Dexlee Clutched September 7, 2006 Share September 7, 2006 Hi all, is it true that speaker cannot blast during the run in period? is it ok to turn the volume high? How long does the speakers takes to run in? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Harveynorman Neutral Newbie September 7, 2006 Share September 7, 2006 Halow. I think it wld be ard 2 - 3 mths to run in. pls correct me if wrong. esp the tweeter. will sound quite harsh b4 running in. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear September 7, 2006 Share September 7, 2006 not healthy to blast when brand new lah.. slowly let it 'loosen' virgin spkr, sure very tight wat.. u imagine virgin, then u wack hard, sure pain one rite.. haha.. must slowly slowly 'run in'. run in liao, u blast more shiok.. HAHAHAHAHA Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sarong1 1st Gear September 7, 2006 Share September 7, 2006 wah liao eh...so suggestive...my opinion on the burn-in period...depends on brand and make, some requires shorter lead time while some needs longer...dun blast...play dynamic and full range musical tracks...this will ensure that the speakers last longer and nicer...cheers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dome81 Neutral Newbie September 8, 2006 Share September 8, 2006 hi bro sarong, what kind of song / cd will you recommend for speaker run in ? Cause i don't really understand dynamic and full range musical tracks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sarong1 1st Gear September 8, 2006 Share September 8, 2006 Oh, a variety of musical tracks ranging from classical, jazz, techno, vocals,...if possible, use tracks that has got sax, piano and percussion and such...play at nominal volume...you should be able to hear the diff if you keep on using back those CDs...otherwise, you can go Adelphi CD shops to hunt for burn-in CD...one good label is from Treasure Island Sound (TIS) produced in HK...the piano track starts from as low as 28Hz...the violin track starts from the lowest note to the highest...well...these tracks are more suitable based on my experience... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hyun Neutral Newbie September 8, 2006 Share September 8, 2006 is that the one with your piano and violin playing scales? sometimes speaker manufacturers post official break-in period data. i've seen some that post like a 20-24 hour playtime. that's continuous playtime, so that'll take place over a month or so of hourly listening. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sarong1 1st Gear September 8, 2006 Share September 8, 2006 That is one of the CD...used for burn-in and "warm-up" to open up or wake up everything in the circuit... Time is dependent on usage...some resorted to using external battery to run the speakers...having fans directed at the amps to further dissipate the heat...all done within few days...those are crazy.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dome81 Neutral Newbie September 8, 2006 Share September 8, 2006 noted with thanks... will try it. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...