Tyrant13 Neutral Newbie August 1, 2007 Share August 1, 2007 Being a newbie, I have some questions on my setup. Alpine 9887 RF P450.4 (94RMS X 4 @ 14.4V) ---> Vifa XT25 Tweeter & XG18 Midbass RF T5002 ----> P3 Sub Rodek Interconnects Running Active 1) Now i am poisoned and wished to improve my current setup. Thinking of changing my rcas and speaker wires, but dont wish to spend too much thus asking some recommendations on some value for money & does the job cables. Does spending this sum of money to change rcas worth it? 2) My Vifa XG18 is an 8ohms driver, using only 94RMS @ 14.4V, any prob with that? 3) Contemplating to change my tweeter to Morel Supremo. But with 94RMS, can it drive this morel 200RMS tweeter? 4) Matching Morel Supremo and XG18, any prob with that? Pls help me on these!!! Thanks in advance. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spinworkx Clutched August 1, 2007 Share August 1, 2007 Haha, kena poisoned by me izzit :) Like i said...you need to actually hear the speakers forst..see if you like it or not... the tweeters are 200W RMS but you dun need 200W to drive it, it's only tweeters. As to maching the speakers with the tweeters, you won't know until you try..I was matching Supremo with DB Drive speakers before...it was ok...your Vifa should be even bettr than the DB speakers..so shouldn't be a problem...can always try then see how... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic August 2, 2007 Share August 2, 2007 bro, u work anywhere in the east? can i audit ur setup? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spinworkx Clutched August 2, 2007 Share August 2, 2007 Hehe, i stay in the east... but just come for meetup la :) Got many better setups to hear... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic August 2, 2007 Share August 2, 2007 i got study and family commitments during the nights leh.. so i'm only free during office hours since i'm doing sales and quite mobile.. if u dun mind i can meet you at your workplace for a short while to get poisoned? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tyrant13 Neutral Newbie August 2, 2007 Author Share August 2, 2007 Ya, poisoned by you!!! I had actually listened to my installer setup of morel and also Roy Altis 2 way Morel Setup that day. So quite tempted to change. I am thinking of getting another 2 channel amp ( RF T6002, 200RMS X 2 ) to drive the morel tweeters and bridged my existing RF P4504 to drive the mid bass. Or thinking of getting a RF T6004, 125RMS X 4 to replace my existing P4504. Prob is whether my 4awg power cables be sufficient for this additional amp setup? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spinworkx Clutched August 2, 2007 Share August 2, 2007 Yes, 4awg is ore than enogh... Your problem is not hte power cable, it will be finding space for another amp...and by adding another amp, you will need to change your distribution block... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tyrant13 Neutral Newbie August 2, 2007 Author Share August 2, 2007 Thanks for the advises. I had planned to put the extra amp under my car seats. Just another plan in mind. Hee. If my pods can hold the Supremos, most probably will get it. Poisons!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spinworkx Clutched August 2, 2007 Share August 2, 2007 Well, no hurry in getting an extra amp..you can alwasy try to just change the tweets and hear if it's ok...most probably it will be...then you no need another amp..save $$ and space also...if cannot, you can always add the amp after the tweeters :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mikadosg Neutral Newbie August 3, 2007 Share August 3, 2007 Hi i would like to borrow this tread and ask a few questions. my set up HU-p80 h701 processor Focal 165v1 kicker C12 sub amp jbl cs400 cs200 monoblock do u think my amp is suitable for the set up?thks all i.c.e guru.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Clarence07 Neutral Newbie August 4, 2007 Share August 4, 2007 Hi bro I can't comment on your amp but I would like to note your very interesting combination of using a Pioneer HU with a Alpine processor. How is the Sound Quality? was it better than juz with P80 alone. cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mikadosg Neutral Newbie August 4, 2007 Share August 4, 2007 hi clarence07 the sound quality is better compared to p80 alone.but one thing is thr..there's hissing sound..will go optical with an alpine set.p80 any takers? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Clarence07 Neutral Newbie August 4, 2007 Share August 4, 2007 Hi Mikadosg Yup, i heard that if using rca to connect to H701 would have hjissing sound. Just curious if the hissing sound is only hear when you are awitching off the HU? Alpine HU with H701! great! Do remember to get a unit which has optical connection.. Some HU may need C701 controller. cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mikadosg Neutral Newbie August 4, 2007 Share August 4, 2007 ya the hissing sound is obvious whn i off the HU.when listening to music not veri obvious...p80 is a great HU juz tat i need optical..wanted clean sound n no hiss.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spinworkx Clutched August 4, 2007 Share August 4, 2007 (edited) Yea, indeed, i think you're the only person i know using a P80 with a 701...you got controller right? Then maybe you'd want to swith to the Alpine 9887...you 'll get better sound than the P80 and all the controls from the 701 and it's connected via AiNet so it's digital... Hehe, wasted i just swapped my 9887 with Tyrant13 for his P80 last week :) That's how i know the 9887 sound is better....but P80 easier to use.. Since you already got the 701...might as well pair it up with a better sounding HU like the 9887 Edited August 4, 2007 by Spinworkx Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kermit 1st Gear August 4, 2007 Share August 4, 2007 Ainet is not digital.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zambik 2nd Gear August 4, 2007 Share August 4, 2007 Get mine?? I just so happen have a 9861 on sale... Can connect directly to your H701 via optical. I also selling my processor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged August 4, 2007 Share August 4, 2007 (edited) hmmm your processor happen tobe H701???.... Interested.... How muchy??? And since I am at it... anyone got W202 for sale???? kekekke Edited August 4, 2007 by Nlatio ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...