Shull Turbocharged June 26, 2007 Share June 26, 2007 just recieve the reply from LTA..took them almost 2 weeks to address my question..here goes Dear Mr XXXX XXX XXX, PHILIPS CRYSTAL VISION H4 BULBS FEEDBACK NUMBER: XXXXXX We refer to your enquiry of 10/06/2007. We require all designs of vehicle lights to bear approved markings to show that they comply with international standards, such as those adopted in the European Union countries, Japan and the United States. The lights must also conform to their illuminated colour and intensity. We have, in principle, no objection to the use of after-market light bulbs on vehicles so long as such bulbs comply with the above requirements and are suitable for use on the vehicle concerned. We have been approached by Philips to evaluate some of their bulbs. We have no objection to the use of Philips Blue Vision, Silver Vision and Vision Plus bulbs as these models comply with ECE regulation and bear the ECE marking. However, for Philips Diamond Vision and Crystal Vision, we understand that these models do not comply with the internationally recognised standards and therefore do not permit the installation and use of such bulbs on vehicles. With regards to the use of after-market light bulbs that are suitable for your vehicle, you would have to consult the local agents for the aftermarket light bulb models that comply with our requirements. Please note that it is the responsibility of vehicle owners to ensure that their vehicle headlamps are properly aligned after replacing the bulbs so as not to cause glare and distraction to other road users; and that such bulbs do not exceed the wattage rating recommended by the vehicle manufacturer. We hope the above clarifies. Should you require further clarifications, please do not hesitate to contact me at 6553 5444. Thank you. Yours sincerely, (SIGNED IN LOTUS NOTES) MR. XXX XXX XXX SENIOR ENGINEERING OFFICER VEHICLE ENGINEERING DIVISION LAND TRANSPORT AUTHORITY ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tony76 1st Gear June 26, 2007 Share June 26, 2007 can see tat the bulbs must bear approved markings n oso, COMPLY FOR USE OF UR CAR MODEL. typical Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged June 26, 2007 Author Share June 26, 2007 typical garment answer.. but the main point is bolded and in red..only 1 sentence.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tony76 1st Gear June 26, 2007 Share June 26, 2007 sg no own standard one lah...everything oso must follow EU, US n nippon...hiaz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hades Neutral Newbie June 26, 2007 Share June 26, 2007 they scared if they set their own standards, kena accident liao no one to blame on mah ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tony76 1st Gear June 26, 2007 Share June 26, 2007 yahor..poor singaporeans Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iceshelterx Neutral Newbie July 2, 2007 Share July 2, 2007 best way to protect back side mahz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chemz Clutched July 2, 2007 Share July 2, 2007 i suppose its time they revise their website, it explicitly says so long wattage does not exceed the car manufacturer's recommendation, it's legal. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rtth84 1st Gear July 2, 2007 Share July 2, 2007 for the government sectors, if no black and white say can, means cannot. very negative government i say. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kanchelsk 2nd Gear July 2, 2007 Share July 2, 2007 CC EU policy: cover cacheng BCC US policy: betta cover cacheng Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dynaway 1st Gear July 2, 2007 Share July 2, 2007 wahha... if say yes any how.... then ppl get killed or injured then how???? who to blame???? jus like in the army...... the idiot on top scream at u to do something which u think is wrong... "THIS IS AN ORDER!!" will u do it???? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vit4wd 1st Gear July 2, 2007 Share July 2, 2007 Generally, the streets in S'pore are very brightly lighted. I don't see the need for these after mkt light bulbs, which can be very bright and glaring for on coming traffic. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_tee 2nd Gear July 7, 2007 Share July 7, 2007 i think if they do want to enforce pple wif HIDs will die first Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged July 8, 2007 Author Share July 8, 2007 i usually go up north leh..in fact, im posting this from msia.. at night, you'll really appreciate the throw and brightness of aftermarket bulbs and HIDs.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xefera 6th Gear July 8, 2007 Share July 8, 2007 but wouldn't vision plus be good enough? that is probably the best light you can get to stay within the legal limits unless the person is going for blue/white light Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged July 8, 2007 Author Share July 8, 2007 nv used VP before..so cant comment..but CV has at least a good 80-100% more throw than stock bulbs..the diff is obvious when you're side by side with another car on NSH..the difference is..WOW.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Smurfy76 Neutral Newbie July 8, 2007 Share July 8, 2007 wah .. was abt to buy the DV... until now..better think twice.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
EventH 1st Gear July 8, 2007 Share July 8, 2007 Any idea about Osram Silverstar or Cool Blue? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...