Stamford Tyres "Galleries"

Axela525

...but you're forgetting... I'm already having these heavy babies on my car... 10kg per piece, without tyres shakehead.gifunsure.gif ....

So no diff to me.laugh.gif

Went there this evening, saw a lot of nice rims.. nod.gif But not mant nice cars like you saw. Lucky you! thumbsup.gif Anyway, can I check with you pros, for the rims, is it better to get light rims or heavy rims? I was thought light rims saves fuel, heavy rims more stable.. so who should I listem to?? dizzy.gif

Light rims is good...but must remember, after fitting tyres will be heavy liao...so go for light rims....as a guide: 14"-4.5kg, 15"-5.5kg, 16"- 6.5kg..... [nod]

nice pic....do u always go anywhere with a DC?so from ur comment,its still quite expensive down there rite.hows the crowd?

..... most people go for lightweight rims because with lower unsprung mass, a car would accelerate and stop faster, not to mention that a lighter wheel would of course save fuel.

Stability is not always present with heavy rims, as you would need to get the right tyres, and have the right suspension setup. .. but all things considered, they would provide some increase in stability as they "weigh the car down"

But in defense of heavy rims (as I have themsly.gif)....they seem to be more planted at speeds above 150kmh, and they are definitely more sturdy when getting knocked about. I have had several deep pot-hole and hard kerb knocks, that would have easily destroyed a light weight rim..... I simply had to get my mechanic to "fix" my rim... no cracks (unlike certain rims made of special materials).

cheers

not sensitive lah....you know hor, at the moment i send this post, the server damn screw up and the smileys all not appearing so no smiley to express what i meant mah...

wow.. so detail ah?? thanx thanx!! err.. what you mean by "I simply had to get my mechanic to "fix" my rim... no cracks (unlike certain rims made of special materials)." ? You mean the rim can touch-up or repair? dizzy.gif I notice if the rim "kena" kerb, the coating may fall off right? unsure.gif

.... what I meant was, that some lightweight forged rims are more brittle, and will crack under heavy impact. These "special" metals are not easy to fix.... and most probably have to be thrown away.

Mine, after an accident could be fixed, straightened, and usable again.

But after fixing, I was warned not to use them as front wheels...

but that's a small price to pay ....afterall, I won't pay another $300 just to get a new rim again.....smile.gif