Civic Neutral Newbie May 22, 2002 Share May 22, 2002 ok thanks ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yongwd 1st Gear May 22, 2002 Share May 22, 2002 u havent hear from the 2001 Mitsubishi Lancers, their CVT also showing signs of abnormal wear and tear with 1yr or around 20,000km!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic Neutral Newbie May 23, 2002 Share May 23, 2002 is that so!!!!! never heard of that !!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magfocus 5th Gear May 23, 2002 Share May 23, 2002 u havent hear from the 2001 Mitsubishi Lancers, their CVT also showing signs of abnormal wear and tear with 1yr or around 20,000km!!! Could you elaborate on that? I need to know! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cardinal Neutral Newbie May 23, 2002 Author Share May 23, 2002 u havent hear from the 2001 Mitsubishi Lancers, their CVT also showing signs of abnormal wear and tear with 1yr or around 20,000km!!! Could you elaborate on that? I need to know! Actually, I would suggest you visit the SMC forum and see what the CVT owners there say about their cars. You mean you own a Lancer as well? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magfocus 5th Gear May 23, 2002 Share May 23, 2002 My GF does and i would like to know of any potential problems as i get to drive the car quite often.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cardinal Neutral Newbie May 23, 2002 Author Share May 23, 2002 wat I heard from SHC forum say that I can change the CVT but have to pay 500 labour I'm thinking the fault is cause by U why must pass the cost to the consumer Depends on whether your car is still under warranty. You driving EK or ES? My friend replaced 3 CVTs already, and all at no extra cost. CVT issue has been discussed for very long in SHC already.. I think some people have started to put together some complaints to KAh and cc to Honda Japan. If you are driving an ES, I can get you in touch with some of the CVT owners and you can prob come up with something.. My take on this is: basically, CVT is a good technology that has been implemented in some racing scenes and subsequently banned for being "too good". But since it's too new, it's expensive to manufacture, and hence for cars that we can afford, they can't make it reliable enough. Remember that the early autos had tons of problems when they first came out. I think if they could manufacture something that works properly at this price, they would have. They can replace 10 CVTs for you, but who's to say you still won't run into problems after that? CVT works for most drivers (uncle, aunties) in Singapore cos they don't bother to floor their cars, so that statistic works in the favour of the car manufacturers. Really hate to suggest this, but perhaps a way out would be to sell off the car and get a manual or a conventional auto gearbox? Just offering my suggestion, hope you don't mind... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic Neutral Newbie May 23, 2002 Share May 23, 2002 Just call up KM, told me to bring it down on tue to check hope it can solve the problem Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear May 23, 2002 Share May 23, 2002 Seriously, U gimme all the sxxt and I'll pen for U Yah.... shoot man.. Civic... and let TB pen for u..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic Neutral Newbie May 28, 2002 Share May 28, 2002 send my car to KM this morning, and they just call up and tell me they are going to change the gearbox for me but I can only take back my car tomorrow afternoon haizzz.... no car today liao still need to go for review ........ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear May 28, 2002 Share May 28, 2002 Think u need to talk to Magfocus and some of the rest more... to find out more about CVT.... apparently... what they say... makes sense..... nvm lah.. rest at home lor!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic Neutral Newbie May 30, 2002 Share May 30, 2002 just got back my car yesterday afternoon .... Was told that the CVT gearbox had been replaced hope it will not vibirate again Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BoneStock 5th Gear May 30, 2002 Share May 30, 2002 Bro...actually I'm quite surprised to hear about the CVT problems today. Thought this technology should be established already. Once I owned a CVT from Subaru and it gave hell lot problems. Belt slippage lah, vibration lah...especially when the car was on heavy. Wah lao...cannot tahan so got rid of the car in less than a year. Most prob I'll never get another CVT again unless all manufacturers switch to this crappy technology. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic Neutral Newbie May 30, 2002 Share May 30, 2002 must drive for around 1 to 2 k then can know the result.... can see that the gearbox is been replace... pray for me [angelic] [angelic] [angelic] BTW wat does it mean by " resetting the ECU" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madarmour Neutral Newbie May 30, 2002 Share May 30, 2002 BTW wat does it mean by " resetting the ECU" Some ECU are 'adaptive', meaning it is programmed to 'adjust' to your driving style, but within a set parameter. The adjustment will take a certain amount of time and sometimes there can be errors. When this happens the management system can become 'rough'. To 'reset the ECU' means resetting it back to its factory specs and clear it's memory of all recent datas. The way to do it is to disconnect it's electrical supply for 10 - 15 minutes. Simpler way to reset the ECU is to disconnect the negative terminal of the battery but the trip meter, head unit, clock will be reset too. It may be useful to reset the ECU periodically to clear system errors. However, it must me known that some cars won't be able to re-start once the ECU is reset. Best to check with agent about this problem before trying. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear May 30, 2002 Share May 30, 2002 just got back my car yesterday afternoon .... Was told that the CVT gearbox had been replaced hope it will not vibirate again Then go test top speed and run it in!! Btw... how are u feeling? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear May 30, 2002 Share May 30, 2002 must drive for around 1 to 2 k then can know the result.... can see that the gearbox is been replace... pray for me [angelic] [angelic] [angelic] BTW wat does it mean by " resetting the ECU" Heard from Magfocus that there's some right way of driving CVT.... perhaps check with him? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic Neutral Newbie May 31, 2002 Share May 31, 2002 just got back my car yesterday afternoon .... Was told that the CVT gearbox had been replaced hope it will not vibirate again Then go test top speed and run it in!! Btw... how are u feeling? Can walk liao but cannot Run lor ..... Yesterday morning after parking the car , I can smell something burning but don't know where is it ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...