Ping911 Neutral Newbie November 8, 2007 Share November 8, 2007 Besides Skateline, what other alternative "schools" provide inline skating classes? Any recommendations? Family want to learn skating, so will be kids from 4 & 7 and also wife. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karebu 1st Gear November 8, 2007 Share November 8, 2007 (edited) You can try rollerplus (pasir ris 65833437/ woodlands 62693248). They do give lessons. I think most shops have some lobang. Here are the shops you can also try (but I can't guarantee they do teach). hvper sport (marine cover 64464648) skaters world (queensway 64721979, peninsula shoppin ctr 63376300) (don't kill me if you can't get thru. i got the numbers from name card i dug out. ) Edited November 8, 2007 by Karebu Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged November 9, 2007 Share November 9, 2007 aiyo..self learn lah.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simplyme Neutral Newbie November 9, 2007 Share November 9, 2007 i self learn oso... still in the learning process... mus learn thru fall down den can Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged November 9, 2007 Share November 9, 2007 go self learn. I did it that way too. And I never even had a scratch. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simplyme Neutral Newbie November 9, 2007 Share November 9, 2007 buy the guard can le... wun get scars... but mus learn how to fall down... i fell on the butt which is wrong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged November 9, 2007 Share November 9, 2007 Don't believe in using guard. I rather break my leg than to wear that. Fell on butt ok what. The butt has the gluteal muscle there + some fats (depending on your body type), so falling there would get a good cushion. If fall backwards, use butt. If fall front, use knees. Never use wrist to capture a fall. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simplyme Neutral Newbie November 9, 2007 Share November 9, 2007 fall on butt might injured the spine?? i jus can't control always will fall on butt... which i heard is bad... guards no use meh... thks to guards... no scar yet Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icetrap 2nd Gear November 9, 2007 Share November 9, 2007 Besides Skateline, what other alternative "schools" provide inline skating classes? Any recommendations? Family want to learn skating, so will be kids from 4 & 7 and also wife. So troublesome I teach you la! I used to work for skateline. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rentabass Neutral Newbie November 9, 2007 Share November 9, 2007 Lessons are good to learn some basics: i.e. stand on two feet, move around, proper falling techniques, etc) Beyond that, you're better off learning almost everything else on your own. In fact, I can't help but say that a large number of "instructors" aren't even qualified enough to teach me, a self-taught skater. Just don't be afraid to fall - The more you fall, the faster you learn how to cushion your fall and you'll build confidence and enhance learning. Same reason why kids learn how to skate really quickly; they aren't afraid of falling. Just make sure you have the proper safety equipment, so you don't end up leave skin and flesh all over the ground - I learned the hard way. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ping911 Neutral Newbie November 10, 2007 Author Share November 10, 2007 THANKS all for the tips. It's for the kids, so will probably just let them take a few lessons to get the basics, and then let them learn on their own thereafter. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Familymanz 3rd Gear November 10, 2007 Share November 10, 2007 buy the guard can le... wun get scars... but mus learn how to fall down... i fell on the butt which is wrong yup... the very basic of inline skating..... to fall forward, so tat can use hand to break the fall.... if fall backward & try to use hand to break fall.... most likely hand will break I know of this basic long ago... during the roller skating days Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karebu 1st Gear November 15, 2007 Share November 15, 2007 That really depends on how you do it. Falling forward actually increases chance of hand breaking. Unless you can combine knee+arm (think length) and not just wrist+hand. I would think the former is extremely awkward and can possibly cuse a posterior cruciate ligament tear in the knee if the impact is very big. It's safer to fall backwards, falling flat on with a _combination_ of arm/back/butt/sides/possibly thighs and not falling on your hands like you would prop yourself when doing bicep dips in the gym. I'm a judoka, and a skater. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slowmo Clutched November 15, 2007 Share November 15, 2007 don't quite agree with you here. reason for guards is always allow the fella to fall forward and break fall properly. fall backwards, i've seen ppl wearing helmets fall backwards and lights-out for 1 min because head hit the ground. inline skating I think everyone will want to avoid falling butt first. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slowmo Clutched November 15, 2007 Share November 15, 2007 probably your judo trainings helps you how to break falls ba. for me, i a noob at inline, and i've seen a lot (understatement) of backward falls that involves flinging arms... so you can imagine how the fall is going to end up looking like. i'm curious why did you say knee+arm will cause ligament tear in knee when there's proper guards? care to enlighten me on this? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rentabass Neutral Newbie November 15, 2007 Share November 15, 2007 That's because they're not doing it properly. It's alright to fall forwards onto your hands if you're travelling slowly, but if you're moving at high speeds, it's always safer to slide out the fall by cushioning with your thighs, butt, back and elbows - try falling at high speeds in an ice skating rink, you'll see what I mean. The problem that beginners face with falling backwards is that they tense up and forget to tuck in their heads to prevent striking the ground. The most important rule of falling is to relax, so your body can cushion the fall. More often than not, breakages and injuries are sustained when skaters tense up and forcibly break their falls in an awkward manner instead of flopping to the ground in a controlled way. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karebu 1st Gear November 15, 2007 Share November 15, 2007 Knee + arm would be the standard drill taught by skating schools. That is, to fall on your knee and then your palm/wrist. Realistically speaking, there's only so much of a cushion/buffer a guard can give. Unless you're wearing ultra bulky knee guards. I would say heavy people at high speeds are more prone to ligament tear. Compare the surface area of the knee + arm to butt(cheeks?)+back, and factor in the fact that the latter is rather fleshy, there would be more force going straight into the knee/hands. http://orthopedics.about.com/cs/kneeinjuries/a/pcl.htm How is the PCL injured?The most common mechanism of injury of the PCL is the so-called "dashboard injury." When the knee is bent, and an object forcefully hits the tibia backwards, this can push the tibia back, and cause a PCL tear. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karebu 1st Gear November 15, 2007 Share November 15, 2007 Tucking in of head is extremely important. In fact I think all skaters should learn judo breakfalls. Falling is drilled so much so it becomes instinctive. The most important rule of falling is to relax, so your body can cushion the fall. Yup, that too. Which I why I wonder why TKD people like to kiai/shout/'cake' when receiving hits. To me, 'hard' on 'hard' = injury. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...