Jasper Neutral Newbie June 9, 2003 Share June 9, 2003 Hi Guys, advices needed what is the best way to configure with these available parts. Currently I have ...... Head Unit 40w x 4 Full Range Speakers 120w x 4 (Front Rear Left Right) Planning to buy 2nd hand from a friend ...... Amplifier: 4 Channel Mode - 90w x 4 or 2 Channel Mode - 200w x 2 A set of woofer x2, mid range x2, tweeter x2, "the box spilter... called x-over??" x2. I need valuable advices how can I configure everything to fully enjoy the gadgets. Thanks in advance. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jasper Neutral Newbie June 9, 2003 Author Share June 9, 2003 Currently, I can think of few ways. 1) Install only the amp. 4-channel out to the 4 full range speakers only at 90w x4. 2) 4 full range speaker power from head unit. amp only power the 2 woofers. 3) same as 2) but amp power the set woofers, mid range & tweeter. 4) head unit power rear full range speakers. amp power 2 front speakers & woofers, mid range & tweeters. any more? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S2P2 Neutral Newbie June 9, 2003 Share June 9, 2003 use the HU to power rear speakers. amp to power front and 1 x woofer..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redliner_sg Neutral Newbie June 9, 2003 Share June 9, 2003 Depending on how you like your sound, I like it up front. Assuming that is all the equipment you want to get, then i agree with S2P2, use 90x2 for the front, Then bridge the other two channels to 200x1 to drive subs. But then again, 200watts to drive subs is really not much as you have a pair of them. Which means only 100watts each. Do check the impedence of the subs, and how you want to wire them, In parallel or series. And also check if you amp can handle the impedence load. If you have more funds, then definately get another amp for the subs. Will generally sound better than the headunit. Hope this info helps Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redliner_sg Neutral Newbie June 9, 2003 Share June 9, 2003 BTW, How do you plan to mount the subs? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jasper Neutral Newbie June 9, 2003 Author Share June 9, 2003 thanks for the info... regarding how to mount the subs.... i guess i have no ways out but to make a box to hold it. i am able to fix up a box. is there anything i have to take note? or just a simple box will do? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jasper Neutral Newbie June 9, 2003 Author Share June 9, 2003 i have 2 woofers, but why u advice to put only 1? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redliner_sg Neutral Newbie June 9, 2003 Share June 9, 2003 If you do not want box, you can mount free-air. For box, there is a difference in ported and sealed, Abit hard to describe and too long to tell, Suggest you have a listen to actual incar setups to decide for yourself. Generally, if you wannna make your own box, it may or may not meet the recommended manufacturer specs, so you may not be getting 100 percent out of your subs. Again this part long story to tell, come to the meetups and we talk over a drink lah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jasper Neutral Newbie June 9, 2003 Author Share June 9, 2003 wah chim... but fri i wanna watch the amazing race leh! i wonder where can i mount free air... the ... behind no hole to put the woofers liao... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redliner_sg Neutral Newbie June 9, 2003 Share June 9, 2003 As the installer will say..... No hole? Open hole lor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redliner_sg Neutral Newbie June 9, 2003 Share June 9, 2003 If cannot meet on Fri, then the next round, where we can park and have a listen. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jasper Neutral Newbie June 9, 2003 Author Share June 9, 2003 ya. anyway, i don't need really good items... juz normal speakers where i can enjoy louder music ok liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redliner_sg Neutral Newbie June 9, 2003 Share June 9, 2003 you should be able to get that with the items you are getting Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jasper Neutral Newbie June 10, 2003 Author Share June 10, 2003 so basically hu drive rear speakers, amp drive front speakers, bridge the other 2 channels into 1 to drive either 1 or 2 woofers? how about my mid range & tweeters? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redliner_sg Neutral Newbie June 10, 2003 Share June 10, 2003 Your amp has 90x4 correct? Use 90+90 for the front, which is your mids and tweeters Bridge the other 90+90 to get 200watts to drive your subs Headunit drive rear Do you have anymore speakers? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jasper Neutral Newbie June 10, 2003 Author Share June 10, 2003 yah. now in my car got 4 full range speakers... FRONT REAR LEFT RIGHT Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redliner_sg Neutral Newbie June 10, 2003 Share June 10, 2003 so do you want to use the full range speakers or the newer component midrange and tweeters? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jasper Neutral Newbie June 10, 2003 Author Share June 10, 2003 can use everything? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...