Estimated 80,000 cyclone dead in one Myanmar district: official

Moeykf

http://sg.news.yahoo.com/afp/20080508/tts-...ll-c1b2fc3.html

LABUTTA, Myanmar (AFP) - - An estimated 80,000 people have died in the remote Myanmar district of Labutta since a powerful cyclone struck last weekend, a local military official told AFP on Thursday.

Labutta sits in the Irrawaddy delta, which bore the brunt of the storm's fury when it struck overnight Friday.

Dozens of the 63 villages surrounding the town of Labutta have been wiped out, said Tin Win, leader of a ward within the town.

"So far the estimated death toll in those villages is about 80,000," he told AFP.----------------------------

Myanmar's website.

http://www.myanmars.net/myanmar-news/index.htm

---------------------------------

Google is helping....

http://www.google.com/myanmarcyclone/

--------------------------------------------

One district reported 80'000 deaths....more to come.

Please help in whatever ways possible.

Our money lost can be earned back but lives lost is irreversible.....

Thanks. frown.gif

im afraid of local charities liao....donated thousands to them and some % goes to 1900, administration...etc etc.

you can try the google link.

Donate to Direct Relief International

• Founded in 1948, Direct Relief International provides medical assistance to improve the quality of life for people victimized by poverty, disaster and civil unrest.
  • Direct Relief is non-sectarian, non-governmental and entirely privately funded. All programs are provided in a non-discriminatory manner, without regard to political affiliation, religious belief, or ethnic identity.
  • 100% of all cash donations go to programs, and not to administration or fundraising.

I was surprised that s'pore govt donated only US$200k; the same amount of money donated by vietnam. m'sia donated US$4.1m and indonesia U$1m. I guess that's all s'pore can afford; maybe times are bad, and burma doesn't have much trade links with s'pore.

you can donate food stuff etc to KMSPKSE

Kong Meng San Phor Kark See Monastery 88 Recycling in conjuction with Firefly Mission are appealing to members of public in requesting for items stipulated below for victims hit by Cyclone Nargis - Myanmar .

Firefly Mission of 7 volunteers will be leaving for Myanmar on 17th May 2008 (Saturday) for relief work. We will be assisting in collecting and packing the following needed items to assist them in their Humanitarian Relief efforts. We need the following latest by 16 May 2008 for the Silk Air flight.

1) Biscuits/Can Food- immediate

3) Rice - continuous

4) medicine - immediate - preferably in commercial packing

a) Paracetamol - 50 x 2,000

b) lomotil - 10 x 2000

c) Mefenamic acid - 2,000

d) Dicofenac (50mg) - 25 x 100e) Amocil - 2,000

f) Ampicillin tab - 2,000

g) Ciprobay tabb - 50 x 200

h) Oral dehydration salt - 20 x 100i) Multivit tab - 20 x 2,000

j) Chlorpheniramine tab - 10 x 2,000

k) Surgical mask - as many as possible

l) Surgical gloves - as many as possible

m) Anti-septic hand wash - 100 bottles

n) etc etc etc (useful items)

Pls put the following Items to our 88 Recycling Kiosk at Kong Meng San in the bins Labeled 'Humanitarian Relief Myanmar'.

lose big time in Indo court case and earlier in tom yan country investment...where to find $ to help them? may be use your ''clearly pawned fund'' aka C.P.F to help...ai mai? oppss..may be u have no say too..already no more there...just a number in the monthly statement... [smallcry]

Edited by Application9999

This is what pissed me off.... [mad]

http://sg.news.yahoo.com/ap/20080513/tap-a...ru-d3b07b8.html

YANGON, Myanmar - The U.N. said Tuesday that only a tiny portion of international aid is reaching Myanmar's cyclone victims, as reports emerged that the country's military regime is hoarding higher-quality foreign aid for itself and doling out rotten food.

"There is obviously still a lot of frustration that this aid effort hasn't picked up pace" 10 days after the cyclone hit, said Richard Horsey, the spokesman for the U.N. humanitarian operation in Bangkok, the capital of neighboring Thailand.

Cyclone Nargis devastated Myanmar's Irrawaddy delta on May 3, leaving about 62,000 people dead or missing according to the government count. The U.N. has suggested the death toll is likely to be more than 100,000.

With their homes washed away and large tracts of land under water, some 2 million survivors _mostly poor rice farmers _ are living in abject misery, facing disease and starvation.

The U.N. said the World Food Program is getting in 20 percent of the food needed because of bottlenecks, logistics problems and government-imposed restrictions.

"That is a characterization of the program as a whole. We are not reaching enough people quickly enough," Horsey told The Associated Press.

The survivors are packed into Buddhist monasteries or camping in the open, drinking dirty water contaminated by dead bodies and animal carcasses. Food and medicines are scarce.

The military _ which has ruled the country with an iron fist since 1962 _ has taken control of most aid sent by other countries including the United States.

The regime told a U.S. military commander who delivered the first American shipment Monday that storm victims' basic needs are being fulfilled _ and that "skillful humanitarian workers are not necessary."

But the junta's words and actions have only served to back up complaints that the military is appropriating the aid for itself.

A longtime foreign resident of Myanmar's biggest city, Yangon, told the AP in Bangkok by telephone that angry government officials have complained to him about the military misappropriating aid.

He said the officials told him that quantities of the high-energy biscuits rushed into Myanmar on the World Food Program's first flights were sent to a military warehouse.

They were exchanged by what the officials said were "tasteless and low-quality" biscuits produced by the Industry Ministry to be handed out to cyclone victims, the foreign resident said.

He spoke on condition of anonymity because identifying himself could jeopardize his safety.

He said it was not known what has been happening to the high quality food _ whether it is being sold on the black market or consumed by the military.

The claim appeared to be backed up on the ground.

CARE Australia's country director in Myanmar, Brian Agland, said members of his local staff brought back some of the rotting rice that's being distributed in the delta.

"I have a small sample in my pocket, and it's some of the poorest quality rice we've seen," he said. "It's affected by salt water and it's very old."

It's unclear whether the rice, which is dark gray in color and consists of very small grains, is coming from the government or from mills in the area or warehouses hit by the cyclone.

"We were using food from the World Food Program, which is very high quality," Agland said by telephone from Yangon. "Certainly, we are concerned that (poor quality rice) is being distributed. The level of nutrition is very low."

The foreign resident also said several businessmen have been told to give the government cash donations of no less than 2 million kyat (US$1,800) each to aid cyclone victims.

Companies involved have included jade mining concerns in Hpakant, restaurants and construction companies in Yangon, he said.

The authoritarian junta has barred nearly all foreigners experienced in managing such catastrophes from going to the delta west of Yangon, and is expelling those who have managed to go in.

Jean-Sebastien Matte, an emergency coordinator with M�decins Sans Fronti�res, said his foreign staff have repeatedly been forced to return to Yangon from the delta.

"We can go for two days and then we have to come back," he said. "We're able to do 100 or 200 consultations a day but we should be doing 1,000."

Armed police checkpoints were set up outside Yangon on the roads to the delta, and all foreigners were being sent back by policemen who took down their names and passport numbers.

"No foreigners allowed," a policeman said Tuesday after waving a car back.

After its first aid delivery Monday, the U.S. sent in one more cargo plane Tuesday with 19,900 pounds (9,026 kilograms) of blankets, water and mosquito netting. A third flight was to take in a 24,750-pound (11,226-kilogram) load.

U.S. Marine Lt. Col. Douglas Powell said that the situation remained fluid, but that flights were expected to continue after Tuesday _ which appears to broaden the original agreement for three flights on Monday and Tuesday.

Yangon was pounded by heavy rain Monday and more downpours were expected throughout the week, further hindering aid deliveries.

But for many, the rainwater was the only source of clean drinking water.

So many countries have already donated water, medical & food supplies ... etc but the Zheng Hu there still insist on doing the distribution work on their own [:|]

Wah Lau ...

Heard from news that some victims got 'Rotted' food instead of 'Fresh' swee swee ones [shakehead][shakehead][shakehead]

Heard some even paste their own 'Names' on those donated items from around the world to them so as to get their own people's heart [thumbsdown][thumbsdown][thumbsdown]

Edited by Mzrmazda3

the numbers still climbing for the quake.....dunno when istana will quake leh laugh.gif

yep. our zheng hu only see $ and $ only. they dont even know how to manage the poor in singapore

if only they had oil, US will overthrow the junta for them [:p]

now no matter how also LPPL. unless one can remove the military leadership