Poortraveller 1st Gear January 7, 2008 Author Share January 7, 2008 Glad you have entered into the world of homebrewing!!!One of the best place to seek support is to visit iBrew's forum http://ibrew.com.sg/forum/. I have an IPA (India Pale Ale) in the fermenter as we speak, will be bottled in 2 days, should be good for CNY. Tip: to find out if the carbonation is good, squeeze the filled bottles, it should be very hard. For first timers, please open the bottle over a sink as you have added too much carbonation drops or sugar at bottling, this results in "gushers". You'll also notice that after chilling to about 5C, the bottle may soften a bit, this is due to CO2 being absorbed into the beer, but that's perfectly alright. Cheers and enjoy your homebrew! can i use normal sugar for bottling? i found 3 packet of normal sugar and i pour into one of the glass bottle i have ... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Poortraveller 1st Gear January 7, 2008 Author Share January 7, 2008 i used household beach from NTUC, diluted 200ml into 25L or water, is that ok? i used kao bleach ... but seem like after washing, the smell still there ... smell like vomit Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Poortraveller 1st Gear January 7, 2008 Author Share January 7, 2008 'one-step sanitiser' those liquid found in hospital oso consider as one?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tunge 1st Gear January 7, 2008 Share January 7, 2008 just finished 1 bottle of my first ever self brew beer!!! it's was pretty good, not top quality but well at least it taste, looks and smells like beer! that's all i asked. when i pour out the ice cold beer into my glass i was so excited that it does actually foam like normal beer... haha... let my dad n mum try and they gave it the thumbs up.... now gonna condition till CNY n let friends n relatives try. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Layangman Neutral Newbie January 8, 2008 Share January 8, 2008 Yes, you may use regular white sugar for "priming", the term used for adding sugar during bottling for carbonation. There are of course several other options like honey, gula melaka, brown sugar etc... One important point, DO NOT USE TOO MUCH as CO2 build-up may cause your bottles to explode. Here's a good site that'll give you a guide on ratio of sugar to beer for priming: http://www.geocities.com/lesjudith/HomeBre...rewingTips.html Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Layangman Neutral Newbie January 8, 2008 Share January 8, 2008 mmm...not sure about this though...but as long as it is "food-grade" it can be safely used. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Layangman Neutral Newbie January 8, 2008 Share January 8, 2008 CONGRAT!!! Exciting right??? Actually brewing is easy, as long as you stick to the cardinal rule: CLEANLINESS & SANITATION. For cleaning the fermenter AFTER you have bottled your beer, please try NOT to use commercial dishwashing liquids. Since there is no oily residue in brewing, I usually just use a hose to rinse out the yeast cake. Any other stubborn residues, I just rub with my hands till it comes off. Another good alternative is to use baking soda, just a tablespoon into the fermenter, fill till above the stain level and let soak for a couple of hours, stains will come off easily. Baking Soda (not baking powder) is used in food, so its very safe, good and cheaply available. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear January 8, 2008 Share January 8, 2008 lol! Didn't know there's so many beer lovers here I'm getting sick of people looking down on beer drinkers. Everyone wants to look atas drink Chivas and Martel... machiam machiam only. Well we should know the mentality of many Singaporeans. I'm a whisky person myself (Chivas is ok only... gimme a single malt anyday), and I don't really drink beer because I don't normally like the taste. Nothing to look down on. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear January 8, 2008 Share January 8, 2008 I'm getting sick of people looking down on beer drinkers. Everyone wants to look atas drink Chivas and Martel... machiam machiam only. talk abt Chivas ah, i have a bottle at home, tried to drink it on the rocks a few times but somehow just cannot get used to the "taste" leh, too strong. so usually mix w green tea or coke... really cannot understand how people seem to enjoy drinking hard liqour on the rocks leh.. anyone here can? really can enjoy like wine ah? It's all about taste. I'm a scotch person and i don't like blended. Single malts are the best to me. Thats why Chivas CMI without mixers. I'll be back this sat. Will try and arrange with gadgeter for a MCF drinking session soon after (no driving allowed). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chisiang 2nd Gear January 8, 2008 Share January 8, 2008 I quite like the Singleton 18 years. The taste is awesome! But pricely Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KapitanE 1st Gear January 8, 2008 Share January 8, 2008 I duunnoo lah... simi premium brand... I only a choa ahbeng who lim cheevas and get high.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chisiang 2nd Gear January 8, 2008 Share January 8, 2008 ha ha... Patrick, you drink anything with alcohol in it man reminds me to buy a bottle of high concentration Chinese 五粮液 for you the next time I go China Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Layangman Neutral Newbie January 8, 2008 Share January 8, 2008 the Idophor sounds like a good choice, easy to use... probably will get that. thanks dude! oh yah what flavours have u tried so far n which ur fave? am thinking of brewing some stout next! Just like you, I started out with "kits" from iBrew. Then I dabbled into all grain, meaning instead of the kit's beer concentrate, I use malted barley, specialty grains (for colors and flavors), different strains of yeasts, hops and even spices. Of course all-grain (AG) brewing is very time consuming...abt 5hrs start to finish, but you get 100% control over the beer. My favorite: IPA, love the high hop aroma and high alcohol. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seabass_sg Neutral Newbie January 8, 2008 Share January 8, 2008 interesting i might try diy beer in near future but will have to get tips from u guy hope u all no mind . . Haha...I don't mind being the resident homebrew advisor,,,, 10Q will consult the bros here when I am ready . . . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Poortraveller 1st Gear January 8, 2008 Author Share January 8, 2008 can drink liao huh?? maybe i try 1 bottle tonight Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Poortraveller 1st Gear January 8, 2008 Author Share January 8, 2008 mmm...not sure about this though...but as long as it is "food-grade" it can be safely used. sorry ... but where can i find iodophor? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Layangman Neutral Newbie January 8, 2008 Share January 8, 2008 iBrew carries it: http://ibrew.com.sg/Sanitizers.asp Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Layangman Neutral Newbie January 9, 2008 Share January 9, 2008 So...have you tried a bottle yet? Results? I will be bottling mine tonight. This brew, an IPA had spent the better part of 5 weeks in secondary @ 20C, it is now clearer and well carbonated. Just nice for CNY. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...