Need Advice on Stream ICE setup

Baka

Hi, I am thinking of getting a Stream from PI, but need advice on the following:

- Is the stock speakers good enough? Is the stock coaxial one or component speakers?

- Is there an all-in-one 2-din DVD player with reverse camera display and GPS navigator and digital channel TV tuner system? Where can I get one and what is the price for a normal decent system?

- Lastly, I also need a rooftop monitor (for back seat passengers) that connects to the 2-din HU infront.

Wow, sounds like ideal setup, but think it is highly possible. Thanks in advance! smile.gif

Pt 1: Stock speakers no matter what car are never good enough hehe...some are acceptable..but none are "good" enough...in fact, even if you change...sometimes it's still not "good enough"

Pt2: There are 2 DIN players that have all te features you want...but they're all OPTIONAL add ons...Reverse camera needs to be bought, DTV needs to be bought as well, and so does the GPS...all additional accessories.

2 main brands that have all this...Pioneer and Alpine..both sell accessories that can do all the above..

Pt3: Yes, all DVD players have video output that lets you connect extra monitors regardless of what type of monitor.

So basically EVERYTHING you mentioned is possible...just need $$ to achieve....

Hehe, to do up everything properly...at least 5k and above for the bare minimum :)

Got cheapo setup too [;)]

- change/add a set of front component speakers with tweeters and crossover (S$200+)

- get an china no-brand AOI 2-din with everything you wanted above (with built-in bluetooth for phone calls, and analog TV tuner, Agis Maps for Sgp/ML too), except DVB-T (S$1200+)

- lots of budget rooftop LCDs in the market (around S$300+)

One example of the china brand HU is http://forwell.manufacturer.globalsources....-DVD-Player.htm

BTW, the GUI suks, and no price for guessing why I know...

However, having suggested these, I would caution you to ask questions like:

- Do you want to listen to radio while needing to be guided by GPS at the same time? (most systems above can only do one thing at a time; the above can't [rolleyes] )

- Do you want to have the ability to let the rear rooftop LCD show a [different] DVD movie while you do GPS or maybe even tune in to radio in front? (more expensive ones got dual channels thingy)

Other notes:

- Digital TV tuner add-on cost anywhere from $100 to $500+ for the dual or quad antennas type which is supposingly give more clarity; but still depends very much on blockage in Singapore's urban area.

- I suggested just the front component speakers above, using your stock HU, as this alone will make significant improvement to your sound. Else there's no end to upgrading for sound systems.

- Reverse camera cost another $150++.

So in all, below $2000 still possible [pirate]

Edited by Prosumer

1. Change the stock speaker,as it is hopeless.

2a. Buy from oversea, the Kenwood DNX7100 or 7200 as it has the best review at:

http://www.malsingmaps.com/forums/viewtopi...82e4cfef0f8ceca

2b. Buy local: Alpine, Pioneer, DAUF, Kenwood 7039/8039 with external GPS module, Panasonic with Garmin GVN52/53 and many more. Able to use touchscreen for GPS map.

2c. Buy local but cannot control GPS through touch screen. Most common unit like Sony, Kenwood and JVC have navigation/reverse camera video input. Just buy a add on module and connect to it, set to navigation on your headunit. Still could enjoy radio while viewing GPS map, but no touchscreen for GPS.

3. Just buy the roof mount monitor, recommend at least 8" and above. All 2 Din DVD player has at least 2 video output. You can view the GPS map from the front monitor while your family enjoy the DVD movie from the roof mount monitor.

Wah didn't expect so many good advice here within a day.

From the many expert advice, think I will go for the following setup, with some more new questions:

1) Change front stock speakers with Component speakers and tweeters and crossover.

Qn: Should I get the PI to do it for me or do it myself after collecting the car?

2) Get 2din DVD HU to integrated with reverse camera, digital tv tuner, reverse camera and bluetooth to phone. I will install the GPS navigator (Garmin Nuvi 200 for SGD$500) separately so that I can see dvd or listen to radio and use GPS unit at the same time.

Qn: Some brothers here have recommended certain brands/models, but can I request for the PI to specifically install these brands? Note that the PI has offered these items in his accessories sheet but did not state the brand/models.

3) Get a separate rooftop monitor that is connected to the front HU directly.

Qn: I have a newbie question on this - I thought under law we are not supposed to display movies or TV at the front HU when car is moving for safety reason. Heard there is a feature where the unit can automatically turn off the movie or TV when car is moving. If the rooftop monitor is set to show what the front HU is showing, then would it be disruptive for the rooftop monitor audience?

Too much advice may make decisions difficult too [;)]

PI vs outside purchase depends... but I guess you're in the better position to consider the price, convenience, etc. If no hurry, do lots of research online first.

Actually, after I got a similar setup above (not for Stream, but sama sama lah) I then discover that a "car pc" may suite me better. There are forums dedicated just for that.

All decent front HU with movie player have a wire that you can ask the installer to connect to the hand brake signals; such that when it's released, the display is blanko except the GPS, etc. My china hu can even enable/disable this "feature" by holding on to one of the remote control button for 3 seconds [sly] - just make sure the installer connect that wire for you, they may say no need just to save effort.

Again, better hu come with dual channel for videos and radio/etc. such that you can control the rear display independently. Another option is simply to get a rooftop display that have its own DVD player/slot.

Got the breakdown for a few components described earlier..

JVC KW-AVX800 2DIN DVD player - $1350

CCD Reverse camera with night vision - $180

Rooftop LCD monitor - $400

TV Antenna digital - $550

Went to web to look for the JVC KW-AVX800 review and it seems to be able to do everything except its interface with Ipod and steering wheel sux, which luckily I am not concern with. Is the JVC KW-AVX800 worth the price or is there other better model with the same price range?

Go to Sim Lim Tower to check out their prices for JVC KW-AVX800. I was quoted less than $1200, local set with warranty, if I remember correctly. That was on the 2nd floor, one of the shops beside the escalator. But that was 4 or 5 months ago lor, so memory not good liao.

If you source around or know some installers very well, you can get the W202E at $1.5k.

Wow can save $150 just by going Sim Lim Tower! thumbsup.gif

Did you install it in the end? Can give some review of the DVD player HU?

What is W202E? I thought JVC800 is already very good already.. tongue.gif

W202 2 DIN DVD with iPod fullspeed. Can also add Alpine GPS unit.

Works well with 701 processor. W202 + 701 = very good sound for an active setup that's relatively affordable. Factor in price of good amps + components to complete the deal (like Focal K2P Upgraded)

Personally, I prefer to tell the PI to rebate on their ICE, and install myself at one of the reputable shops.

Edited by Vblaster_w211

Wow so sophisticated. I am a total newbie in ICE and I am not interested in iPod, so JVC800 should be able to meet my needs. I would want to see TV and use GPS at the same time, so I am thinking of getting a separate GPS navigator installed on my dashboard. Maybe will go Sim Lim tower to look for Garmin Nuvi 200 for the GPS (or higher version if price is good).

For the ICE speakers, intend to spend just about $300 for the audio shop to install watever component + tweeters + crossover the budget can do.

Sounds to me you're more into a simple DVD unit to watch shows, a separate GPS for navi, and basic sound.

In that case, just look for a cheap 2 DIN DVD unit. May want to cater for amp to drive speakers though. For cheap and good speakers, can consider Impact.

I didn't buy the AVX800, was only asking for fun cos I just sold my AVX700 (no longer in production and replaced by AVX800) for a W202E. I used to use the JVC AVX700 which is the same as AVX800 except without touchscreen. Frankly, the sound quality of the Alpine W202E (also a DVD player with 6.5" screen) beats the AVX700 flat, even without using the H701 sound processor. My wife with her not-so-sensitive ears can also tell the difference.

Then of course, W202E costs $400+ more and does not have a SD card reader.

If your main usage is for movies, then need not be so particular about sound quality. I listen to CDs 99% of the time so I'm particular about the music.

Feel free to drop by any of the ICE meetups if you want to audit my setup. I usually attend the Wed ones. Fri ones sometimes if my wife gives the green light, I'll be there also. [thumbsup]

Edited by Dunno

Thanks for the lobang, went there and got quotation of $800+, and need to pay another $200 for blue tooth adaptor. think this deal is not bad.

However, that shop dun have garmin nuvi gps navigator.. went to sim lim sq and got quotation of $599 for nuvi200... thinking of getting this nuvi200 also tongue.gif

i think jvc800 should meet my needs for now... i can't imagine speeding another $2-3k to do up a decent ICE package.. rather spend that money to get LCD tv at home.. I am already happy with basic component speakers setup.

maybe if i strike 4D will consider more ICE hehehe... laugh.gif

Just make sure it's a local set with warranty card. They sell export sets too, which is about $100+ cheaper than warranty sets.