Steering wheel vibrates when coming to a stop!

Dptm

Noticed the steering wheel vibrates when i apply on the brakes to come to a stop.

It normally happens at the point when the car is coming to stop.

Can this be due to warped brake discs or the wobbling of the wheels?

Or uneven wear of the brake pads?

Thanks.

Could also be due to the lining in your rims ...

Run a check on your front tyres during your next servicing if the problem is not that serious ... [;)]

Thanks Turbobrick, will try that.

BTW, any workshops to recommend?

Do a simple test ...

Drive at slow speed ~ 40km/h, gradually come to a stop. Feel the brake pedal, any small pulsation? If yes and steering vibrates, your rotor is warped. Get your mechanic to replace or skim the rotor. Replace a new set of brake pad at the same time. If thickness of rotor below spec, get a new replacement

Noticed the steering wheel vibrates when i apply on the brakes to come to a stop.

It normally happens at the point when the car is coming to stop.

Can this be due to warped brake discs or the wobbling of the wheels?

Or uneven wear of the brake pads?

Thanks.

Thanks alot Shagmobil, will try the test!

Read that u had alot of experiences/knowledges with toyota cars.

I'm driving a corolla 96 manual (AE111), thinking of changing the spark plugs cable and the plugs.

Will this bring about any significant improvements?

if u are a high revver, changing to a colder range will perk performance slightly.

Denso K16PRU-11 will be a good choice. Town driving and heavy start stop, use hotter range K20PRU-11 instead.

nothing much can do with 4a engine. take care of the fuel filter, air filter and use good engine oil, the 4a unit will be good enuff

Thanks alot Shagmobil, will try the test!

Read that u had alot of experiences/knowledges with toyota cars.

I'm driving a corolla 96 manual (AE111), thinking of changing the spark plugs cable and the plugs. Will this bring about any significant improvements?

does this plugs applies to the AE111 as well?

for fuel filter, any recommendations or any brand will do?

ae111 also on 4a-fe. applicable too

fuel filter I replace myself (not ez coz threaded fuel line) with oem japan filter.

OEM cost only ard 30% ($12) of original ($30)

a little off topic, drop me a private mail if u got further questions. [:)]

does this plugs applies to the AE111 as well?

for fuel filter, any recommendations or any brand will do?

Edited by Shagmobil

if u are a high revver, changing to a colder range will perk performance slightly.

Denso K16PRU-11 will be a good choice. Town driving and heavy start stop, use hotter range K20PRU-11 instead.

nothing much can do with 4a engine. take care of the fuel filter, air filter and use good engine oil, the 4a unit will be good enuff

Hmm... i'm using Denso... wonder which one would it be..... so u mean for high revver.. use K20PRU-11? Btw, fuel filter is the oil filter? Good engine oil... any recommendation? i'm using Caltex Havoline... SAE 5W-30.... the mechanic says can last 5000km... but i've overshot over 4000km liao..... is it ok? i feel that my fuel economy is dropping.... is it caused by the degrading engine oil? Btw what car are u driving? and how come u have good knowledge about toyota cars?

fuel filter is couple to fuel line - petrol

oil filter is screwed onto engine block - engine oil

Engine oil? Hmmm... u ask gavin lah, he engine oil siao. I use cheapest fully syn oil available. Thanks MCF for the Mobil 1 promotion, I bought total 10 bottles to expend. [:)] Take note your 4a-fe engine requires at least 5w-40/SD grade. Havoline has -30?? U using fully synthetic, semi synthetic or mineral engine oil??

Prolong your oil change will do more harm then good. Oil will start to thicken and leave sludge and carbon deposits on engine valve head. When engine oil is contaminated, oil temp will increase, ie wear and tear increase too.. etc etc.. Justify your driving habbits and do oil change accordingly. Your fuel economy bad perhaps is a sign that engine oil is due for change.

I know more Mazda then Toyota, just share some knowledge I know about these cars. I driving a 1.3 Corolla. Mazda parts are generally cheaper, last longer then Toyota.

Hi Shagmobil

Where can i find the spec on the thickness of the rotor?

Or rather what is the thickness?

Pardon my endless questions!

it's located within the rims - but again, depends on the kind of rims which you've got [blush]