Help On ICE

Stinkray

Hello Members,

Need some help and advise from experts in here.....

My simple set-up as a beginner..... [sweatdrop]

Front :

6.5" Infinity Component speakers with modded tweeters, without cross-over and amp....

Rear :

Stock

Question :

1) As my tweeters are modded to have beter clarity....isit necessary to have a cross-over ??? or no need ??? [confused]

2) Will the tweeter burst if I blast it ???

3) What's the diiferent in term of sound effect with and without using cross-over ???

Really don't know what to do now... [sweatdrop] so sian.... [blush]

Hope you guys can help......thanks in advance.... [thumbsup]

have u been visiting a shop near great world city? hahaha

aniway, ur runnin off ur HU rite. if u check ur wiring somewhere along the line, there is a small capacitor to act as a high pass filter for ur tweeter.

the function of a cross over is to "filter out" the necessary frequencies to the correct speakers.

for example, from ur head unit, a full signal is given out (all freq).

so imagine wat would happen, if a BASS freq is to reach ur tweeter and u decide to pump it up, its like puttin 10 big turbos into a cherry QQ and red lining it. guess u will noe wat happen to the engine.

SO, with the cross over, the cross over will filter our the necessary signals, for example, for tweets, it will filter off the lower freqs and only send the higher freqs to the tweet.

same goes for the mid range spkrs and woofers.

Thus, in a system a cross over is needed if u wanna play aftermarket systems. Stock systems spkrs, those are cheap paper cone, those nmind, blow also don care..

most component spkrs come with a cross over designed to work for that particular tweet/mid.

if u want better sound, cheapest soln, ASSUMING ur car comes with an after market HU(not those stock itnegrated ones), get a 4 channel amp, get a proper set of components, get a sub for the rear. kao liao. confirm u steam steam kao kao..

eheh

have fun

Yes, if he did do it at that shop...they will use tweeters that come with it's own crossover built in so no worries on the frequencies.

Actually, if you're not really into ice...just want better sound...their tuning on the stock setup does do some wonders :) Without amp also can sound very nice...but of course cannot compare with a full blown setup la...but for ppl not willing to spend money to change the stock setup, this is the best option...

Yes....there is a small "thing" along the tweeters line, so is this act as a high pass filter for the tweeter ???

BTW, normal tweeters wire will connect to cross-over.....Since mine is w/o cross-over....then where should the tweeters wire connect to ???

is it to speaker ??

I Blur liao and confused.....pls helpppppppppp [sweatdrop]

[sweatdrop][blush]

Yes, normal component speakers will connect to a passive crossover.

Since yous is basically stock speakers adding a pair of tweeter and "modifying" the speakers, i would say tuning rather thatn modifying....they will connect the tweeter directly to your speaker wires and that small thing is a high pass filter for the tweeters

Thanks Bro SPINWORKX for your response and input..... [nod][thumbsup][thumbsup]

So I should lay the tweeters wire direct to the front component speakers ???

Correct anot har ???....thanks

Didn't the shop do it for you already?

I believe they connected it to the same wire as that to the speakers. That's the only wires they can connect to that has any sound signals anyways...

I bring to one of the shop @ Eunous and they said they dun know how to connect...btw any shop to recommend whcih know how to install ??? Thanks.

Huh, dunno how to connect?

Can i guess that the tweeters are Rockford tweeters?

Just connect them to the speaker wires that goes to the speakers..

Anyone can do it..you can DIY youself la...not difficult to do...

I agree it's not the traditional way to connect tweeters to speakers cause usually there's a passive crossover for them...but in this case since the tweeters come with their own crossover, it's the same thing...might not be as good but still can la...

How are ur Infinity Components? Is it the Kappa series or Kappa perfect? Satisfied? No amp right?

I am also thinking of changing to infinity comp for my front spks, but will prob hook it up to an audison amp.

Thanks!

any bro here have good ice shop to recommend to re-wire my current amp/sub. it look like my current wiring got problem as i had already went back to the shop that i install but they keep adding this and that but still not able to solve my proble. My front com speaker alway got no sound. i need to turn the vol very loud then the sound suddenly came back but once i start my car tomorrow, the problem came back. Does anyone have the same experience can share?