Tunge 1st Gear July 24, 2007 Share July 24, 2007 I thot the $10 increase is for sport channel (include 22 23 24 and new EPL channel)?? If seperate increase, that mean if i subscribe to to all sport channel, the total increase will be 20. Daylight robbery yah agree, from what i understand the price increase is for the sports package as a whole meaning inclusive of epl too. can someone clarify on that... if Starhub really gonna have a seperate EPL package for EPL matches which means must pay extra then they damn bxxxxxd liao lor, cos i subscribe to cable only cos of EPL in the first place. damn we r being cornered.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tunge 1st Gear July 24, 2007 Share July 24, 2007 [reply] seriously who follow EPL every week? ermmm.... actually i do... i try to catch as many games as possible, even the early morning mid week games... hiyah... how? kena by starhub liao cos sign contract wanna cancel also cannot. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear July 24, 2007 Share July 24, 2007 I think before they announce such thing, they got do their homework by analyzing the demand and price elasticity of these sport channels. Seems like to them its still pretty price inelastic. Feel that majority of the ppl will still subscribe after all. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheekg98 1st Gear July 24, 2007 Share July 24, 2007 all shd just go to internet to watch free EPL at overseas channel Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgnick 1st Gear July 24, 2007 Share July 24, 2007 It was stated that Starhub will not show EPL matches on Channel 23 & 24 which was run by ESS (ESPN & Star Sport) but introduce another new channel to show the next season EPL matches. They will also increase the fee of ESS by another $10 come October 2007. So to say, we have to pay for the increase at ESS plus another fee for new channel just for EPL. That's double fee for sport channel. Don't you think is too much. I enjoy ESS as they also show F1, Extreme Sports, Golf, beach volleyball, Asean football matches.......etc and with the new Channel just for EPL, I would be paying more. I am in the mind of cancelling the fee for ESS and just subscribe for EPL and waiting for the announcement of the cost for the new channel. If it is too high, I will cancel both and worst to worst, enjoy my EPL at the coffee shop downstair over a cup of coffee does saving all the fee. Any other views from MCF members or EPL fans. Cheers. Reading today's Today paper, it says "The new football channel will be available to all starhub digital cable sports group and digital terrestial television customers". Which mean u must subscribe to sports group then u can subscibe to EPL channel? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingcopa 1st Gear July 24, 2007 Share July 24, 2007 From past experience they know We only capable in NATO onli, they can tekan us for all they like after a few weeks of kpkbing, still LL subscribe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joetan23 Neutral Newbie July 24, 2007 Share July 24, 2007 I believe the $10 fee hike is for whole of sport channel as SH won the bid for the rights to EPL at a high price thus it was pass to the consumers..since ESS did not agree with the SH, SH will surely sell the rights to someone else thus having additional new channels...but 1 thing for sure is wont sell to ST.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Louisckp Neutral Newbie July 24, 2007 Share July 24, 2007 What they doing is world class smart move! Let us reflect on this: how many EPL match you can / want to watch in 1 channel? by spilting the channel apart into non-football & football channel, they are get the income from 2 source at any one time. must salute them! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Valencia Neutral Newbie July 24, 2007 Share July 24, 2007 It was stated that Starhub will not show EPL matches on Channel 23 & 24 which was run by ESS (ESPN & Star Sport) but introduce another new channel to show the next season EPL matches.They will also increase the fee of ESS by another $10 come October 2007. So to say, we have to pay for the increase at ESS plus another fee for new channel just for EPL. That's double fee for sport channel. Don't you think is too much. I enjoy ESS as they also show F1, Extreme Sports, Golf, beach volleyball, Asean football matches.......etc and with the new Channel just for EPL, I would be paying more. I am in the mind of cancelling the fee for ESS and just subscribe for EPL and waiting for the announcement of the cost for the new channel. If it is too high, I will cancel both and worst to worst, enjoy my EPL at the coffee shop downstair over a cup of coffee does saving all the fee. Any other views from MCF members or EPL fans. Cheers. if i read it my way...ch 23,24 will NOT SHOW EPL matches during matchday.... ONLY the new EPL ch will show a LIVE match...so if there is 2 match going on at the same time..we will not be able to flip the ch to watch both matches liao la....give you a new EPL channel but cut short of 1 LIVE match???? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sfhuang Clutched July 24, 2007 Share July 24, 2007 ...seriously who follow EPL every week? Got lah, those who bet soccer lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sfhuang Clutched July 24, 2007 Share July 24, 2007 Which mean u must subscribe to sports group then u can subscibe to EPL channel? Yep you're absolutely right. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear July 24, 2007 Share July 24, 2007 i bet i also dun watch...coz see liao tio tiang etc..more sianz one anyway theres some way to watch free one la...theres always someting call INTERNET Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear July 24, 2007 Share July 24, 2007 u hardcore epl fan... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
X37v Neutral Newbie July 24, 2007 Share July 24, 2007 huh??? am i missing something? 1 channel to replace 2 and with additional cost? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgnick 1st Gear July 24, 2007 Share July 24, 2007 Major change to 'live' EPL games By Lim Han Ming July 23, 2007 WATCHING English football on television will be a brand new experience this season. For the past three years, football fans in Singapore have been tuning in to ESPN STAR Sports' (ESS) channels 23 and 24 for their weekly fix of English Premier League (EPL) action. That is all set to change when the 2007/2008 season kicks off on 11 Aug. Sources told The New Paper that the EPL matches will not be shown on ESS channels this season. Last year, StarHub pipped incumbent ESS and SingTel to clinch the EPL screening rights for Singapore for the next three seasons. If ESS had wanted to continue to screen the EPL matches, they would have to buy the rights from StarHub. The source said that, for this season, a deal with ESS did not materialise, and as a result, StarHub will be showing the EPL matches on other channels. It is not known which channels the matches will be shown, or whether there will be more matches as a result of the price hike. Details are expected to be released soon. When contacted, StarHub declined comment. Last month, the cable pay-TV operator announced that it would increase its basic pay-TV subscription fee by $4 from $20 to $24 (without GST). It took effect earlier this month. From October, sports fans will have to pay $25 a month, up from the current $15, to get their regular dose of sporting action. It caused an uproar among the paying public as they protested against the price hike. But StarHub explained that the price hike was a consequence of the escalating costs of the broadcast rights. StarHub's winning bid was US$80 million ($120m), believed to be four times more than what ESS paid the FA Premier League three years ago. With ESS out of the picture, football fans will be asking if they will get to watch the same pre-game and post-game shows such as Here We Go and Final Score hosted by ESS presenter John Dykes. It is believed that StarHub will not be buying the content that ESS produces for its EPL coverage. According to the source, StarHub is in talks with another broadcast network company to screen the EPL matches. In the past, ESS was able to bring in former Premiership footballers such as Ian Rush, Bryan Robson and John Barnes as guest pundits. It is not sure if the new broadcast network company will be doing the same. But one thing the subscribers can expect is that the quality of the matches on television will not be compromised. That is because StarHub receives the feed from TWI, the sport production arm of IMG Media - the same company which ESS previously worked with. TWI's deal with the FA Premier League offers international licensees all 380 matches each season live via satellite. It also covers a weekly highlights show, a midweek magazine and a preview programme on Friday nights. It is not sure if StarHub's deal with TWI covers the above-mentioned. PRICE HIKE In response to media queries, Thomas Ee, StarHub's senior vice-president of cable, fixed and Internet Protocol Services, said last month that his company will do its best to make sure that subscribers are not short-changed as a result of the price hike. He said: 'We would like to assure our customers that StarHub remains committed to presenting the best and most comprehensive sports coverage, and we will always strive to do so in value-for-money packages. 'We will be introducing new promotional packages and discounts for our sports customers in the near future.' Ken Yong, 32, a Manchester United fan, hopes that StarHub will provide comprehensive coverage of the EPL this season. He said: 'I think I'm right to say that football fans in Singapore are used to ESS's coverage of the EPL. 'We are used to seeing John Dykes' face and his team of guest analysts. 'I just hope that whatever StarHub comes up with, it will be as good, if not better.' http://newpaper.asia1.com.sg/sports/story/...,136710,00.html? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgnick 1st Gear July 24, 2007 Share July 24, 2007 STARHUB TO GO WITH TEN By Lim Han Ming July 24, 2007 GOODBYE ESPN STAR Sports (ESS), hello Ten Sports. Ten Sports is the leading sports broadcaster in South Asia. Yesterday, The New Paper broke the news that StarHub will not be teaming up with previous incumbent ESS to screen 'live' Premiership matches next season. The cable pay-TV operator is also unlikely to buy the local programming content produced by ESS. A reliable source told The New Paper that StarHub has turned to Dubai-based television broadcaster Ten Sports to be its content provider for next season's coverage of the English Premier League. Ten Sports was not available for comment. When contacted yesterday, Thomas Ee, StarHub's senior vice-president for Cable, Fixed and IP Services, said: 'We will be announcing more exciting details of our sports packages very shortly, before the upcoming Premier League season. 'Fans can keep a lookout for more details regarding our sports packages and promotional offers soon.' Football fans in Singapore may not be familiar with Ten Sports. TOP SPORTS CHANNEL But it is the top sports channel in South Asia, covering markets such as India, Sri Lanka, Maldives, Bangladesh, Pakistan, Nepal, Hong Kong, Japan and the Middle East. It reaches an estimated 48 million homes in the Middle East, Europe and Asia. Launched in 2002, Ten Sports is owned by Dubai-based Taj Television Limited, which is jointly-owned by Bukhatir Investments Limited and Zee Telefilms. It is predominantly strong in its coverage of cricket and hockey, which is hardly surprising, considering that both those sports attract a huge following in that region. But Ten Sports is no stranger to football, as it owns the exclusive rights to the Champions League, the Italian Serie A and the German Bundesliga. However, its collaboration with StarHub will be its first foray into the English Premier League. In addition, Ten Sports has exclusive rights to the matches of the cricket boards of Pakistan, Sri Lanka and the West Indies. It is also licensed to air all premier hockey tournaments of the International Hockey Federation and major tennis tournaments such as the US Open and Indian Open. In golf, Ten Sports provides regular coverage of the US PGA Tour, the European Tour and the Indian PGA Tour. Ten Sports is also into horseracing, which is hugely popular in the Middle East, the MotoGP and WWE wrestling. Ironically, the head honcho of Ten Sports used to work at ESPN STAR Sports. Chief executive officer Chris McDonald spent eight years at ESS overseeing advertising sales, marketing and strategic planning as one of its senior vice-presidents. He played a key role in the launch of ESPN in Asia. He was also the brains behind the Asian X-Games and the Asian Bowling Tour. Perhaps Ten Sports' strength in producing its own magazine shows tipped the scale in its favour. It has one of the most advanced broadcast and production facilities in the Middle East. With a state-of-the-art studio, Ten Sports is able to produce its own magazine shows such as The Chevrolet Cricket Show, The ATP show (tennis), The Winning Post (horse-racing) and World Hockey Magazine. Like ESS, Ten Sports also hosts studio shows for its coverage of the Champions League. To provide added value for its subscribers, Ten Sports engages the services of well-known sports personalities to be its guest analysts and commentators. Some of their cricket experts include Sanjay Manjrekar, Rameez Raja, Ian Chappell, Imran Khan, Ian Healy and Tony Greig. http://newpaper.asia1.com.sg/sports/story/...,136786,00.html? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ecaf Neutral Newbie July 24, 2007 Share July 24, 2007 i'm not liking this.. all the talk is about EPL, but what about our fortnightly dose of F1? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgnick 1st Gear July 24, 2007 Share July 24, 2007 Looks like we're gonna get less F1 and more ... CRICKET ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...