Perry Neutral Newbie April 23, 2003 Share April 23, 2003 hi skodians, since last week, when i turn the ignition key to start the car, the 'cranking up' doesn't sound very smooth and easy, in fact, got 2 occassions when i failed to start on the first try... i'm not a car/techie expert, is this a very simple problem which i am not aware of yet? could it be the battery again? but only about 1yr3mths since last change leh.... appreciate some advice and help pls:) thanks... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
C708 Neutral Newbie April 23, 2003 Share April 23, 2003 (edited) Perry, What type of battery are u using ?? Is it a maintenance free type or just a normal type. One way is to have a battery dealer check it with a voltmeter. If that proves OK, then u may need to have a qualified mech such as Servo have a look. It could be the ignition coil if it's not the batt. Edited April 23, 2003 by C708 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skoda_Man Neutral Newbie April 23, 2003 Share April 23, 2003 Does it crank? I have this problem once a while, it does crank but feel like no fuel is being fed. I have change the fuel filter, but if it cannot solve, I might need to change the fuel pump. I don't think the injectors are the problems at this point. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Perry Neutral Newbie April 23, 2003 Author Share April 23, 2003 hmm... sounds similar.. for me, it cranks, but the engine just won't become 'stable'(not sure if this is the way to describe it), so after about 1 to 2 seconds, it dies off... like you say, it feels abit like that there is not enuff fuel going in... this wierd problem only started happening once last week, and today (2nd time) after i top up petrol and the kiosk... hmmm.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Perry Neutral Newbie April 23, 2003 Author Share April 23, 2003 i dunno wat battery also, last time got towed back to jta and they replaced it for me.... based on calculation, 2nd battery lifespan coming to 1yr 4mths.... does battery dealers charge for checks? hehehe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sky8807 1st Gear April 23, 2003 Share April 23, 2003 Battery is a possibility. Fuel can also cause starting problem also. Is it during morning start or after stopping for a while then difficult to start? Sparkplugs condition is another factor. Did u do anything to your car recently, like send it for service or fit something or disturbed any components. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Perry Neutral Newbie April 23, 2003 Author Share April 23, 2003 no, both time it failed was not during morning. in fact, today it happened after i have been driving for alot, travelled abt 100km plus today (althought not continuous, got a few 30 minutes to 1 hour plus stops in between)... then on way home wanted to top up petrol.... and after paying, when preparing to leave, it happened... got send car to CA to replace the front power window this monday, but this particular problem started happening early last week, so dun think should be their fault? other than this monday 2 hour replacement job, never send car in for service since last year... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sky8807 1st Gear April 23, 2003 Share April 23, 2003 Since it happen when the engine is still hot. Under bonnet temp is hot, sometime starting is difficult, need to hold on starter a little bit longer than usual. Many years back, on my jap car, an indication of a weak battery, after filling up petrol, crank but no effect, like battery dead. Wait for a while, crank then it fire up normally. This is an indication of the battery already weak but not failing yet. Anytime can fail. Regular servicing and replacement of items like oil, filter etc is important for a trouble free motoring. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Perry Neutral Newbie April 23, 2003 Author Share April 23, 2003 oooo :( why my battery life always so short :( i wash car about once a month now, each time got check the water level leh, also got top up abit.... is there something i am doing wrong in my battery maintenance? guess i better take the car somewhere to check the battery or get it replaced... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sky8807 1st Gear April 23, 2003 Share April 23, 2003 Battery life depends on electrical requirement of your car. Fitting of additional accessories, high electrical usage like lots of night driving with lights on and long idling period with air-con on will shorten lifespan of battery. Battery capacity and brand also play a part. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
C708 Neutral Newbie April 23, 2003 Share April 23, 2003 i dunno wat battery also, last time got towed back to jta and they replaced it for me....based on calculation, 2nd battery lifespan coming to 1yr 4mths.... does battery dealers charge for checks? hehehe Perry, After reading the comments & replies ..........these are the possibilties.....& might I add that these are just possibilities....I may bve wrong too....... 1. battery......self expalanatory 2. Wet or dirty contact point for sparks...ie the distributor 3. Contaminated fuel or dirty oil filter.......means u need servicing 4. Fuel pump..........Ouch !! 5. Ignition coil.........just an outside chance ......but cant be discounted tho And finally most battery shops dun charge to check yr batt....but beware ....they may coerce u into buying a new one from them !!!!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skoda_Man Neutral Newbie April 23, 2003 Share April 23, 2003 Good points!!! Battery - err.... not for my case. battery still strong, just checked. Spark plugs - brand new, will check, but highly unlikely. Fuel filter just change, so fuel pump???!!!! wah lah.... if the pump siow liao. but i will change to a power one, like the Merc type.. hehe One thing cannot discount but unlikely is the fuel injectors. I damn worried that it is clogged. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
C708 Neutral Newbie April 24, 2003 Share April 24, 2003 S_Man Fuel Pump ...........u have no choice but to buy back what is stock......there's no way u can buy another and replace it into the car !!!! U have no choice in the matter. Though parts may be a concern especially with CA !! Injectors can be cleaned........no necessity to chage it........good luck !! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skoda_Man Neutral Newbie April 24, 2003 Share April 24, 2003 Not true for fuel pump. you can relocate it and use another pump in fact. I am thinking for changing the fuel pump now... hhhmmm... :P ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...