New santa fe 2006 2.7 litres

Santa

just got my ride last month, wonder anyone also driving this new model so we can exchange some pointers...

my current fuel consumption after recording 3000km mileage is about 6.5-6.7km/l if 50/50 city/highway (so dun be fool by carshow room bxxxxxxt figure). if 70/30 mix - then can hit about 7.4 km/litre

wow....seems like a heavy drinker to me from your consumption figures...any fellow drivers from 2.7 or 3l cat to feedback their consumption figures?

Edited by Ivan96935sg

you mean your tuscon during run in is 6.2km/litres , so how long it take to run in - 5000km or 10,000km...

sunroof really no point for singapore weather, how often u drive without aircon, unless u intend to perform some stunts whereby u standing up and someone below... [inlove][lipsrsealed]

santa fe has a package that come with sunroof - add 3k (sunroof plus and integrated entertainment unit with gprs, vcd, stero, reverse camera.

anyway toyota fortuner 2.7 in line 4 engine - also 6.5km-6.7km [sweatdrop]

hi all,

we have to be fair to some cars.

many a time, people only see one pt: wah hyundai santa fe 2.7 v6 auto so high consumption doing only 6.5km/l OR hyundai tucson 2 litre auto guzzle petrol doing only 8.5km/l.

but, hv they compared to other models? hv they seen wat is the driver's driving habit? maybe he is a racer? maybe he always on the aircon n engine while waiting for people for 20min? maybe he is always caught in a heavy traffic jam? maybe he loads in his 100 bars of gold in the boot? maybe....

we have to b fair, like santa said, even a thaiyota fortuner drinks 6.5km/l n its only a 4 cylinder car. mind u that a santa fe is V6, smooth n quiet with minimum vibration. the enjoyment in driving a V6 is worth paying any extra money over a 4 cylinder. furthermore, santa fe is lower price than a fortuner. (jus for info, it is now $79,999)

we hv to always compare the same range of cars. like if u compare the old accent 1.5(M) against vios 1.5(M), consumption dun differ a lot.

cheers

walter (if i can address u this way) - what car do u drive ? i read several of your past posting - u indeed have a very good supportive views for korean cars...

so far my santa fe after 1.5 months still not much 'new car' hiccups, touch wood...compare with some thaiyota who has creaking sound here and there upon immediate delivery.

i will be a happy man - if my 'santa' is not so thirsty, i been driving like pussy cat -from stop to move out - never rev more than 2,000pm, aircon switch at half of the blue marking. expressway cruising maintain at 90km but still very thirsty...boot is empty i.e. no gold bar. on weekday only mi and my wife, on weekend add another rascal that weigh 12kg

rgds - crying santa

I think we need to hear from owners of other similar type of vehicle with 1800kg, 2.5 - 3.0L engines, SUV or MPV body type, in order to be fair in our FC opinions. For example, Outlander, Fortuner, Carnival, X3, RX300, XC90 etc. I know an un-modded Forester 2.5XT does 7.0km/L.

OUTLANDER - I READ UNDER JAPANES CAR - THEY SAY AVERAGE 10KM/LITRES WHICH IS HARD TO BELIEVE LEH ...

VOLVO XC 90 - I VISITED THEIR VOLVO WEBSITE - AVERAGE 6KM/L FOR HEAVY FOOTED, 7-8KM/L FOR PUSSY CAT.

RX 300 - MY COLLEAGE TELL ME ABOUT 8KM/L

FORTUNER - LIKE MINE I.E 6.5-7KM/LITRES

CARNIVAL - __________PLS ADVISE

X3 OR X5 - __________PLS ADVISE

NEW RAV 4 -__________PLS ADVISE

(OOPS SORRI FOR USING CAPITAL LETTERS...)

What the SF really needs is a 5-speed autotrans. I am sure that will improve both performance and FC by quite a fair bit. Shame that its only available for the 3.3L petrol and 2.2 diesel models.

I hope that the FC of your SF will improve after the engine/transmission beds in...in the meantime..enjoy the ride/refinement/space! Cheers!

Edited by Toeknee_33

ya lor - maybe koreans never know how to make 5 speed transmission on petrol engine less than 3.0 litres. sigh...give them 5 more years - the 3rd generation sf maybe have 5 speed...

No wonder walter is so pro of hyundai [laugh]

but anyway is good that we have a kind soul here to give comforting supporting view on korean cars otherwise everyone will have a negative impact on korean cars.

but one thing komoco need to improve is to give as accurate informations to consumer and let us make decision - if from the onset before i sign on dotted line they told me consumption is 6km/l then i knew what i am gonig to expect or getting rather than to inflate the figure to make its look good to mis-lead consumer. hope my view is not offending you (u might be the kind soul among those black sheep).

regards