Budget ICE

Winq

hi guys, i'm a real newbie in ICE.

goin to get my new SSS soon.. so intend to get sound system change.

need some advice from the experts here..

intend to get

4 x speakers

2 x tweeter

1 x 12'' sub woofer

1 x centre speaker

1 x 4 channel amp for speaker

1 x 2 channel amp for woofer n centre speaker

i think this is all i need.. i dunno still can get wad..

my budget is ard 2.5 to 3k.

is it enough?

and wad brand will i get with my budget?

thanks in advance..

simple,

get a good HU,

ie P80 or 9887, ard $800, so that leaves u with 2.2k for ur other stuff

get a decent 4 channel amp + monoblk for woofer.

get one set of component spkrs for ur front plus a decent sub.

and tada!

drop by tmr's meetup lah if u have more questions lah.

ditch the centre spkr.

cheers!

Hi

My car came with a "made-in-china" DVD HU, roof top monitor and stock speakers.

Spoke to a installer and convinced to upgarde, hence got myself a 4-ch amp, a set components, a set coxial, 2 ch amp and 10"sub.

Realised that there are no sub preout on the HU and on EQ adjustment function. I initially tot of getting a addional new HU purely for quality CDs while retaining the DVD HU on the 2nd Din. The new HU will come with full tuning functions (TA, EQ) and the old HU fulfil my DVD needs.

I'v econsidered a 2DIN DVD player but most didn't come with EQ function (needs external processor)

Alternatively, the installer proposed a cheaper solution to add-on a "good" Preamp. (PPI as rec by installer).

Preamp is PPI, HU is 9887 or 9965. If the preamp is almost 1/4 price of new HU, is it worth the investment? I feel that preamp setup is kindof "stone age" in ICE setup.

Knowing that I will not go Active. What is a good option. Thanks.

Preamp is PPI

HU is 9887 or 9965.

lup a H701 on top of ur DVD HU, can liao..

OR

if out of budget, get a another HU, wire it up to such that it is the main source player.

most of the better HUs have an aux out. use this AUX out to aux INTO ur china made DVD player. so that when u wanna play DVD, press the aux button on ur HU, u can watch dvd liao..

aniway, 9965 is ex, so watch out.

9887 would fit u most.

have fun!

eh but my swift sport come with built in hu.. the SE told mi if i change the HU i cant control the button on my steering wheel.. plus the shape of the built in hu veri weird.. how ahr?

tell ur SE to suck my c*ck ( ur SE chio or not?)

they do make the kits for the swift that enables u to fit in after market HUs.

go and check out the PI swifts. all have this. its easily avaliable

also, they also sell kits that allow u to interface ur steerin controls with ur aftermarket HU.

depends how much u wanna pay lor.. but with ur budget( which is quite healthy), i think shouldnt be a problem lah..

its up to u lah!

cheers!

simple,

get a good HU,

ie P80 or 9887, ard $800, so that leaves u with 2.2k for ur other stuff

get a decent 4 channel amp + monoblk for woofer.

get one set of component spkrs for ur front plus a decent sub.

and tada!

drop by tmr's meetup lah if u have more questions lah.

ditch the centre spkr.

cheers!

Bro, just wondering. [:/] Is there a difference between a 2ch amp and a monoblock amp??? Or is a 2ch amp a monoblock amp??? [laugh]

First basic thing to understand. Subs are driven with only 1ch, ie, mono channel.

Monoblocks are single channel and able to drive 2ohm or even 1ohm subs. Normal 2 ch amps can only drive 4 ohm subs, they are 2ohm stable at 2ch only, but not stable at 2 or 1 ohm when bridged into 1ch. Only very high end or expensive 2ch ones are 2ohm stable when bridged into 1 ch to drive subs.

That's the main difference between a mono and a 2ch. Having said that, if your sub is a 4 ohm, there's no difference.

Edited by Dunno

You can change the HU and still have working controls on the steering wheel. I'm driving a swift, installed a aftermarket HU and still have working steering wheel controls.

You can pop by the meetup, better to look and hear for yourself.

hi guys, i'm a real newbie in ICE.

goin to get my new SSS soon.. so intend to get sound system change.

need some advice from the experts here..

intend to get

4 x speakers

2 x tweeter

1 x 12'' sub woofer

1 x centre speaker

1 x 4 channel amp for speaker

1 x 2 channel amp for woofer n centre speaker

i think this is all i need.. i dunno still can get wad..

my budget is ard 2.5 to 3k.

is it enough?

and wad brand will i get with my budget?

thanks in advance..

watct out the weight of all these equipments may come to abt 30 kgs, yr FC may go up.