disco.