Recommend a new car

Samshio

don't expect mercedes benz luxurious finishing or BMW build quality.

you used to drive focus? ok then Jetta will be comparable, if not better. dun think just because it is from VAG it is similar finishing to Audi ah... [laugh][laugh]

I think conti car are somewhat more spacious than jap cars as their countrymen are Bigger in size..

True not true??? [laugh][laugh][laugh]

best is go down personally to showroom to experience it.. [nod]

actually huh.... i know this topic is NEW CAR but just curious if you have considered a 2 or 3 year old used conti?

volvo turbo not bad leh... and even BMW/Merc have 2 or 3 year old models selling below $100K.... c class and 3 series... finishing is good, not much mileage, and got enough space for your family

Edited by Viceroymenthol

Just curious.... why preferably conti ah??? [confused]

If you read the Ronald Susilo vs Li Jiawei debacle in today's (Apr 13) Sunday times, it might help answer your question.

A mutual friend of theirs was quoted as saying "Initially, they wanted to buy a BMW as he felt they were both sports stars and should not be seen driving a Japanese car. She changed her mind only after we stopped her."

And as we all know now, they had compromised and settled for a Honda Civic. [laugh]

They could have gone on to buy a WRX, but it is still a Japanese car and will not be commensurating with their 'sports star' status leh. [:p]

Edited by Jolie888

would they have bought the Nissan GTR? it is a japanese car but not sure if it will commensurate with their sports star status [kiss]

nah i think they would rather a 320i.. as it is a conti car... [laugh][laugh]

Jetta is probably a really good car, low tax too(!) but looks very average i thought, at least from the pics. like a cheap korean car.

whatabout Mazda 6?

Jetta is probably a really good car, low tax too(!) but looks very average i thought, at least from the pics. like a cheap korean car.

whatabout Mazda 6?

If it is Jetta 1.6L, can forget about it. TS's top end budget should be able to get 1.4 TSI. I've also driven a Focus, the interior is nothing to shout about, Jetta is not far though or comparable.

Regards,

Edited by Kelpie

I think conti car are somewhat more spacious than jap cars as their countrymen are Bigger in size..

True not true??? [laugh][laugh][laugh]

best is go down personally to showroom to experience it.. [nod]

[laugh] You are wrong. If that is the case, Japanese cars can't even be sold in the States and Europe liao.

Regards,

[laugh] true, agreed, hardly see conti with real flat cabin, only Honda has it, so i would tell TS get Honda Civic instead, hanldig alos no horse run, VTEC [sly]

In the market for a new sedan. budget 70-100k

preferbly conti :)

Current car, ford focus. I love it, but it's getting close to 5 years.

any recommendations ?

Volkswagen anytime...

You can also look at mercedes B170 which is going at 108k...

Opel zafira or astra is also a good consideration... [laugh]

the only issues is opel are still running on timing belt and warranty is only 60k...

Edited by Sonicmood