Guyver 1st Gear May 26, 2002 Share May 26, 2002 (edited) Neat and smart security feature.... think whoever that comes out with this idea is really genius!! Simpler than we thought!! http://www.howstuffworks.com/question282.htm Edited May 28, 2002 by Admin ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fabiaman 1st Gear June 14, 2002 Share June 14, 2002 Very interesting. I too thought I had a microchip in my Skoda keys. The Skoda keys are also "coded" which means if you lose all your keys, you cannot start the car until you get another set from Skoda HQ. I extract: Many cars manufactured by GM come with a security feature called the PASS-Key theft deterrent system. You can tell if a car has this feature by looking at the ignition key - the key's shaft has a small black module embedded in it with contacts on either side of the key. It is common to assume that there is some sort of chip or computer embedded in the key. It turns out the system is a lot simpler than that, but still effective. What is embedded in the key is one precision resistor. When you insert the key in the ignition, the resistor becomes part of a simple circuit involving three other resistors. If the key does not have a resistor or it the resistor has the wrong value, the circuit disables part of the car's electrical system to prevent the car from starting. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Renegade Neutral Newbie June 14, 2002 Share June 14, 2002 The flipside to all the technology creeping into car security technology is that a would-be car thief or car-jacker ends up resorting to taking on directly the driver - an increasingly serious problem in many countries and slowly creeping closer to home.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie June 15, 2002 Share June 15, 2002 How was the hunt U went for alarm group buy? Went quiet? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie June 15, 2002 Share June 15, 2002 The flipside to all the technology creeping into car security technology is that a would-be car thief or car-jacker ends up resorting to taking on directly the driver - an increasingly serious problem in many countries and slowly creeping closer to home.... READ: Car-jacking Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Renegade Neutral Newbie June 15, 2002 Share June 15, 2002 READ: Car-jacking Ditto, TB - don't need to go too far away. It's already happening just across the causeway.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie June 15, 2002 Share June 15, 2002 READ: Car-jacking Ditto, TB - don't need to go too far away. It's already happening just across the causeway.... Yeah, heard and read a couple of cases b4. Sucks man Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear June 15, 2002 Author Share June 15, 2002 The flipside to all the technology creeping into car security technology is that a would-be car thief or car-jacker ends up resorting to taking on directly the driver - an increasingly serious problem in many countries and slowly creeping closer to home.... Oh no... so the target becomes the owner of the car instead of the car only.... then next time everyone of us got a chip in us... that'll invoke the GPS when we are endangered... and the satellite will zoom in on us... and broadcast that information to the police... and immediate... flying defenders... mechanical kind of things will fly to our rescue.. good idea huh?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear June 15, 2002 Author Share June 15, 2002 Yeah, heard and read a couple of cases b4. Sucks man [/reply] Like that how? U mean.... the thief in JB rob the person and then drive the car away? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear June 15, 2002 Author Share June 15, 2002 Maybe in future.. our car would only start with our retina scan and with voice... like that more difficult liao.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie June 16, 2002 Share June 16, 2002 Yeah, heard and read a couple of cases b4. Sucks man Like that how? U mean.... the thief in JB rob the person and then drive the car away?[/reply] They force U out of your car or claim that they are the police and takes your car in broad daylight..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear June 16, 2002 Author Share June 16, 2002 They force U out of your car or claim that they are the police and takes your car in broad daylight..... [/reply] Hmm..... apparently pple get paid by forcing things / stuffs out of other pple.... what can we force out of them?.... *thinking* Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Renegade Neutral Newbie June 17, 2002 Share June 17, 2002 They force U out of your car or claim that they are the police and takes your car in broad daylight..... Hmm..... apparently pple get paid by forcing things / stuffs out of other pple.... what can we force out of them?.... *thinking*[/reply] Well, in South Africa, where among the many crimes, carjacking has become a really big problem, it's actually legal to install diagonally-outward pointing flamethrowers beneath your door which can be activated from the inside of your car..... think about - carjacker-face flambe..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear June 17, 2002 Author Share June 17, 2002 Well, in South Africa, where among the many crimes, carjacking has become a really big problem, it's actually legal to install diagonally-outward pointing flamethrowers beneath your door which can be activated from the inside of your car..... think about - carjacker-face flambe.....[/reply] I'm sure we don't want to be in that state.... guess our daily living would be so unsafe... *sigh*... i ever come across the article.... it says "50% of the woman in South Africa got rape.... and last week it was me".... How sad... I ever talked to pple from there... and the they told me that when u stop your car... u got to make sure that u got enough space in front of u.... so that in the event of emergency... u can just drive off w/o even reverse or whatever.... and when u reach a traffic light and the traffic is clear.... u can move off.... cos if not... someone might just walk up to you.... smash your window and point a gun at you .... all these ...WHILE U ARE WAITING AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Renegade Neutral Newbie June 17, 2002 Share June 17, 2002 Welcome to the NEW wild west, I guess.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yongwd 1st Gear August 30, 2002 Share August 30, 2002 I dun think VAG uses this technology, when I ordered a spare key from VW (cost me $250) and I can only drive my VW for 5meters and engine will shut down, horns and lights start going off. (ofcoz i did that in the service centre lah kekeee!) the service engineer came shortly with a programming tool, insert into the under-dash security diagnostic connector and start programming every single key. Whole process was around 25mins. Very interesting. I too thought I had a microchip in my Skoda keys. The Skoda keys are also "coded" which means if you lose all your keys, you cannot start the car until you get another set from Skoda HQ. I extract: Many cars manufactured by GM come with a security feature called the PASS-Key theft deterrent system. You can tell if a car has this feature by looking at the ignition key - the key's shaft has a small black module embedded in it with contacts on either side of the key. It is common to assume that there is some sort of chip or computer embedded in the key. It turns out the system is a lot simpler than that, but still effective. What is embedded in the key is one precision resistor. When you insert the key in the ignition, the resistor becomes part of a simple circuit involving three other resistors. If the key does not have a resistor or it the resistor has the wrong value, the circuit disables part of the car's electrical system to prevent the car from starting. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...